Research and Publication Committee


Helping you with your research needs…

RPC Grant Program



The Library Research and Publication Committee is a standing committee of the Library Faculty established to encourage research and publication among Library Faculty and Academic Professionals by:

  • providing monetary support
  • bringing alternate sources of funding to the attention of the Library Faculty and Academic Professionals
  • stimulating interest in and discussion of research ideas and methodologies among librarians
  • providing practical criticism of and support for research projects
  • advancing Library research and publications within the University community.

The Committee reviews and approves or disapproves funding requests for student wages, graduate assistants, travel to other research collections, photocopying, manuscript preparation, data analysis, the creation of illustrations, editing for non-native English speakers, etc. The Committee sponsors occasional brown-bag series that focus on library research.

Membership Details

The Committee of five faculty members and one academic professional is appointed by the University Librarian, with the advice of the Executive Committee. The chair is appointed by the University Librarian. Committee members serve two-year staggered terms, and may be appointed to one successive term.


  • Christopher Bailey(ex officio - Visiting Information Sciences Librarian)
  • Erin Kerby, Chair(Aug 2020 - Aug 2024) Second Consecutive Term
  • Steve Witt(Aug 2021 - Aug 2023)
  • Emilee Mathews(Aug 2021 - Aug 2023)
  • Qiang Jin(Aug 2021 - Aug 2023)
  • Lisa Hinchliffee(ex officio - Coordinator for Research and Teaching Professional Development)
  • Angela Waarala(Aug 2022 - Aug 2024)

Previous Members

  • Tracy Popp(Aug 2020 - Aug 2022)
  • Antonio Sotomayor(Aug 2019 - Aug 2021)
  • Margaret (Peg) Burnette(Aug 2019 - Aug 2021)
  • Heidi Imker(ex officio - AUL for Research, Nov 2018 - Aug 2020)
  • Seth Robbins(Aug 2018 - Aug 2020)
  • Jennifer Teper(Aug 2018 - Aug 2020)
  • Merinda Kaye Hensley, Chair(Aug 2017 - Aug 2021) Served Two Consecutive Terms

Meeting Details

The RPC meets monthly throughout the academic year and all meetings are open except when we are reviewing applications. Please contact the chair if you would like to attend a meeting.