About RRSS

Online Journals & Databases

Guides to Using the Library

Site Map


Ask a Librarian

General Library Help

LEARN to Use the Library

LibGuides

Database Linking

Many databases allow you to create links to records and searches that persist beyond your current browser session.  Any time you want to save a link to an article or send a link to another person from a library database, you’ll want to make sure that it is persistent and not temporary - otherwise, you may not be able to retrieve the intended article at a later point  This process generally involves creating a URL containing two parts: the Library Proxy Prefix and the Persistent Link to the Record or Search.

Note:  Persistent links are not truly persistent.  Databases will sometimes change their subscriptions and lose access to the full-text of a particular journal.  For this reason, using a citation manager like RefWorks is often a better option for long-term access to articles and research.

Specific instructions for finding persistent links in some of the library's popular databases are included on this page:

Locate more information about:

The Library’s Proxy Prefix:

The Library’s Proxy Prefix is the first part of a peristent link, which allows you to access the resource through the Library’s proxy server.  This identifies you as a University of Illinois affiliate, and will prompt you to log-in with your Net ID and password if you are off campus.  The Library’s Proxy Prefix looks like this:

http://www.library.illinois.edu/proxy/go.php?url=

Finding the Persistent Link:

Most databases allow full-text linking, but the process for creating persistent links is almost never the same.  “Persistent links” might be referred to as “links,” “stable URLs,” “durable links,” “bookmarks,” or even indicated with images of chain links or stars.  Some databases, like Lexis Nexis Academic Universe, provide tools for creating persistent links.  Although each database is slightly different, the strategy for finding persistent links is generally the same. 

The final persistent link for each database will include two parts: the Library Proxy Prefix and the Persistent Link to the Record, which differs for each database. A complete persistent link might look like this:
Peristant Link with library proxy prefix

Below are a few examples of how to find persistent links in some of the most popular library databases.

ProQuest

To link to an article in ProQuest databases, you will create a Persistent URL which contains two parts: the Library Proxy Prefix and the Persistent Link to the Record, as shown above. Searches cannot be linked in ProQuest databases.

To create a persistent link in a ProQuest database:

Step 1:  Search for a ProQuest Database from the Library's Online Journals & Databases page. ProQuest databases include ABI/Inform, Digital Dissertations and Historical Newspapers.

Step 2: Enter search terms and click on an article of interest.

Step 3: The persistent link to the article can be found under Indexing, and is called the Document URL, highlighted in red below. Along with the library proxy prefix, this link will provide persistent access to the article.

  Location of persistent link in ProQuest databases

EBSCO

To link to an article or a search in an EBSCO database, you will create a Persistent URL which contains two parts: the Library Proxy Prefix and the Persistent Link to the Record, as shown above.

To create a persistent link in an EBSCO database:

Step 1: Search for an EBSCO database from the Library's Online Journals & Databases page. EBSCO databases include Academic Search Premier, Business Source Complete, EconLit and ERIC.

Step 2: Enter search terms and click on an article of interest.

Step 3: Select Permalink from the menu to the right of the page, highlighted in red below:

EBSCO persistent link

Step 4: Copy and paste the link which appears at the top of the page into a document or email message.

EBSCO Permalink

JSTOR

To link to an article in  JSTOR, you will create a Persistent URL which contains two parts: the  Library Proxy Prefix and the  Persistent Link to the Record, as shown above. You cannot link searches in  JSTOR. 

To create a persistent link in JSTOR:

Step 1: Search for JSTOR from the Library's Online Journals & Databases page.

Step 2: Enter search terms and click on an article of interest.

Step 3: Copy and Paste the “Stable URL” listed underneath the title of the article, highlighted in red below.

JSTOR persistent link 

Lexis Nexis Academic Universe

To link to an article in Lexis Nexis Academic Universe, you will have to build a permanent URL with an online tool and then add the Library Proxy Prefix as shown above.

To create a persistent link in Lexis Nexis:

Step 1: Search for  Lexis Nexis Academic Universe from the Library's Online Journals & Databases page.

Step 2: Enter Search terms and click on an article of interest.

Step 3: Click on the clipboard and link icon, located in the top right-hand corner of the window. The icon is highlighted in red below.

LexisNexis peristent link step one

Step 4: In the pop-up window that appears, follow the directions provided to save the persistent link. You will need to highlight the link provided, indicated in red below, then right-click and select “Copy Link Location” or “Copy Shortcut.” You can then paste the link to a document or email message.

Copy and paste this link

DOIs

Some databases, including Web of Science or Scopus, provide DOIs instead of persistent links.  “DOI” is an acronym for Digital Object Identifier, which is a unique electronic address assigned to a document in a large central database. For most practical purposes, DOIs work like any other persistent link you’ll find in the databases above. Creating a persistent link with a DOI is a three step process that includes: 1) the Library Prefix, 2) the DOI HTTP string, and 3) the DOI itself.

An example of a DOI from JSTOR is: 10.2307/1351651, highlighted in red below.

JSTOR DOI

The DOI HTTP string is always: http://dx.doi.org/

To access an article using its DOI, put the three parts together, as in the following example: http://www.library.illinois.edu/proxy/go.php?url=http://dx.doi.org/10.2307/1351651.

Online Catalogs

The links you find in the VuFind Catalog should already be persistent, so you can just copy and paste the URL for a particular record without having to worry about it breaking in your next session. In the Classic Catalog, however, all of the records URLs are temporary, so you’ll need to use the persistent link located in the record itself, highlighted in red below.

  Classic Catalog DOI

gfasdf