Foreign Historical Newspapers – History, Philosophy, and Newspaper Library

Major Digitized International Newspapers

Western Europe

International Herald Tribune: 1887-2013. Part of Gale NewsVault.
London Times: 1785-2012. The Sunday Times available on a separate platform (see below). Part of Gale NewsVault.
Sunday London Times: 1822-2006. The daily Times of London available on a separate platform. Part of Gale NewsVault.
London Daily Mail: 1896-2004. Part of Gale NewsVault.
London Daily Telegraph: 1855-2000. Part of Gale NewsVault.
Financial Times: 1888-2010. Part of Gale NewsVault.
Illustrated London News: 1842-2003. Part of Gale NewsVault.
London Observer: 1791-2003. Part of ProQuest Historical Newspapers.
Manchester and London Guardian: 1821-2003. Part of ProQuest Historical Newspapers.
Irish Times: 1859-current, most recent year embargoed. Part of ProQuest Historical Newspapers.
Weekly Irish Times: 1876-1958. Part of ProQuest Historical Newspapers.
Neues Deutschland: 1946-2017. Part of EastView Global Press Archive.

Africa

Rand Daily Mail.: 1902-1985.

Asia

Times of India: 1838-current, most recent nine years embargoed. Part of ProQuest Historical Newspapers.
Japan Times: 1897-current, most recent two years embargoed.

Americas

El Mercurio (Santiago, Chile): 1914-1922. Part of Readex’s World Newspaper Archive.

Eastern Europe

Pravda: 1912-2009. Official newspaper of the Central Committee of the Soviet Communist Party between 1918 and 1991. Part of Eastview Central and Regional Russian Newspapers.
Izvestiia: 1917-2010. Began as the official newspaper of the Presidium of the Supreme Soviet of the USSR. Part of Eastview Central and Regional Russian Newspapers.
Rabochii i Iskusstvo: 1929-2013. Moscow, Russia. Part of Eastview Central and Regional Russian Newspapers.
Sovetskaia Kul’tura: 1929-2013. Russian weekly newspaper. Published as: Rabochii i Iskusstvo (1929-1930); Sovetskoe Iskusstvo (1931-1941); Literatura i Iskusstvo (1942-1944); Sovetskoe Iskusstvo (1944-1952); Sovetskaia Kul’tura (1953-1991); and Kul’tura (1991-current). Part of Eastview Central and Regional Russian Newspapers.
Neues Deutschland: 1946-2017. Part of EastView Global Press Archive.

Middle East

Jerusalem Post: 1932-2008. Includes Palestine Post (1932-1950). Part of ProQuest Historical Newspapers.

Digital Collections

General

World Newspaper Archive: comprises three small collections digitized from the holdings of the Center for Research Libraries: Latin American Newspapers, African Newspapers, and South Asian Newspapers. See descriptions below for more information. Search them separately or as a single collection. Click here to view a title list for World Newspaper Archive.
Keesing’s World News Archive: 1931-present. Detailed summaries of the world’s political, social, and economic events.
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports: Covering the period September 4, 1941 through March 29, 1974, this digital collection is the first of three modules that form Readex’s Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS). The FBIS is a branch of the United States government that has operated variously under the Federal Communications Commission, the War Department, and the Central Intelligence Agency. Its purpose is to produce “open source intelligence” reports for the U.S. government. The agency monitors radio broadcasts, newspapers, and other publicly available news sources from around the world, and then transcribes and translates this news so that it may be used to inform American foreign policy. Sometimes news is translated in its entirety; sometimes it is summarized. In addition to news, the FBIS staff translate speeches, interviews, and other types of information sources. n addition to keyword searching, the collection also supports browsing by major historical events. This first module is divided into six series: Asia and the Pacific: April 14, 1967 through March 29, 1974; Eastern Europe: April 14, 1967 through March 29, 1974; Latin America and Western Europe: February 16, 1970 through March 29, 1974; Middle East and Africa: May 28, 1970 through March 29, 1974; the People’s Republic of China: March 7, 1973 through March 29, 1974; and the Soviet Union: March 8, 1968 through March 29, 1974.

Western Europe

British Library Newspapers: Newspapers from England, Ireland, Scotland, and Wales, 1732-1950, with strongest coverage of the nineteenth century. Especially valuable for its collection of provincial newspapers, many of which are here digitized through 1950. Click here to view a title list for British Library Newspapers. Part of Gale NewsVault.
Burney Collection Newspapers: 17th and 18th Century British Newspapers: Part of Gale NewsVault.
Nichols Newspaper Collection: 17th and 18th Century: Primarily London newspapers, ca. 1672 to 1737.
The Irish Newspaper Archive: Currently comprises 33 newspapers covering 1763-present.
Le Gazetier révolutionnaire: Ressources numériques sur la presse révolutionnaire: Digital collection of French language newspapers published during the French Revolution.
Le Gazetier universel: Ressources numériques sur la presse ancienne: Federated collection of early modern French newspapers (pre-1789) drawn from over 30 newspaper digitization projects.
Gallica: Les principaux quotidiens: French newspapers from the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.
ZEFYS: Historische Zeitungen-Zeitungsinformationssystem: Almost 200 German newspapers of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.

Africa

African Newspapers: Series 1 and Series 2: over one hundred newspapers of late nineteenth century and early twentieth century colonial Africa. Strongest coverage of British colonies, but includes newspapers from other states as well, such as Liberia, Namibia, and Mozambique. Part of the World Newspaper Archive. Click here to view complete title list for African Newspapers (World Newspaper Archive).

Asia

ProQuest Historical Chinese Newspapers: Twelve English language, Chinese newspapers and periodicals: the Canton Times (1919-1920); the China Critic (1939-1940, 1946); the China Press (1925-1938); the Chinese Repository (1832-1851); Millard’s Review of the Far East (1917-1953); the Missionary Recorder (1868-1940); the North-China Herald (1850-1941); the Peking Daily News (1914-1917); the Peking Gazette (1915-1917); the Peking Leader (1918-1919); the Shanghai Gazette (1919-1920); and the Shanghai Times (1914-1921).
South Asian Newspapers: Fourteen newspapers of the late nineteenth century and early twentieth century Indian subcontinent. All but one of the newspapers are in English. Part of the World Newspaper Archive. Click here to view a complete title list for South Asian Newspapers (World Newspaper Archive).

Americas

Latin American Newspapers: 335 newspapers from twenty-two countries in nineteenth century and early twentieth century Latin America. The nineteenth century runs tend to be spotty, while twentieth century runs are nearer complete (and the collection contains no issues past 1923). Part of the World Newspaper Archive. Much of the digitization is very low quality, with many pages completely illegible. Keyword searches should be considered unreliable, depending on the newspaper being searched. Click here to view a complete title list for Latin American Newspapers (World Newspaper Archive).
Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876: Series I features 81 newspapers from 22 countries: Antigua, Bahamas, Barbados, Cuba, Curaçao, Dominica, Grenada, Guadaloupe, Haiti, Jamaica, Martinique, Montserrat, Nevis, Puerto Rico, St. Bartholomew, St. Christopher, St. Lucia, St. Vincent, Tobago, Trinidad, the Virgin Islands, and also Bermuda. All newspapers are in Western European languages: English, Spanish, French, and Danish. Digitized from the collections of the American Antiquarian Society. Part of the America’s Historical Newspapers. Click here to view a complete title list for Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876.

Eastern Europe

The Current Digest of the Russian Press, 1949-present: Part of EastView.
Russian Central Newspapers: Part of EastView.
Newspapers of the North Caucasus, Abkhazia and South Ossetia: Part of EastView.

Microform Collections

Newspapers from the Russian Revolutionary Era: Library has reels 1-74: Journal de St. Pétersbourg / Journal de Pétrograd (classified separately under FILM 914.705 JNZ and FILM 914.705 JO); reels 75-91: Russkīi︠a︡ vi︠e︡domosti; reels 92-94: Krasnai︠a︡ gazeta (morning edition); reels 95-96: Krasnai︠a︡ gazeta (evening edition); reel 97: Nash vi︠e︡k; reels 98-100: Rusʹ; reels 101-103: Tovarishch; reels 104-105: Drug; reel 106: Nasha zhiznʹ; reel 107: Nasha zhiznʹ. Strana; reel 108:. Strana; reel 109: Dalʹnevostochnoe obozri︠e︡nīe. Dvadt︠s︡atyĭ vi︠e︡k; reels 110-118: Bi︠e︡dnota; reel 119: Birzhevyi︠a︡ vi︠e︡domosti; reel 120: Kooperativnoe di︠e︡lo; reels 121-125: Krasnoi︠a︡rskīĭ rabochiĭ; reels 126-133: Molot; reels 134-135: Petrogradskai︠a︡ pravda; reel 136: Prizyv; reels 137-139: Rabochiĭ kraĭ; reels 140-141: Vi︠e︡stnik vremennago pravitelʹstva; reels 142-143: Volna; reels 144-267: Novoe vremi︠a︡; reels 268-283: Moskovskīi︠a︡ vi︠e︡domosti; reel 409: Prozhektor; reel 410: Novyi Put; reels 411-412: Nasha Niva; reels 413-414: Odesskii Listok; reels 415-416: Delo Naroda; reels 416-417: Odeskiia Novosti; reel 418: Gromadski golos; reel 419: Astrakhanskii Listok; reel 420: Derevenskaia Kommuna, and Nasha Niwa; reel 421: Volia Truda; reel 422: Derevenskaia Pravda, and Nova Bukovina, and Vladivostok; reels 423-439: Zakaspiiskoe Obozrenie. For more titles consult microfilm guide.
Revolutionary Mexico in Newspapers, 1900-1929: Guide in HPNL. Microfilm quickly available from CRL.

Summary of World Broadcasts

Since World War II, the BBC has been monitoring, selecting, and translating into English news broadcasts and newspaper articles from around the world. This collection contains microfilmed copies of the reports, also called “open source intelligence”. Collection organized by world region.

Summary of World Broadcasts. Part 1, The U.S.S.R. 1949-1972.
Summary of World Broadcasts. Part 1, U.S.S.R. and Eastern Europe. 1948-1949.
Summary of World Broadcasts. Part 2, Eastern Europe. 1959-1972.
Summary of World Broadcasts. Part 2, Germany and Austria. 1947-1949.
Summary of World Broadcasts. Part 2A, Finland, Poland, Czechoslovakia, Hungary. 1949-1955.
Summary of World Broadcasts. Part 2A, Poland, Czechoslovakia, Eastern Germany, Finland. 1955-1959.
Summary of World Broadcasts. Part 2B, Hungary, Rumania, Bulgaria, Albania, Yugoslavia. 1955-1959.
Summary of World Broadcasts. Part 2B, Rumania, Bulgaria, Yugoslavia, Albania. 1949-1955.
Summary of World Broadcasts. Part 3, The Far East. 1959-1972.
Summary of World Broadcasts. Part 3, Germany and Austria. 1949-1955.
Summary of World Broadcasts. Part 3, Western Europe, Middle East, Far East, Latin America and Miscellaneous. 1947-1949.
Summary of World Broadcasts. Part 4, The Arab World, Israel, Greece, Turkey, Iran. 1949-1962.
Summary of World Broadcasts. Part 4: The Middle East and Africa. 1964-1972.
Summary of World Broadcasts. Part 5, The Far East. 1949-1959.
Summary of World Broadcasts. Part 6A, Western Europe. 1949-1954.
Summary of World Broadcasts. Part 6B, Scandinavia. 1949-1954.
Summary of World Broadcasts. Part 6C, Central and South America. 1949-1954.

Guides

ICON: International Coalition on Newspapers: A union catalog, maintained by the Center for Research Libraries, of newspaper holdings at institutions around the world. Includes extensive registry of International Newspaper Digitization Projects.
Dictionnaire des journaux, 1600-1789: An exhaustively annotated bibliography of early modern French language newspapers.
Digitized Polish Historical Newspapers: Guide to locating digitized Polish and Polish-American newspapers. Includes information about the state of newspaper digitization in Poland.
Waterloo Directory of English Periodicals and Newspapers, 1800-1900: Detailed directory providing publication histories, title changes, editors, subject or political affiliation, and holding libraries. Updating database.
Research Guide to China Coast Newspapers, 1822-1911: Annotated bibliography of the newspapers, along with a history of China Coast newspapers, and a description of these newspapers as historical sources.