Kaufman Wins Atkinson Award

Paula T. Kaufman, the Juanita J. and Robert E. Simpson dean of libraries and university librarian at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, has been named the 2010 winner of the Hugh C. Atkinson Memorial Award. Named in honor of one of the pioneers of library automation, the Atkinson Award recognizes an academic librarian who has made significant contributions in the area of library automation or management and has made notable improvements in library services or research.

Kaufman will receive a cash award and citation during the joint ACRL / Library Leadership and Management Association (LLAMA) Awards Program, at 8:30 a.m., Saturday, June 26, at the ALA Annual Conference in Washington D.C.

Read the full news release on the American Library Association Web site at www.ala.org/ala/newspresscenter/news/pressreleases2010/february2010/atkinsonaward_acrl.cfm .

Do you have a story you’d like added to the Library News & Events? If so, please contact Heather Murphy ( hmurphy@illinois.edu ).