International Statistics and Data

• Agriculture
• Arms Control
• Children
• Crime
• Economic Development
• Environment
• Health
• Humanitarian Aid
• Labor
• Migration and Refugees
• Population
• Trade
• Women

 

Agriculture

• AMAD: Agricultural Market Access Database  Includes tariff rates, exchange rates, import statistics, world reference prices, and other data.
• FAOSTAT Includes all statistical databases of the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations.
• UN/ECE Forestry Department Data and Statistics  Provides data on forest resources and their utilization in North America, Europe, and the Former Soviet Republics.

Arms Control

• SIPRI Military Expenditure Database  Provides military expenditures by country in local currency, in constant U.S. dollars, and as a percentage of GDP.

Children

• The Progress of Nations. This source from UNICEF ranks the nations of the world according to their achievements in child health, nutrition, education, family planning, and progress for women.
  1995 | 1996 | 1997 | 1998 | 1999 | 2000
• State of the World’s Children. This UNICEF publication addresses the social, economic, and political developments impacting children. Statistical data on health, nutrition, and education, as well as economic and demographic indicators, are provided for all countries.
  Statistical Data from UNICEF  Provides national data on infant and maternal mortality, vaccinations, oral rehydration, malnutrition, breastfeeding, school enrollment, and adult literacy.

Crime

• Estimated World Requirements for Narcotic Drugs Provides statistics on the availability of narcotics for both illicit and medical purposes.
• Data and Analysis from the United Nations Office of Drugs and Crime including studies, surveys, reports, and statistics.
• United Nations Surveys of Crime Trends and Operations of Criminal Justice Systems Includes data sets from 1970 to 2008.

Economic Development

• CHASS Data Centre  Includes databases from many IGOs and Canadian governmental sources.  Focuses on economic and financial data.
• Health Nutrition and Population Statistics by Wealth Quintile  Provide statistics concerning intra-country differences between rich and poor with respect to HNP service and use.
• Exchange Rates for Selected Currencies  Find today’s exchange rates to the eighth decimal point.
• Key Indicators of Developing Asian and Pacific Countries  Part I compares the developing countries of the region on selected social, economic, and financial indicators, while Part II presents time-series data for each country.
• OECD Statistics  Provides a broad array of social, economic, and environmental statistics. Some data is limited to OECD member nations.
• Penn World Tables: An Expanded Set of International Comparisons  One of the richest sources of international statistics on the Internet, the Penn World Tables cover 152 countries and 29 broad subject areas for 1950 to 2004.
• PovcalNet  Includes income/consumption surveys, data from World Bank poverty assessments, poverty assessment summaries, social indicator tables, news on upcoming statistical activities, and related links.
• Social Indicators  Includes data on population, youth and the elderly, housing, water supply and sanitation, health, childbearing, education, literacy, income, and unemployment from the UN Statistics Division.
• Research and Data, Inter-American Development Bank  Includes Web-based databases and statistics for the Americas and American nations.
• World Economic Outlook Database  Presents several types of GDP data, as well as statistics on inflation, for all countries, advanced economies, and developing countries.
• World Income Inequality Database  Collects and stores information on income inequality for developed, developing, and transition countries in an easily retrievable, exportable, and analyzable format.

Environment

• GRID: Global Resource Information Database  Provides a wide range of environmental, ecological, and geographical data sets. Those that cannot be downloaded directly are described in detail and may be requested.
• Country Environmental Factsheets From the World Bank, statistics covering many topics from Agriculture (eg., fertilizer consumption), Biodiversity (eg., known bird species) to Environmental Health (eg., air pollution damages) for each country.

Health

• Cancer Mondial   CANM brings together several key statistical databases on cancer. While the emphasis is on Europe, some of the databases cover other regions as well.
• Health for All Statistical Database (HFA-DB)  Contains data on key international health statistics for the World Health Organization’s European Region.
• Tobacco Free Initiative  Addresses the tobacco pandemic from many angles, supporting its positions with both popular and scholarly material.
• Global Health Observatory  GHO is the World Health Organization’s site for data and analysis and by country statistics.

Humanitarian Aid

• OECD Development Assistance Committee Statistics  DAC statistics measure the flow of aid and other financial resources to aid recipients.
• World Food Programme Represents official information on World Food Programme activities, including data on expenditures, food shipments, resources, transport and staff.

Labor

• ILOSTAT  Provides annual and infra-annual labour market statistics for over 100 indicators and 230 countries, areas and territories.
• LABORSTA  This database provides statistics on employment, wages, job-related injuries, and strikes and lockouts for all countries to 2008. This database is not being updated and will gradually be replaced with ILOSTAT.

Migration and Refugees

• Asylum data for Australia, Canada, the United States, and many Western European countries.  Covers 1992 to the present.
• ILOSTAT  Provides annual and infra-annual labour market statistics for over 100 indicators and 230 countries, areas and territories.

Population

• Population Trends  These estimates and projections provide the standard set of population figures that are used throughout the United Nations system.
• FAOSTAT  Search the POPULATION domain to find current data and projections.
• UN ESCAP Search this site for “Population Data Sheet for Asia and the Pacific.” Includes demographic and social indicators by regions, subregions, and country.
• UN ESCAP Online Statistical Database includes information on Maternal and Reproductive Health and related topics in Asia and the Pacific.
• State of World Population Indicators  Find data for more than forty demographic and socioeconomic variables by region, subregion, and country.

Trade

• Asia and the Pacific in Figures  Provides a brief statistical overview for fifty-six countries or areas. This source lacks some of the content available in its print-format counterpart. 2001-2006
• CHASS Data Centre  Includes databases from many IGOs and Canadian governmental sources.  Focuses on economic and financial data.
• Data by Topic  On this site, the World Bank provides statistics for all countries in twenty-three subject areas.
• International Statistical Agencies  Consists of links to the statistical offices of intergovernmental organizations; the national statistical offices of Canada, the U.S., European nations, and the Former Soviet Republics; and other sources.
• Island Directory: Basic Environmental and Geographic Information on the Significant Islands of the World  Presents data for more than 2000 islands.
• Penn World Tables: An Expanded Set of International Comparisons   One of the richest sources of international statistics on the Internet, the Penn World Tables cover 152 countries and 29 broad subject areas.
• The Progress of Nations  This source from UNICEF ranks the nations of the world according to their achievements in child health, nutrition, education, family planning, and progress for women.
  1995 | 1996 | 1997 | 1998 | 1999 | 2000
• ProQuest Statistical Insight  Provides access to intergovernmental (IGO) statistical sources. The reference numbers appearing in each entry correspond to microfiche statistical tables that can be accessed in the UIUC Government Information Reference area, Room 200, Main Library.

Women

• CEPALSTAT Statistics and Indicators Gender Statistics and Indicators including population, housing, education, poverty and more.
• The Progress of Nations. This source from UNICEF ranks the nations of the world according to their achievements in child health, nutrition, education, family planning, and progress for women.
  1995 | 1996 | 1997 | 1998 | 1999 | 2000
• UN ESCAP Online Statistical Database Under Population, see Fertility; Under Health, see Maternal Health; see Gender and related topics in Asia and the Pacific.
• Statistical Data from UNICEF  Provides national data on infant and maternal mortality, vaccinations, oral rehydration, malnutrition, breastfeeding, school enrollment, and adult literacy.
• Women in Asia-Pacific: Challenges and Priorities Data Sheet From the UN ESCAP, statistics about women in Asia-Pacific.