If you have personal files that you want to save on the Library IT fileserver, store them on your H drive (home directory).
If you have files that need to be shared by multiple people, store them in a folder on the G drive (group directories).
The H drive and the G drive are "network drives".
Files saved to the H and G drives are backed up every night by Library IT. Files saved to C drive on your computer are NOT backed up every night and are vulnerable to loss if your computer crashes.
To view the contents of your H drive or your G drive folders click the "Computer" icon on your computer's desktop. All the network drives to which you have access appear in the "Network Drives" section of this page. Click the icon for the drive you want to view.
If your drive does not show up or you're accessing it from a different computer that does not automatically map the drive, you can always add the drive yourself. You will have to go through this process for each drive you wish to map.
When you leave your job at the Library, your access to your H drive and your G drive folders will be removed. The files on your H drive will be deleted. Be sure to transfer any H drive files you don't want to lose to a flash drive, or some other form of removable media, before you leave the Library.