About RRSS

Online Journals & Databases

Guides to Using the Library

Site Map


Ask a Librarian

General Library Help

LEARN to Use the Library

LibGuides

Circulation and Oak Street

Circulation FAQ

How do I get a book from the Main Stacks?
How long can I check out a book?
How many times can I renew an item?
How do I renew an item?
How long can I check out a DVD/CD/loanable technology item?
Can I request or recall an item that is checked out?
What are the borrowing privileges/polices for non-affiliated patrons?
How can I find an E-Book in the Library?
I am a Distance Learner. How do I request books?


Oak Street FAQ

The Oak Street Library Facility is a high density storage facility for items that have a low circulation history.  Materials are shelved on forty-foot shelves and organized by barcode technology that interfaces with the Library’s online catalog.  The facility has greatly reduced over-crowding in the Main Stacks and many Departmental Libraries, and its climate-controlled environment helps the Library’s  preservation efforts.  For more information see: Oak Street High Density Storage - Information for the Public. All patrons, including courtesy card holders, can request materials from Oak St.

Why is the journal/book I need located at/being moved to Oak St.?
How do I know if an item is shelved at Oak St.?
How long does my request take?
Can I visit the Oak St. facility, or browse the collections there?
How do I request an item from Oak St.?


Circulation Answers

How do I get a book from the Main Stacks?

Once you have located an item in the Main Stacks, note the call number. 

Main Stacks catalog example

You may give this number to the staff at the Circulation Desk and they will retrieve the item for you. You may also request any item electronically through the online catalog.  
If you would like, you may retrieve items from the Stacks yourself.  University of Illinois faculty, graduate and undergraduate students, and staff are granted entrance to the Stacks upon presentation of a valid I-Card, as are some courtesy card holders.  No food or drink is allowed in the Stacks, and all bags must be kept in the lockers outside the Stacks.

How long can I check out a book?

For more information see: http://www.library.illinois.edu/circ/policies/Borrowing.html

How many times can I renew an item?

The renewal limit for most monographs is 10, unless needed by another user.  The renewal limit for most I-Share items is 3.

How do I renew an item?

Patrons can renew items online by logging into their library account
On the right side of the screen, select “Checked Out Items” and select titles to renew.
Renewals can also be made by telephone at (217) 333-8400, by email at circlib@library.illinois.edu, or in person at any circulation desk.

Where to renew booksHow to renew books

How long can I check out a DVD/CD/Loanable technology item?

Items in the Undergraduate Media Collection circulate to all patron types for one week.  Most items can be renewed 3 times.  Undergraduate students may check out up to 5 media titles at a time. Courtesy Card Patrons may have 1 media title at a time.  For more information, see: http://www.library.illinois.edu/ugl/media/medicirculationpolicies.html

The Music Library has some specific restrictions on their sound and video recordings (such as DVDs and CDs cannot be renewed). For more information see: http://www.library.illinois.edu/mux/about/policies/lending.html

Loanable technology items vary in their loan periods. Some are in-building use only for two hours, and some can be kept for up to one week. Check the availability and loan periods specific items here: http://www.library.illinois.edu/ugl/mc.html.

Can I request or recall an item that is checked out?

Items can only be recalled from another borrower if there are no other available copies anywhere in the I-Share online catalog. Make sure to check the I-Share catalog before attempting to recall an item.

While borrowers cannot initiate recalls online, they may request to have a University of Illinois item recalled from another borrower by visiting Central Access Services, or contacting them at circlib@library.illinois.edu or at 217-333-8400.

What are the borrowing privileges/polices for non-affiliated patrons

See http://www.library.illinois.edu/circ/services/courtesycards.html

How can I find an E-Book in the Library?

Easy Search, available on the library home page, provides the most current listing of e-books held by the Library. Easy Search includes the library catalog, as well as direct searching of the content of e-books from our most popular e-book providers.  

For more information see: http://uiuc.libguides.com/ebook

I am a distance learner. How do I request books?

Distance Learners must use the Catalog to request books.  Follow the normal procedure for requesting books, and in the final screen, enter "Academic Outreach" in the comments box and add your course number (e.g. LIS 458).
Detailed instructions with screen shots can be found here: Distance Learners LibGuide


Oak Street Answers

Why is the journal/book I need located at/being moved to Oak St.?

Materials are selected to be shelved at Oak St. based on criteria developed by subject bibliographers in the Library, often in consultation with teaching faculty. While criteria may vary somewhat by discipline, the most common criteria are low use (based on last date of circulation), the availability of electronic equivalents, and the existence of duplicate copies elsewhere on campus. Often a combination of criteria is used.

For more information see: Oak Street High Density Storage - Information for the Public

How do I know if an item is shelved at Oak St.?

In the catalog record, the location will read: Location: Oak Street Facility [request only]

Oak St. Catalog example

How long does my request take?

Requested books are retrieved within 24 hours.  The Library's Shipping Department then delivers books that have a departmental library or Main Library location designated as the pick-up point within 2 business days of a request being placed.

For more information see: Oak Street High Density Storage - Information for the Public

Can I visit the Oak St. facility, or browse the collections there?

Due to the nature of the high-density storage facility, patrons may not visit Oak Street to browse the collections or request materials in person.  Rather, materials must be requested through the online catalog. 

How do I request an item from Oak St.?

How to request an item from Oak St.