Periodically creating backups for important files will help you avoid accidentally losing important data when things go wrong. Additionally, you should backup files and bookmarks before transferring to a different workstation, or if your workstation is being replaced. Your files and settings do not transfer automatically from computer to computer, so creating backups will help save your data and transfer it to another computer. This page includes instructions on backing up your computer files, there is also another page with instructions on how to backup your desktop and Outlook settings.
First, back up the bookmarks for whichever browser(s) you use:
Click on the Start menu , and then Run.... Copy and paste this file path into the Run window: \\libsys5\software\Backup Scripts\Backup.bat .
Click OK, and a command prompt window will open. The prompt will ask you to close all applications. Once everything is closed, press any key, and the backup script will run.
Once the script finished, the command prompt window will read "Backups have been completed". You can press any key to end the script and close the window.
Next, be sure that any files you wish to save (from the desktop, C:\ drive folders, etc) are copied into your H:\ drive or Box. Any files that are not in your H drive, a G drive, or Box will be erased during a re-imaging or hard drive replacement process and will not remain with you if you move to a different workstation. The Help Desk suggests that you create a folder on your H drive or in Box specifically for backed up files. There are multiple ways you can copy your files:
Please take this chance to note any programs you use outside of internet browsers, Microsoft Office, Voyager, Adobe Reader and OCLC. We will need this information to manually reinstall specialty software upon rebuild.
The standard software applications that will be installed on all staff workstations include:
If you use any other software for work that is not in this list, please let us know as we prepare the computer.
An IT staff member will restore Voyager and OCLC settings to your machine.
Please follow these instructions to restore your browser bookmarks:
Any previously saved connections to network drives (H drive, G drive, Cooper) may not transfer to a new or rebuilt machine. You can map the network drives to the new machine by following these instructions to map G or H drives.
Retrieve your copies from your H drive or Box and copy them back to your hard drive. Or, continue using the H drive or Box as the main drive for your files. The H drive is backed up regularly by IT, and Box is regularly backed up independently, so if anything goes wrong, your files will remain intact.