ADV 483 (Clifton, Nelson)

Audience Analysis Resources

Remember to bring your I-Card when requesting these resources!

 

1. Advertising Rates and Data:

(sources are located behind the Circulation Desk)

SRDS TV & Cable Media

• Provides affiliations and coverage for: commercial stations, broadcast networks, multiple station owners, cable systems, interconnects, cable networks, sports networks, and syndicators. Includes cost per point estimates.

SRDS Radio Media

• Provides: market profiles, AM/FM commercial stations, networks. Includes cost per point estimates.

SRDS Newspaper Media

• Provides information on daily newspapers, newspaper groups, Black newspapers, college newspapers, and specialized newspapers. Lists detailed group and classified advertising rates as well as circulation figures.

SRDS Consumer Magazine Media

• Provides information on over 3,000 U.S. and international consumer magazines.  Lists detailed group and classified  advertising rates as well as circulation figures.

SRDS Out of Home Media

• Includes coverage, circulation, rates, terms and conditions, and advertising rates for over 19 media categories including: airport, outdoor, stadium, transit, movie, and shopping malls.

SRDS Digital Websites

• Lists Online advertising opportunities such as web sites. Get up-to date information on audience profiles, advertising rates, circulation/coverage, contact names and more.

Marketer’s Guide to Media

• Lists current rates and audience estimates for the major media. Includes broadcast and cable television, radio, out-of-home, magazines, newspapers, and online media.

 

2. Demographic Information:

(sources are located on the Adv. Bookcase)

SRDS Local Market Audience Analyst

• Breaks down the American population geographically and demographically and includes extensive lifestyle information on the interests, hobbies, and activities popular in each geographic and demographic market.

New Strategist Books

• The Communications Library has a collection of over 50 books focusing on specific demographic groups (ethnicity, age, gender) and their interests, income, spending patterns, education levels, etc.

SimplyAnalytics (SimplyMap)

• Includes demographic and marketing data on consumers and products.

Vital Statistics of the United States

• Births, life expectancy, deaths, and selected health data.

 

3. Company/Product Information:

(sources available via the Library website)

Advertising Age

• Includes information specific to the advertising industry.

Wall Street Journal

• Provides the most recent business news and information on companies, products, consumers, trends, etc.

Nexis Uni

• Provides the most recent news stories (including business) and statistics on companies, products, consumers, trends, etc.