About RRSS

Online Journals & Databases

Guides to Using the Library

Site Map


Ask a Librarian

General Library Help

LEARN to Use the Library


Statistics and Numeric Data

Sources under each category are topically arranged with the more general tools at the top, descending to more narrow or specific resources at the bottom of the list. This page lists statistical resources that can be found on the Internet, but please note, a vast amount of statistical information is available in paper tools only.

General Statistics Databases


LexisNexis Statistical
  University of Illinois Only
Provides comprehensive access to statistical information published by U.S. states and private publishers, federal government agencies, and international organizations. If available, links are given to a full-text web-based version of the publication cited. Other features of LexisNexis Statistical include an extensive list of links to government and university statistical websites. Comprehensive online Help is available, not only for searching LexisNexis Statistical, but also for finding frequently-requested statistical data and for understanding and interpreting statistical information.

American FactFinder 
This is the Census Bureau's search page for Decennial Census data, including the 1990 and 2000 Censuses. It also includes data from the American Community Survey, which is conducted annually between decennial censuses, the five year Economic Census,  and the Population Estimates Program.

FEDSTATS 
More than 70 agencies in the United States Federal Government produce statistics of interest to the public. The Federal Inter agency Council on Statistical Policy maintains this site to provide easy access to the full range of statistics and information produced by these agencies for public use.

Census Bureau Web Site 
A clearinghouse for social, demographic, and economic information about the United States.
CenStats 
Comprehensive statistical information including Building Permits, Census Tract Street Locator,  County Business Patterns, International Trade Data, Detailed Occupation by Race, Hispanic Origin and Sex, USA Counties, and Public Law 94-171 Data on Age by Race and Hispanic Origin.
Statistical Abstract of the United States 
As the National Data Book it contains a collection of statistics on social and economic conditions in the United States. Selected international data are also included.
United States Historical Census Data Browser 
The data presented here describe the people and the economy of the US for each state and county from 1790 to 1970. The data displayed here were initially created by ICPSR under study number 0003, "Historical Demographic, Economic and Social Data: The United States, 1790-1970.

World Development Indicators (WDI) Online 
Provides economic, social, demographic, and environmental data by region and country.

Population and Demographics

United States

US Population

2010 Census
Information about the census in progress.

2000 Census
The Census Bureau's American FactFinder allows the user to query for data from the 2000 Census.

Data Extractors

DataFerrett
Ferret (Federal Electronic Research Review Extraction Tool) provides interactive access to all major Current Population Surveys and supplements as far back as 1992 (years vary by supplements), the 1992, 1993, and available 1996 Survey of Income and Program Participation (SIPP), and the 1997 Survey of Program Dynamics, in addition to selected health related surveys. Selected data (raw or SAS data sets) or descriptive statistics can be accessed. Download options are available.

Other Sites

Population & Housing Statistics by Zip Code
California State University at Northridge has created a resource of statistics and mapped data at the zip code level. Subject areas covered include business, politics, education, health, environment and strategies to find more.

The Ohio State University Census Index
Census Index is designed to improve access to U.S. Census information in library collections by providing an online index to Census publications. Decennial Census publications records between 1790 and 1997 are in the database which are primarily print (paper) publications.

Current Population Reports and Other Population Reports Series
The Ohio State University Libraries offers this web site index to Current Population Reports, a series published by the U.S. Census Bureau.  It covers a variety of topics, including children, disability, voting patterns, commuting, and educational attainment.

University of Wisconsin-Madison Center for Demography and Ecology
This site compiles data sources by broad disciplines: social science, public health, and aging.

International

FAOSTAT-Food and Agriculture Organization Statistics on Population
FAOSTAT is an on-line and multilingual databases currently containing over 1 million time-series records covering international statistics in the following areas: production, trade, food balance sheets, fertilizer and pesticides, land use and irrigation, forest products, fishery products, population, agricultural machinery, and food aid shipments.

IDB-International Data Base, US Census Bureau
The International Data Base (IDB) is a  data bank containing statistical tables of demographic and socio-economic data for 227 countries and areas of the world.

InfoNation
InfoNation is an easy-to-use, two-step database that allows you to view and compare the most up-to-date statistical data for the Member States of the United Nations.

TransMONEE
This site was developed by the Centre for Europe's Children to give on-line access to the UNICEF TransMONEE database. It gives rapid access to economic and social statistics for 27 transition countries in Central Europe and the former USSR.
Demographic and Health Surveys (DHS)
DHS assists developing countries worldwide in the collection and use of data to monitor and evaluate population, health, and nutrition programs. Demographic and health surveys provide information on family planning, maternal and child health, child survival, HIV/AIDS/STIs (sexually transmitted infections), and reproductive health.

Social Science Data

United States

General Resources

PRB Datafinder
A compilation from the Population Reference Bureau of U.S. demographic information, summarized from Census Bureau and other federal agency information.

ICPSR
Search the holdings of the largest data archive. The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR), located within the Institute for Social Research at the University of Michigan , is a membership-based, not-for-profit organization serving member colleges and universities in the United States and abroad.

Justice and Crime

Bureau of Justice Statistics
Contains information about suspects and defendants processed in the Federal criminal justice system. 
National Archive of Criminal Justice Data
The National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD) is a special topic archive of the Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) at the University of Michigan. NACJD acquires, archives, processes, and provides access to electronic criminal justice data collections for research and instruction. 

Education

National Center for Education Statistics
NCES is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data that are related to education in the United States and other nations.

Vital Statistics and Health

CDC Wonder
CDC WONDER is an easy-to-use system that provides a single point of access to a wide variety of CDC reports, guidelines, and numeric public health data. Among the useful vital and health related statistical data sets Wonder provides extraction for are: AIDS cases reported by state and local health departments, SEER (cancer surveillance, epidemiology and end results), ICD9 Finder (disease by classification number), state injury mortality data, mortality, natality, sexually transmitted disease morbidity, and tuberculosis surveillance.

SEER
The Surveillance, Epidemiology, and End Results (SEER) Program of the National Cancer Institute is the most authoritative source of information on cancer incidence and survival in the United States.

National Center for Health Statistics
NCHS is the Federal Government's principal vital and health statistics agency.  NCHS data systems include data on vital events as well as information on health status, lifestyle and exposure to unhealthy influences, the onset and diagnosis of illness and disability, and the use of health care.

Health and Retirement Study
The University of Michigan Health and Retirement Study surveys more than 22,000 Americans over the age of 50 every two years. Supported by the National Institute on Aging, the study paints an emerging portrait of an aging America's physical and mental health, insurance coverage, financial status, family support systems, labor market status, and retirement planning.

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Data Archive
SAMHDA is an initiative of the Office of Applied Studies at the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration of the United States Department of Health and Human Services. The goal of the archive is to provide ready access to substance abuse and mental health research data and to promote the sharing of these data among researchers, academics, policymakers, service providers, and others, thereby increasing the use of the data in understanding and assessing substance abuse and mental health problems and the impact of related treatment systems.
The National Longitudinal Study of Adolescent Health
Add Health is a school-based study of the health-related behaviors of adolescents in grades 7-12. It has been designed to explore the causes of these behaviors, with an emphasis on the influence of social context. Users can pick variables, type of central tendency, and type of statistics. 

Community Health Status Indicators
The Community Health Status Indicators (CHSI) project team created 3,082 reports of health status indicators, one for each county in the nation.  Community health improvement begins with an assessment of needs, quantification of vulnerable populations, and measurement of preventable disease, disability, and death. 

Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP)
With HCUPnet, you have easy access to national statistics and trends and selected state statistics about hospital stays.  HCUPnet generates statistics using data from the Nationwide Inpatient Sample, the Kid's Inpatient Database, and the State Inpatient Databases for states that participate. HCUPnet is part of the Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality. 

International

General Resources

GESIS
GESIS provides services in support of social science research including the development and supply of databases with information on social science literature and research activities as well as the archiving and provision of survey data from social research. 

Council of European Social Science Data Archives
CESSDA promotes the acquisition, archiving and distribution of electronic data for social science teaching and research in Europe and provides a catalog of the contents of all participating archives. 

Education

UNESCO
The main objective of the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) is to contribute to peace and security in the world by promoting collaboration among nations through education, science, culture and communication, in order to further universal respect for justice, for the rule of law and for the human rights and fundamental freedoms which are affirmed for the peoples of the world, without distinction of race, sex, language or religion, by the Charter of the United Nations.

Global Education Database
The GED was developed by the United States Agency for International Development's (USAID) Center for Human Capacity Development to provide the Agency and its development partners with selected statistical data on international education.

Vital Statistics and Health

Global Health Observatory
The WHO Statistical Information System is a guide to health and health-related epidemiological, technological, and statistical information available from the World Health Organization.

Demographic and Health Surveys (DHS)
DHS assists developing countries worldwide in the collection and use of data to monitor and evaluate population, health, and nutrition programs. Demographic and health surveys provide information on family planning, maternal and child health, child survival, HIV/AIDS/STIs (sexually transmitted infections), and reproductive health.

HIV/AIDS Surveillance
The HIV/AIDS Surveillance Data Base was developed and is maintained by the Health Studies Branch, International Programs Center, Population Division, U.S. Bureau of the Census, with funds from the U.S. Agency for International Development. 

Economics and Business

United States

General Resources

Economic Report of the President
"The Economic Report of the President is transmitted to Congress no later than ten days after the submission of the budget. The Report includes; 1) current and foreseeable trends and annual numerical goals concerning topics such as employment, unemployment, production, real income and Federal budget outlays 2) employment objectives for significant groups of the labor force 3) annual numeric goals and 4) a program for carrying out program objectives."

County Business Patterns
Annual series providing economic profile of counties, metro areas, zip codes, states, and the United States. Data include employment, payroll, and number of establishments by industry.

FRED
(Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis),FRED contains historical U.S. economic and financial data, including daily U.S. interest rates, monetary and business indicators, exchange rates, and regional economic data for Arkansas, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Mississippi, Missouri and Tennessee.

WISERTrade
WISERTrade is a database on foreign trade by State produced by the Foreign Trade Division of the U.S. Census Bureau. The data are available quarterly, detailed by state, 2-digit SIC industry code, country, and value and weight by method of transportation. MISER produces both "origin of movement" and "exporter location" data series.

2007 Economic Census
Taken every five years, the Economic Censuses provide industry data for the United States, states, and counties, broken down by industry, product, commodity, or service, (mostly by SIC code). Tables include sales or value of shipments, employment, financial, and operating statistics. For agriculture, number of farms and credit information is included.
Economic Indicators
Each issue provides annual and monthly or quarterly data concerning employment and wages, prices, money supply and interest rates, as well as income and production.

Panel Study of Income Dynamics
The PSID is a longitudinal survey of a representative sample of US individuals and the families in which they reside. It has been ongoing since 1968. The data were collected annually through 1997, and biennially starting in 1999. The data files contain the full span of information collected over the course of the study. PSID data can be used for cross-sectional, longitudinal, and inter-generational analysis and for studying both individuals and families.

International

Penn World Tables
Historical data, from 1959-, for 30+ categories of economic statistics for 152 countries and 29 subjects.  Topics include GDP, exchange rate information, capital stock per worker, construction, an import/export information.  

Living Standards Measurement Study
Living Standards Measurement Study (LSMS) household surveys have become an important tool in measuring and understanding poverty in developing countries. The Development Economics Research Group (DECRG) of the World Bank maintains this website to make available to researchers around the world the data sets and methodological lessons from these surveys.

 

Science, History and Miscellaneous


Science

General Sources

The Division of Science Resources Statistics
The Division of Science Resources Statistics (SRS) fulfills the legislative mandate of the National Science Foundation Act to provide a central clearinghouse for the collection, interpretation, and analysis of data on scientific and engineering resources, and to provide a source of information for policy formulation by other agencies of the Federal Government.

Specific Resources

National Agricultural Statistics Service
Each year, NASS conducts hundreds of surveys and prepares reports covering virtually every facet of U.S. agriculture, such as production and supplies of food and fiber, prices paid and received by farmers, farm labor and wages, and farm aspects of the industry. NASS publications cover a wide range of subjects, from traditional crops, such as corn and wheat, to specialties, such as mushrooms and flowers; from calves born to hogs slaughtered; from agricultural prices to land in farms. NASS also conducts the Census of Agriculture every 5 years.

National Climatic Data Center
NCDC is the world's largest active archive of weather data. NCDC produces numerous climate publications and responds to data requests from all over the world. NCDC operates the World Data Center for Meteorology, Asheville which is collocated at NCDC.

Storm Event Database
This database currently contains:  The Storm Events Database, which contains data from the following sources:  All Weather Events from 1993 - current, as entered into Storm Data. (Except 6/93 - 7/93, which is missing) Plus additional data from the Storm Prediction Center; Including Tornadoes 1950-1992, Thunderstorm Winds 1959-1992, and Hail 1959-1992

National Geophysical Data Center
The NGDC plays an integral role in the nation's research into the environment as well as provides environmental data to the public domain.   Topics covered include: topography, geomagnetism, satellites, habitats, space weather, oceanic geophysical information, terrestrial information, snow and ice data, and hazard information. 

Fisheries Statistics and Economics
The National Marine Fisheries Service Fisheries Statistics & Economics Division collects data and coordinates information and research programs to support the science-based stewardship of the nation's living marine resources.

National Hazards Statistics
The U.S. Natural Hazard Statistics provide statistical information on fatalities, injuries and damages caused by weather related hazards.  In addition to the files here, you can access a 61-Year List of Severe Weather Fatalities.  

National Oceanographic Data Center
The National Oceanographic Data Center (NODC) is one of three NOAA environmental data centers, and serves as a national repository and dissemination facility for global ocean data.


History

University of Wisconsin-Madison: Data and Program Library Service
Data and Program Library Service (DPLS) is the central repository of data collections used by the social science research community at the University of Wisconsin-Madison.


Miscellaneous


American Religion Data Archive
The ARDA collection includes data on churches and church membership, religious professionals, and religious groups (individuals, congregations and denominations).

Statistical Resources on the Web
Can't find your topic?  This site from the University of Michigan Documents Center, is a comprehensive site of links to statistical sources, arranged within many  broad topics.