The School Collection: Children's Literature at the Education and Social Science Library
The School Collection: Children's Literature at the Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library

Anthropomorphic Animal Fantasy Guide

These are stories of quests, battles, cultures, and journeys with animals as their protagonists. The animals have anthropomorphic (human-type) relationships, dilemmas, and thoughts. Very few of these stories involve humans and in those that do, the animals remain the central characters.

Most books are located in the School (S-) Collection (Room 112, Main Library) of the Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library. However, books may also be located at the Center for Children's Books and older books may be located in the Rare Book and Manuscript Library (Room 346, Main Library) or in the Oak Street Facility. To verify the location of an item, please search for the book in the Online Library Catalog. If you require assistance locating an item, please ask for assistance at the SSHEL Information Services Desk.

Series: The Poppy Stories

Avi. Poppy. 1995.
Poppy and her boyfriend Ragweed are mice of Dimwood Forest, bullied and controlled by the cruel owl Mr. Ocax. After Ragweed's tragic death, Poppy begins to fight back against the owl's control and discovers new hope for her family and herself.


S. Av52ra
Ragweed. 1999.

Sequels (Dimwood Forest):

S. Av71por
Poppy and Rye. 1998.

S. Av51er
Ereth's Birthday. 2000.

S. Av51pop
Poppy’s Return. 2005.

Series: Eaglesmount Trilogy

S. B1932s
Baldry, Cherith. The Silver Horn. 2002.
Vair, a young pine marten, is excited to be attending his first challenge at the fair. But when his father is killed and he is taken captive by thieves, Vair must fight to regain his freedom and save Watersmeet.


S. B1932e
The Emerald Throne. 2003.

S. B193l
The Lake of Darkness. 2004.

Series: The Named

Bell, Clare. Ratha's Creature. 1983.
The Named, forerunners of the sabertooth, have an extensive culture and society. However, their primitive foes, the Un-Named, are slowly destroying them. When Ratha discovers the power of fire, both tragedy and a new hope result.


S. B4135C
Clan Ground. 1984.

S. B4135RT
Ratha and the Thistle-Chaser. 1990.

S. B4135RC
Ratha's Challenge. 1994.

Return to Top

Series: Hermux Tantamoq Adventures

S. H672t
Hoeye, Michael. Time Stops for No Mouse. 2002.
Hermux Tantamoq is a watchmaker; a quiet mouse who appreciates the simple things of life. But when he meets Ms. Linka Perflinger, adventuress and aviatrix, he is suddenly caught up in dangerous adventures.

Sequels :

PZ7 .H67I48 San 2002
Sands of Time. 2002.

S. H672n
No Time Like Show Time. 2004.

S. H672ti
Time to Smell the Roses. 2007.

Series: Warriors

S. H9169w
Hunter, Erin. Into the Wild. 2003.
Four clans of wild cats have lived in the forest for generations. But now a mysterious danger is destroying ThunderClan. Rusty, an ordinary house cat, saves the clan and becomes Fireheart.


Not available at UIUC
Fire and Ice. 2003.

S. H916fo
Forest of Secrets. 2003.

S. H916w
Rising Storm. 2004.

S. H916d
A Dangerous Path. 2004.

S. H916da
The Darkest Hour. 2004.

Miscellaneous Warriors Books:

Erin Hunter is a pseudonym used by multiple authors. There are over 10 other Warriors series, such as "Warriors: The New Prophecy". For a listing of series and the order of series books please see Fantastic Fiction. Search the library catalog to determine which of these titles are available through UIUC.

Series: Redwall

The following is the order in which the books were published. It is recommended that you read the books in this order. There is also a chronological list of the series.

S. J164R
Jacques, Brian. Redwall. 1986.
Matthias the mouse is the least of the novices at the great Redwall Abbey. But when the evil rat Cluny and his horde attack, Matthias' dreams of becoming a warrior become a reality. Each of the stories in this series tells of the history of a place or event; Salamandastron, home of the badger lords and the fighting hares of the Long Patrol, the building of Redwall Abbey after the evil wildcats of Mossflower are destroyed, or the history of Redwall's patron, Martin the Warrior.

Prequels and Sequels:

S. J164MO
Mossflower. 1988.

S. J164MAT 1990
Mattimeo. 1990.

S. J164M
Mariel of Redwall. 1992.

S. J164S
Salamandastron. 1993.

S. J164MA 1994
Martin the Warrior. 1994.

S. J164B1995
Bellmaker. 1995.

S. J164O
Outcast of Redwall. 1996.

S. J164p
Pearls of Lutra. 1997.

S. J164l
Long Patrol. 1998.

PZ27.J15317 Mare 1998
Marlfox. 1998.

823 J164l2000
PR6060.A36 L34 2000
Legend of Luke. 2000.

S. J164lo 2000
Lord Brocktree. 2000.

S. J164t2001
Taggerung. 2001.

S. J164tr
Triss. 2002.

S. J164loa
Loamhedge. 2003.

S. J164r
Rakkety Tam. 2004.

S. J164h
High Rhulain. 2005.

S. J164e
Eulalia!. 2007.

S. J164d
Doomwyte. 2008.

S. J164sa
Sable Quean. 2010.

S. J164ro
The Rogue Crew. 2011.

Return to Top

Series: Deptford Mice

S. J298d
Jarvis, Robin. Dark Portal. 2000.
The Deptford mice lead a quiet and peaceful life, except for the dark shadow of the Grill, the only thing separating them from the horrible sewer rats. Only with the help of the mystical bats will the mice be able to survive the evil of the rats and the secret horror of their god, Jupiter.

Prequel (Deptford Histories):

S. J298a
The Alchemist's Cat. 2004.

S. J298o
The Oaken Throne. 2005.

Series: Mistmantle Chronicles

S. M117u
McAllister, M. I. Urchin of the Riding Stars. 2005.
Urchin, an orphan squirrel, is raised by a kindly squirrel on the island of Mistmantle. Just when he thinks he will be spending the rest of his life unloading ships as one of the king’s work parties, he is given a wonderful opportunity. But on the first day of his new life, a terrible thing happens and Urchin finds himself the center of a dangerous plot.


S. M117u
Urchin and the Heartstone. 2006.

S. M117h
The Heir of Mistmantle. 2007.

S. M117urw
Urchin and the Raven War. 2008.

Series: Silverwing

S. Op5s
Oppel, Kenneth. Silverwing. 1997.
Shade is the runt of his Silverwing bat colony but he is determined to prove himself on the journey to Hibernaculum. When he is separated from the other bats, he must complete the long and dangerous journey alone.


S. Op5su
Sunwing. 2000.

S. Op5fi
Firewing. 2003.

Series: The Rescuers

S. SH228R
Sharp, Margery. The Rescuers. 1959.
The Prisoners' Aid Society has received news of a Norwegian poet, languishing in the fearsome Black Castle. Their only way to reach him is through Miss Bianca, pet of the diplomat's son. Practical Bernard makes the journey and persuades Miss Bianca to help them. Against her will, the delicate lady mouse soon becomes entangled in a world of intrigue and danger.


S. SH228MI
Miss Bianca. 1962.

S. SH228T
Turret. 1963.

S. SH228M
Miss Bianca in the Orient. 1970.

S. SH228B
Bernard the Brave : a Miss Bianca Story. 1977.

Abel's Island

S. ST33A1985
Steig, William. Abel's Island. 1985.
Abel the mouse is torn from his comfortable life and stranded on an island by a storm. As he learns to survive in the wilderness, he discovers skills he never thought he had and finally gains the courage to find his way home.

Return to Top

S-Collection Home

Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library Home

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library
Last updated: Monday, 03-Mar-2014 10:19:35 CST /pdc