The School Collection: Children's Literature at the Education and Social Science Library
The School Collection: Children's Literature at the Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library

Databases & Scholarly Articles

These databases can be used to locate scholarly articles and book reviews for children's literature:

This page presents brief tips and suggested search strategies for these databases. If you need further assistance using these or any other library resources, please stop by the reference desk in the main room of the Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library (SSHEL) or Ask-A-Librarian!

Children's Literature Comprehensive Database

The Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD) offers a wide range of information on children's literature titles. It is a good place to look to find more information about a specific title, or to find books based on the genre, reading level, age range, awards won, and additional categories.

The CLCD includes the following information about children's books:

  • author, title, and publisher
  • subjects
  • reading level and age range
  • reviews
  • awards, prizes, and best book lists

To learn more about specific search/display procedures, visit their Search/Display Procedures guide.

Children's Picture Book Database

The Children's Picture Book Database at Miami University is a bibliography for designing literature-based thematic units searchable by topics, concepts and skills. Includes 5,000 picture books for children, preschool to grade three.

Database of Award Winning Children's Books

This database of award-winning children's literature can be searched by a number of useful categories, such as the gender of the protagonist, the age of the reader, and the book's setting or genre.

Library Literature and Information Science Full Text

Another useful database for gathering research is Library Literature and Information Science Full Text. As with any database, the key is finding the right terms for the topic you have selected. This database uses "Children's Literature" and "Young Adult Literature" as subjects.

  • To combine multiple terms in Library Literature and Information Science Full Text, use multiple search boxes. For example, if you wanted to search for articles about multiculturalism in children's literature, type "children's literature" as a subject in the first search box and "multiculturalism" as a subject in the second. When you hit Search, Library Lit will search for articles that include both terms.
  • An advantage of Library Lit is that many articles are available in full-text by clicking on one of the icons below the citation. Users can also print, email or save articles by adding articles to a folder (icon underneath a citation), viewing the folder contents (right side of the screen), selecting articles, and then clicking print, email, or save (right side of the screen). Itís also possible to export article citations in a folder to RefWorks.

ERIC

ERIC is an electronic database for articles and documents in education. It includes many citations for articles about children's and young adult literature. Here are some tips to get you started.

  • To combine multiple terms in one search, you can do an Advanced Search. To do this enter each term in a separate row. This will combine all of the terms using "AND". So you can search "Childrens Literature" AND "Disabilities" to find children's literature on disabilities. Note that ERIC uses the term "Childrens Literature" without an apostrophe. You will get very few results if you include the apostrophe.
  • When you are doing a search, Descriptors are subject words attached to each article. These terms are created using a controlled vocabulary: ERIC's thesaurus. When you search Keywords, you are searching the Title, Abstract, Descriptor, and Identifier fields. Identifiers are additional subject words attached to each article, but unlike the Descriptors they do not come from a controlled vocabulary. They often include abbreviations and acronyms.
  • To view only peer-reviewed results, once you have done a search choose the Peer-Reviewed Journals tab.
  • To read an abstract for a particular article, click on the article's title. To check if the UIUC Library owns the item, click on the blue Discover UIUC Full Text Linking button. Very few articles are available in full-text through the ERIC database so you will have to use the Discover button in most cases.
  • To export or save citations, select the boxes next to the articles and select Save, Print, Email or Refworks under the tabs for publication type.
  • To access ERIC's Thesaurus, click on the Search Tools tab and then the Thesaurus tab. The Thesaurus helps users match the term they enter to the term that ERIC uses. For example, if you type "Literature" into the thesaurus search box and click on Search, and then the term Literature, ERIC will return a list of related terms. This allows the user to choose the best match. In this instance, the best match for "Literature" would be "Childrens Literature" or "Adolescent Literature". Return to the Advanced Search page, and use these terms in your search.
  • Note that there are two types of documents cited in the ERIC database - journal articles and ERIC documents. Journal articles are identified by an accession number (AN) that begins with EJ. These are articles published in scholarly or professional journals. ERIC documents are identified by an ED accession number. ERIC documents are generally unpublished reports/speeches/conference proceedings/projects that have been collected by ERIC. Many ERIC documents are available electronically - if this is the case, there will be a full text link under the citation. ERIC documents that are not available electronically are available on microfiche in the Education Library. To access a microfiche, write down the six digit accession number (e.g. ED346354).

Education Full Text

Like ERIC, this database indexes many leading journals in education. Although it is not quite as comprehensive as ERIC, the content is more up-to-date, and many articles are available in full-text. Helpful database subject headings for conducting your search include

  • Children's literature
  • Picture books for children
  • Young adults' literature

Please note you can search Education Full Text, Library Literature, and ERIC at the same time in EBSCOhost. Click on Choose Databases above the search boxes and select the databases that are relevant to your research.

NoveList

NoveList includes reading lists, articles, and book and author information for a broad range of fiction, including children's and young adult. Book records include full-text reviews for adult, young adult, children's and easy fiction titles from several journals, including: Booklist, School Library Journal, Library Journal and Publishers Weekly. Search limiters allow you to find titles and authors for particular reading levels and lexile ratings.

The Features for Teachers section (accessed via the title bar under the NoveList logo) is a portal to NoveList's children's and YA literature content for educators. Included are book talks, class activities, picture book extenders, and standards-based thematic units.


There are many other databases that may provide useful materials for your research. For further assistance or suggestions on alternative places to look, ask at the reference desk!

Return to Top


S-Collection Home

Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library Home


University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library
Comments/Questions?
Last updated: Monday, 24-Jun-2013 16:01:23 CDT /pdc