About RRSS

Online Journals & Databases

Guides to Using the Library

Site Map


Ask a Librarian

General Library Help

LEARN to Use the Library


Books, Papers, and Websites About the University of Illinois

Some of the books and articles about the University itself that are in the Illinois collection can be grouped into the following categories. Choose a category and then follow the links within that category to get location and availability information for each item. In the case of journal articles for which full text is not available online, the link takes you to the catalog record for the journal as a whole.  Some of these items are in University Archives and are not digitized.  Additionally, dissertations may be located through Digital Dissertations


General History

Carriel, Mary Turner. The Life of Jonathan Baldwin Turner (Urbana: University of Illinois Press, 1961). Falkenburg, Barth. The University of Illinois (Louisville: Harmony House, 1988). - This book, written by Turner's daughter, discusses Turner's contributions to the land-grant movement and in the founding of the University of Illinois. No index.  Also available electronically through HathiTrust Digital Library

Franch, John. "Pushing Every Button, Pulling Every String: The University of Illinois, The 1895 Legislature, and the Struggle Over Appropriations", Illinois Historical Journal 1994 87(2): 74-94.

Hardin, Thomas L. “The University of Illinois and the Community-Junior College Movement, 1901-1965”, Illinois Historical Journal 1986 79(2): 82-98.

Hatch, Richard. Some Founding Papers of the University of Illinois (Urbana, University of Illinois Press, 1967). - Includes key federal and state legislation (i.e., the Land Grant Act of 1862), addresses and speeches, and reports that articulated the initial vision of the university and documented its formation. No index.

Illini Years: A Picture History of the University of Illinois, 1868-1950 (Urbana: University of Illinois Press, 1950) - Provides a pictorial history of the university beginning with the first regent, John Milton Gregory (1868-1880), through the first three years of George Dinsmore Stoddard's tenure as president (1946-1956). This book nicely summarizes key events for each of the ten regents/presidents and their contributions to the university. No index.

Johnson, Henry and Johanningmeir, Erwin. Teachers for the Prairie (Urbana: University of Illinois Press, 1972). - This book provides a history of education at the University of Illinois from 1868 to 1945. The book examines the history of teacher education in Illinois, the founding of the University of Illinois, and the establishment of the College of Education in the 1920s. Indexed.

Moores, Richard G. Fields of Rich Toil (Urbana: University of Illinois Press, 1970). - A detailed history of the University of Illinois College of Agriculture from its founding until the 1920s. Brief summaries of major developments and initiatives of the college from the 1920s through the 1960s are covered in the last chapter. Indexed.

Nevins, Allan. Illinois (NY: Oxford University Press, 1917). - Nevins claims that this is the first history of the University of Illinois. Covers the founding of the university through the 1917 and includes chapters on housing, students and student life, and relations between the university and the state. The appendix includes growth of the university by years, buildings (1868-1916), and other data about the university. Indexed.  Also available electronically from HathiTrust Digital Library

Olien, David William. Governor John Peter Altgeld: Patron of the University of Illinois, 1893-1897. Thesis (M.A.) University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, 1989. - The university was twenty-six years old when Altgeld became governor of the state of Illinois. He was pivotal figure in the development of the University of Illinois, both actively participating in Board of Trustee discussions and securing state support and funding for the university. He also influenced the architecture and the landscape of the campus. No index.

Powell, Burt E. Semi-Centennial History of the University of Illinois, Vol.I and II. (Urbana: University of Illinois Press, 1918). - The title of volume 1 is The Movement for Industrial Education and the Establishment of the University: 1840-1870. This 631- paged book provides considerable detail about the land-grant movement and the formation of the university (known then as the Illinois Industrial University) and includes key documents in the appendix. The introduction to volume 1 was written by Edmund J. James, the fourth president of the university. Indexed.  Also available electronically from the HathiTrust Digital LIbrary

Shearer, Benjamin F., "An Experiment in Military and Civilian Education: The Students' Army Training Corps at the University of Illinois", Journal of the Illinois State Historical Society 1979 72(3): 213-224.

Smart, Clifton M. Design and the Development of the Institutional Community. Thesis (M.S.) University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, 1960. - The university was experiencing unprecedented growth and expansion in the post-World War era, and as this author argues, commercial and housing development lacked a cohesive plan to provide optimum benefit to the university and to the community. The author suggests alternatives in planning the campus environment and includes maps. No index.

Smith, Brett Hunn. "Envisioning and Embodying a Public, Protestant Paideia at the University of Illinois, 1867-1880," Dissertation Abstracts Index 2002 63(4): 1278-A. DA3050593.

Solberg, Winton U. The University of Illinois 1894-1904: The Shaping of the University (Urbana: University of Illinois Press, 2000). - This work continues where the author left off in his prior work (The University of Illinois 1867-1894: An Intellectual and Cultural History). In this work, Solberg examines the presidency of Draper; the curriculum and faculty during Draper's time; and, student life and the rise of fraternities and intercollegiate football on campus. Indexed.

Solberg, Winton U. and Tomlinson, Robert W. "Academic McCarthyism and Keynesian Economics: The Bowen Controversy at the University of Illinois", History of Political Economy 1997 29 (1): 55-81.

Solberg, Winton U. The University of Illinois 1867-1894: An Intellectual and Cultural History (Urbana: University of Illinois Press, 1968). - Examines the founding of the University of Illinois and analyzes its critical formative years while also taking a broader look the intellectual and cultural forces during this time period. Indexed.

Solberg, Winton U. "The University of Illinois Struggles for Public Recognition, 1867- 1894", Journal of the Illinois State Historical Society 1966 59(1): 5-29.

Stephens, Carl. Manuscript History of the University of Illinois (RS 26/1/21, University Archives).

Tap, Bruce, "Suppression of Dissent: Academic Freedom at the University of Illinois during the World War I Era", Illinois Historical Journal 1992 85(1): 2-22.

Ten Years 1941-1951. (Urbana: Illini Union, 1951). - Covers the first ten years of the Illini Union and includes pictures of the building and student and faculty life at the university. No index.

Tilton, Leon D. and O’Donnell, Thomas E. History of the Growth and Development of the Campus of the University of Illinois (Urbana: University of Illinois Press, 1930). - This is a history of the development of the Champaign-Urbana campus from 1867 through the 1920s. It also includes the history of the colleges of Medicine, Dentistry, and Pharmacy on the Chicago campus. Indexed.

University of Illinois Past & Present, Urbana-Champaign (Urbana: Phoenix, 1995). - A pictorial history of the university and includes chapters on campus architecture, academics, student life, arts and entertainment, athletics and famous alumni. Color and black and white pictures. No index.

Wisseman, Nicholas. (2004). "Falsely Accused: Cold War Liberalism Reassessed", The Historian 66 (2), 320-334.


Back to top


Administration - Presidents

Filbey, Edward J. Sixteen Years at the University of Illinois: Statistical Study of the Administration of President Edmund J. James (Urbana: University of Illinois Press, 1950). - This report summarizes James's presidency from 1904 to 1920. It details the finances, land, buildings, equipment, libraries, museums, faculty, and students and student organizations at the university. Indexed.  Also available electronically from the HathiTrust Digital Library

Girling, Katherine Peabody. Selim Hobart Peabody: A Biography by His Daughter (Urbana: University of Illinois Press, 1923). - A biography of Peabody, the University of Illinois President from 1880 to 1891. No index.

Grisso, Karl Max. David Kinley, 1861-1944: The Career of the Fifth President of the University of Illinois. Thesis (Ph.D.), University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, 1980.

Horner, Harlan Hoyt. The Life and Work of Andrew Sloan Draper. (Urbana: University of Illinois Press, 1934). - This biography of Draper covers his tenure as the President of the University of Illinois (1894-1904) and as the Commissioner of Education of the State of New York. Indexed.  Also available electronically from the HathiTrust Digital Library

Johnson, Ronald M. "Schoolman Among Scholars: Andrew S. Draper at the University of Illinois, 1894-1904," Illinois Historical Journal 1985 78(4): 257-272.  

Johnson, Ronald M. "Captain of Education: Andrew Sloan Draper, 1848-1913", Societas 1976 6 (3): 193-211. 

Kinley, David. The Autobiography of David Kinley (Urbana: University of Illinois Press, 1949). - Kinley was the president of the University of Illinois from 1920 to 1930 and during his tenure, the campus had undergone a major expansion and construction phase. Indexed.

Ray, Bernard T. Academic Presidential Leadership: A Study of the Presidential Leadership of Edmund J. James for the University of Illinois, 1904-1919. Thesis (Ph.D.), University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, 1991. - James's administration at the University of Illinois from 1904 and 1919 serves as a case study on how a president responds to three critical demands: attracting quality faculty, maintaining institutional tranquility, and protecting the institution's public image. No index.  Available electronically from IDEALS

Rodnitzky, Jerome Leon. "David Kinley: A Paternal President in the Roaring Twenties", Journal of the Illinois State Historical Society 1973 66(1): 5-19.  

Rodnitzky, Jerome Leon. "President James and His Campaigns for University of Illinois Funds", Journal of the Illinois State Historical Society 1970 63(1): 69-90.

Ross, Betsy. I Fly the Flag (Champaign, IL: Stipes, 1984?). - Although it is mainly an autobiography of her life, as a niece of Willard, she served as his social secretary while he was the university president from 1934 to 1946. Her reminiscences provide a glimpse of his tenure as president and of the university and town life from 1930s through the 1950s. No index.

Towne, Jackson E. "President Draper Gets a College of Agriculture in Spite of Himself", Agricultural History 1962 36(4): 207-212.


Back to top


African American Experience

African American Cultural Center

Department of African American Studies

Cobb-Roberts, Deirdre. "Interracial Cooperatives at the University of Illinois, 1940- 1960," American Educational History Journal 2002 29: 35-42. This journal is not available at the University of Illinois, but we should be able to get articles for you by interlibrary loan quite quickly if you place a request.

Cobb-Roberts, Deirdre. "Race and Higher Education at the University of Illinois, 1945 to 1955". Dissertations Abstracts Index 1999 59(8): 2889-A. DA9904419.

Cobb, Deirdre. "Segregated Students at the University of Illinois, 1945 to 1955," Journal of the Midwest History of Education Society 1997 24: 46-51. Note: This journal has been renamed the American Educational History Journal. It is not available at the University of Illinois, but we should be able to get articles for you by interlibrary loan quite quickly if you place a request.

Feinberg, Walter and Tyack, David. "Black People, Not Student Personnel: The 'Disadvantaged' in Teacher Education". Teachers College Record 1969 71(2): 225-235. Describes an experimental program in teacher education for black students at the University of Illinois.

Franke, Carrie. "Injustice Sheltered: Race Relations at the University of Illinois and Champaign-Urbana, 1945-1962". Dissertations Abstract Index 1991 52(3): 817-A. DA9114239.

Griot, vols 1:1-2:2 (Fall 1998-Fall 1999), a student publication of the African- American Cultural Program (AACP).

Guide to African-American Sources in the University of Illinois Archives

Mack, Faite R-P. "Educational Opportunity Program Graduates Compared to Educational Opportunity Program Non-Graduates", Journal of Negro Education 1974 43 (1): 39-46. Studies 502 freshman who entered the University of Illinois Special Education Opportunities Program in 1968.

Merrick, Jeffries. "Project '500': An Excellent Plan Poorly Executed", FOCUS/Midwest 1969 7(45): 8-13.

Spivey, Donald and Jones, Thomas A. "Intercollegiate Athletic Servitude: A Case Study of the Black Illini Student-Athletes, 1931-1967", Social Science Quarterly 1975 55(4): 939- 947. Also available online in Periodical Archive Online.

Williamson, Joy Ann. "'We Hope for Nothing; We Demand Everything': Black Students at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, 1965-1975." Dissertation Abstracts Index 1999 59 (9): 3379-A. DA9904622.

Williamson, Joy Ann. "Affirmative Action at University of Illinois: The 1968 Special Educational Opportunities Program," Journal of the Midwest History of Education Society 1998 25(1): 49-54. Note: This journal has been renamed the American Educational History Journal. It is not available at the University of Illinois, but we should be able to get articles for you by interlibrary loan quite quickly if you place a request.

Williamson, Joy Ann. "An Oral History of Black Students at the University of Illinois, 1965-1975," Journal of the Midwest History of Education Society 1998 25 (1): 94-100. Note: This journal has been renamed the American Educational History Journal. It is not available at the University of Illinois, but we should be able to get articles for you by interlibrary loan quite quickly if you place a request.

Williamson, Joy Ann. "Who is "Black" at the University of Illinois, 1965-1975," Journal of the Midwest History of Education Society 1997 24: 52-56. Note: This journal has been renamed the American Educational History Journal. It is not available at the University of Illinois, but we should be able to get articles for you by interlibrary loan quite quickly if you place a request.


Back to top


Agriculture

Rodnitzky, Jerome L. "Farm and Gown: The University of Illinois and the Farmer, 1904- 1918", Journal of the Illinois State Historical Society 1979 72(1): 13-20.

Towne, Jackson E. "President Draper Gets a College of Agriculture in Spite of Himself," Agricultural History 1962 36(4): 207-212.


Back to top


Art & Architecture on Campus

Charney, Wayne Michael and Stamper, John W. "Nathan Clifford Ricker and the Beginning of Architectural Education in Illinois", Illinois Historical Journal 1986 79 (4): 257-266.

Sabin, Holly Jean. An Interpretation Plan for Historic Sites and Buildings at the University of Illinois. Master project (MUP), University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, 1992. - The author examines the use of interpretation planning in preserving campus sites and uses the University of Illinois as a case study to suggest ways to educate the campus and the public on the importance of historic campus buildings and sites and to strengthen preservation efforts. No index.

Scheinman, Muriel. A Guide to Art at the University of Illinois: Urbana-Champaign, Robert Allerton Park, and Chicago. (Urbana: University of Illinois Press, c1995) - This guide serves as an introduction to art at the University of Illinois's Urbana-Champaign and Chicago campuses and at Robert Allerton Park. Includes not only museum holdings, but also paintings and sculptures in "classrooms, rotundas, hallways, libraries, student centers, lobbies, and theaters, and outdoors along walkways, near buildings, on facades, over entrances, in the landscape." Maps of the two campuses and Allerton Park are included. Indexed.

Scheinman, Muriel. Altgeld Hall, the Original Library Building at the University of Illinois: Its History, Architecture and Art. Thesis (M.A.), University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, 1969. - This thesis provides a history of the first library building, Altgeld Hall, from its initial design by Nathan C. Ricker and James McLaren White to the various murals and art works in the building. Black and white pictures. No index.

Scheinman, Muriel. Art Collecting at the University of Illinois: A History and Catalogue. Thesis (Ph.D.), University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, 1981. - The thesis examines art patronage and collection at the University of Illinois, beginning with the first art gallery in 1875. It also serves as selective catalogue of art works on and around the Urbana campus and at Robert Allerton Park. Black and white pictures. No index.

Weller, Allen S. 100 Years of Campus Architecture at the University of Illinois (Urbana: University of Illinois Press, 1968). - This book provides brief historical information on and pictures of key buildings at the Champaign-Urbana and Chicago campuses. No index.   Also available online.


Back to top


Athletics

The Illinois Stadium "For the Fighting Illini". (Urbana: Illinois University Stadium Drive, 1921).

Pearson, Mike. Illini Legends, Lists & Lore: 100 Years of Big Ten Heritage. (Champaign, IL: Sagamore, c1995).

Spindel, Carol. Dancing at Halftime: Sports and the Controversy over American Indian Mascots (NY: New York University Press, 2000).

Story of the Stadium. (Urbana: University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Athletic Association, 1921).  Also online through IDEALS.

Young, Linda. Hail to the Orange and Blue!: 100 Years of Illinois Football Tradition. (Champaign, IL: Sagamore, c1990).


Back to top


Communications

Rodnitzky, Jerome L. "Getting the Ear of the State: A Pioneer University Radio Station in the 1920's", History of Education Quarterly 1968 8(4): 505-509.


Back to top


Diversity, Race, and Ethnic Relations

Cantor, Nancy. "In Reactions to the Michigan Rulings, Diversity Abounds". The Chronicle of Higher Education, July 4, 2003.

Cultural Houses:

Library Resources: Diversity and Multicultural Information

Diversity Resources At the University of Illinois, Office of the Provost - The "Academics" section provides links to academic and research programs, such as the Disability Research Institute, Latino/Latina Studies Program, and Gender & Womens Studies Program. For links to the cultural "houses" (e.g. La Casa Cultural Latina), see above.

Griot, vols 1:1-2:2 (Fall 1998-Fall 1999), a student publication of the African- American Cultural Program (AACP).

Multicultural Campus

International Student and Scholar Services

Office of Minority Student Affairs

Back to top


Fraternities & Sororities

Black Greek Council (African-American Fraternities and Sororities) The BGC serves as the governing body for African-American fraternities and sororities at the University of Illinois.

Governing Boards:

Greek Affairs University office that serves as an advisor to the Black Greek Council, Interfraternity Council, and the Panhellenic Council.

Interfraternity Council (Fraternities) The IFC is the governing body for University of Illinois fraternities. This site contains links to IFC bylaws, judicial procedures, and meeting minutes.

Panhellenic Council (Sororities) The Panhellenic Council functions as the governing body for University of Illinois sororities. This site contains a calendar of events, recruitment information, and contact information for officers.


Back to top


Library & Information Science

Allen, Walter C. and Delzell Robert F., eds. Ideals and Standards: The History of the University of Illinois Graduate School of Library and Information Science, 1893-1993. (Urbana-Champaign, IL: The School, c1992.).

Cardman, Elizabeth. Interior Landscapes: Personal Perspectives on Professional Lives: The First Generation of Librarians at the Illinois Library School, 1893-1907. Thesis (Ph.D), University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, 1996.

Grotzinger, Laurel, "The University of Illinois Library School, 1893-1942", Journal of Library History 1967 2(2): 129-141.

Walker, Thomas D. Surveying the Library Landscape: The Inspection Visits of the University of Illinois Library School. (Champaign, IL: GSLIS, University of Illinois at Urbana- Champaign, 1996).  Also available electronically from IDEALS


Back to top

Mathematics

Dupre, Thomas Steven, "The University of Illinois Committee on School Mathematics and the 'New Mathematics' Controversy", Dissertation Abstracts Index 1987 47(7): 2493-A. DA8623288.


Back to top


School of Music

Harrison, Albert Dale. "A History of the University of Illinois School of Music, 1940- 1970," Dissertation Abstracts Index 1987 47(7): 2496-A. DA8623312.


Back to top


Policies & Procedures

Business and Financial Policies and Procedures Manual. The Business and Financial Policies and Procedures manual contains detailed information about business and financial policies that apply to the University and its three campuses (Chicago, Springfield, and Urbana-Champaign). Examples include discussion of how the University handles gifts, how the University provides insurance, and how the University pays for the travel of its employees.


Back to top


Religion & Religious Groups

Cohen, Henry. "Jewish Life and Thought in an Academic Community: University of Illinois, 1962, A Case Study of Town and Gown", Western States Jewish History 1999 31(2-3): 213-235.

Solberg, Winton U. “The Conflict between Religion and Secularism at the University of Illinois, 1867-1894”, American Quarterly 1966 18(2, pt. 1): 183-199.

Solberg, Winton U. "The Early Years of the Jewish Presence at the University of Illinois", Religion and American Culture 1992 2(2): 215-245.

Solberg, Winton U. "The Catholic Presence at the University of Illinois", Catholic Historical Review 1990 76(4): 765-812.


Back to top


Statistics

American Freshman: National Norms. If your topic involves changes over time in the composition of the University of Illinois's incoming classes, you may want to get hold of one or more annual editions of the American Freshman National Norms report. Put out by the UCLA-based Higher Education Research Institute since 1966, the National Norms report is the largest continuous set of data available on incoming freshmen classes for the U.S. as a whole. Full text of the report is not available online, but you should be able to find reports from most years on microfiche in the University of Illinois's Government Documents Library.

Annual Financial Report. University of Illinois. Urbana, Illinois: University of Illinois. Published from 1997 to the present, this report summarizes basic information about the finances of the University. The information contained in this report was published before 1997 as part of the university's Report of the Comptroller (see below).

Budget Book. Produced by the University's Office of Planning and Budgeting, the Budget Book contains detailed discussion of the University's fiscal planning for multiple years into the future.

Campus Profile. A rich, customizable online resource from the University's Division of Management Information . Use it to get very detailed information from 1993 to the present on particular departments, colleges, and programs, as well as non-academic supporting units. Available information includes percentage of minority students enrolled, ratio of students to faculty, and number of degrees granted.  

College and University Rankings. Put together by the University's Education and Social Sciences Library, this excellent site provides links to many and varied rankings of colleges, universities, and academic programs (including the University of Illinois and its constituent programs). It also includes discussion about how to interpret such rankings.

Digest of Education Statistics. Put together by the National Center for Education Statistics, this report gives a quick summary of what's going on in education today in the United States at every level. While not specific in any way to the University of Illinois, these statistics can help you put numbers from University of Illinois publications in context.

Higher Education Almanac. Compiled annually by the National Education Association, the almanac records statistics and tracks trends in higher education across the U.S. Full text versions of the almanac are available online from 1996 to the present.

Salary Book. The Salary Book is not officially called the Salary Book -- it's called the Supplement to the Minutes of the Board of Trustees. People call it the Salary Book, however, because it contains detailed information about the salaries of many people working at the University of Illinois. It is also referred to as the "Gray Book." The Salary Book does not include information about corporate grants and other non- governmental sources of money -- only the portion of a person's salary that comes from the state is shown. Multiple copies of the book are available, but the easiest way to get the newest edition is to ask for it at either the Information Desk or the Main Stacks Circulation Desk on the second floor of the Main Library Building. The call number for all editions of the book is C.IL6uB1sup.2. It's been published from 1966 to the present.  

Student Enrollment Reports. An information-packed online resource from the University's Division of Management Information. Contains detailed information about student enrollment from 1991 to the present, as well as some historical data back into the 1800s. Available information includes percentage of minority students enrolled, ratio of students to faculty, and number of degrees granted.


Back to top

 

Student Life - General

Dutt, Diya. "The 1976 Illini: Sweet Memories of Alma Mater", Education Policy Analysis Archives v. 4 no. 6 (April 1996): 1-15. Attitudes of graduates of the class of 1976 of the U of I toward their alma mater were studied in 4 wave survey of 2,306 graduates. Students developed a stronger attachment to the university and more favorable attitudes about program major with the passage of time.

Ebert, Roger. The Illini Century: One Hundred Years of Campus Life (Urbana: University of Illinois Press, 1967).

Epstein, Joseph. "Memoirs of a Fraternity Man", Commentary 1971 51(1): 59-64.

Gilmore, Nancy. The Magic of Medicare 7, 8, or 9 and All That Jazz (Champaign: Sagamore, 1993).

Hannah, Harold W. One Hundred Years of Action: The University of Illinois YMCA, 1873-1973 (Urbana; YMCA, 1973).  Digitized copy available from the University of Illinois Library.

Hardy, Warren F. That Boy of Ours (Decatur, IL: c1926).

Kiler, Charles A. On the Banks of the Boneyard (Urbana: Illini Union Bookstore, 1942).  Also available electronically from HathiTrust Digital Library

Question Board. Question Board, also known as QB, is a service the University of Illinois Undergraduate Library has provided since 1989. Students submit questions anonymously on an enormous variety of subjects, and their questions are answered by library staff. Search the QB archives to learn what students have asked about over the years.

Roseberry, Clarence J. The University of Illinois Directory (Danville: Illinois Printing Company, 1929).

Scott, Franklin W. The Semi-Centennial Alumni Record (Chicago: Lakeside Press, 1918).  Also available electronically from HathiTrust Digital Library

Simon, Rita James, McCall, George, and Rosenthal, Evelyn. "A Selective Evaluation of their University by Negro and White Undergraduate", Phylon 1969 30(1): 11-16.

Solberg, Winton U. "Harmless Pranks or Brutal Practices?: Hazing at the University of Illinois, 1868-1913", Journal of the Illinois State Historical Society 1998 91(4): 233- 259.


Back to top


Student Life - Administration

Clark, Thomas Arkle. The Sunday Eight O'Clock, Brief Sermons for the Undergraduate (Urbana: 1916) Also available electronically from HathiTrust Digital Library

Finnegan, Terrence. "Promoting 'Responsible Freedom:' Administrators and Social Fraternities at the University of Illinois, 1900-31", History of Higher Education Annual (1989).

Gatyas, Kenton. "Thomas Arkle Clark and the Office of Dean of Men at the University of Illinois, 1901-1917", Journal of Educational Administration and History [Great Britain} 1998 30 (2): 129-145.

Filbey, Mary Louise. Early History of the Deans of Women, University of Illinois, 1897- 1923 (RS 41/20/38 Filbey Family Papers), 1969.


Back to top


Student Life - Bands

Burford, Cary C. "We're Loyal to You Illinois: The Story of the University of Illinois Bands Under Albert Austin Harding for 43 Years." (Danville, IL: Interstate, 1952).


Back to top


Student Life - Fiction

Henderson, Robert. Whether There Be Knowledge (Philadelphia: Lipincott Press, 1935).

Hormel, Olive Deane. Co-Ed (NY: Scribner’s, 1926).

Kubly, Herbert. The Whistling Zone (NY: Simon and Schuster, 1963).

Maxwell, William. The Folded Leaf (NY: Harper, 1945).  Also available electronically from HathiTrust Digital Library

Miller, Louis L. The New Minister (NY: Pageant Press, 1952).

Montross, Lynn and Lois Seyster Montross. Town and Gown (NY: Coran, c1923).

Montross, Lynn and Lois Seyster Montross. Fraternity Row (NY: Doran, c1926).


Back to top


Student Life - Protests and Unrest

Clardy, Brian Keith. "The Management of Dissent: Responses to the Post-Kent State Protests at Seven Public Universities in Illinois", Dissertation Abstracts Index 1999 60(4): 1289-1290-A. DA9925857.

DeMartini, Joseph R. "Student Unrest in the Nineteenth Century: A Sociological Case Study", Sociological Inquiry 1984 54(4): 408-431.

DeMartini, Joseph R. "Student Culture as a Change Agent in American Higher Education: An Illustration From the Nineteenth Century", Journal of Social History 1976 9(4): 526-541.

DeMartini, Joseph R. "Student Activists of the 1930s and 1960s: A Comparison of the Social Base of Two Student Movements", Youth and Society 1975 6(4): 395-422.

DeMartini, Joseph R. "Student Protest During Two Periods in the History of the University of Illinois: 1867-1894 and 1929-1942", Dissertation Abstracts Index 1975 35 (7): 4696-4697-A.

Kennedy, Patrick D. "Reactions Against the Vietnam War and Military-Related Targets on Campus: The University of Illinois as a Case Study, 1965-72", Illinois Historical Journal 1991 84(2): 101-118.


Back to top


Student Life - Published Memoirs

Carr, Robert J. Grandma Had Class (Champaign, IL: 1983).

Fowler, Roe. Every Day We Bathed in Champaign! (Fresno, CA: Fig Leaf Press, 1983). Available only through the Urbana Free Library.


Back to top


Women

Bane, Juliet Lita. The Story of Isabel Bevier (Peoria, IL: C.A. Bennett Co., c1955).  Available electronically from HathiTrust Digital Library

Bartow, Beverly Jean, "Isabel Bevier at the University of Illinois and the Home Economics Movement", Journal of the Illinois State Historical Society 1979 72(1): 21-38.

Bartow, Beverly Jean. Isabel Bevier at Illinois and the Home Economics Movement Thesis B.A., 1977.

Treicher, Paula A. "Alma Mater's Sorority: Women and the University of Illinois, 1890- 1925", in For Alma Mater: Theory and Practice in Feminist Scholarship (University of Illinois Press, 1985).


Back to top


Veterinary Medicine

Solberg, Winton U. "The Quest for a College and Research Laboratory of Veterinary Medicine at the University of Illinois, 1906-1921", Journal of Illinois History 2000 3(4): 246-266.


Back to top