CAPT Library Emerging and Integrated Technologies Coordination (LEITC)


Affinity Groups: Web; Search, Discovery, and Delivery
Replaces: None
Responsible Library Units: No single unit in the Library has primary responsibility in this domain


LEITC is accountable for:

  • Providing a cohesive strategy for advanced technology support in the Library;
  • Building on core technologies and leveraging campus and Library advanced technologies currently available and in development;
  • Aligning advanced technology support operations to improve user experience;
  • Facilitating advancement of shared campus and Library advanced technology initiatives;
  • Serving as the Library’s primary point of contact for campus initiatives to advanced technologies, including Data Science Initiative, NCSA and Cline Center for Democracy, and the Siebel Center for Design (SC4D);
  • Coordinating communication and engagement opportunities with Library faculty and staff, affiliates and related committees.


  • The Library Emerging and Integrated Technologies Committee (LEITC):
    • Meets an identified need in the Library for better coordination of advanced technologies;
    • Serves as primary contact point for the SC4D and other campus advanced technology initiatives;
    • Assists with the design and specification of advanced technology spaces and services;
    • Identifies and evaluates trends in emerging and advanced technology hardware and software;
    • Develops and maintains a technology expertise referral network in combination with existing Library and campus referral systems;
    • Focuses on coordinating Library advanced technology efforts: implements and/or improves request management processes, delivers a cohesive and usable service catalogue, and champions campus engagement practices.
    • Serves as a resource available for use as needed by research support teams charged with supporting and partnering with individual researchers and research groups in their research activities related to scholarship and its resulting output;
    • Coordinates communication to Library faculty and staff, affiliates and related committees, regarding LEIT Program service information and availability, events, training and engagement opportunities, etc.;
    • Coordinates outreach, promotion and social media presence related to Library advanced technology offerings;
    • Focuses on a concise web presence and strengthened consultation process, providing users a simple and efficient guide to what services are offered and available.
  • Partnerships
    • LEITC core contributing groups include Media Commons (MC), Scholarly Commons (SC), IDEA Lab, Library IT, and Scholarly Communications and Publishing (SCP)
    • LEITC liaison members include Research Information Services (RIS), Research Data Service (RDS), Media Preservation, Ideation/Prototyping, and the Library Director of Communications

Membership Details

Initially chaired by the lead of the Research Technologies Coordination Working Group. Initial rotation after 1-2 years. 8 members, including:


  • Eric Kurt, Chair(Aug 2017 - Aug 2023)
    Media Commons Coordinator
  • Alex Cabada(May 2019 - Aug 2023)
    Asst. Professor
  • Tracy Tolliver(Aug 2022 - Aug 2024)
    Director, Library IT
  • Neil Feuerhelm(Aug 2022 - Aug 2024)
    Senior Technology Specialist
  • Jake Metz(Aug 2022 - Aug 2024)
    Technology Media Specialist
  • Stuart Turner(Aug 2022 - Aug 2024)
    Coordinator, IDEA Lab
  • Celenia Graves(Aug 2022 - Aug 2024)
    Visiting Professor
  • Siobhan McKissic(Aug 2022 - Aug 2024)
    Visiting Associate Professor
  • Chris Prom(Aug 2022 - Aug 2024)
    Associate Dean

CAPT Library Emerging and Integrated Technologies Coordination (LEITC) Reports to:

Previous Members

  • Megan Ozeran(May 2019 - Aug 2023)
    Vst. Asst. Professor
  • Heather Murphy(Mar 2018 - Aug 2023)
    Chief Communications Officer, *as needed * {Also: Web work group}
  • David Ward(Mar 2018 - Aug 2023)
    Head, Undergraduate Library
  • James Whitacre(Aug 2017 - Feb 2018)
  • Jim Hahn(Aug 2017 - Feb 2018)
  • Harriett Green(Aug 2017 - Oct 2020)
    Head, Scholarly Communication & Publishing {Also: Repositories, Preservation, and Access work group}
  • Jim Dohle, Chair(Aug 2017 - Aug 2021)
    Director, Library IT Production Services
  • Bill Mischo(Aug 2017 - Aug 2023)
    Head, Grainger Engineering Library {Also: chair, Search, Discovery, and Delivery work group, Web work group}}
  • Karen Hogenboom(Aug 2017 - Aug 2023)
    Head, Scholarly Commons
  • Sara Holder(Aug 2017 - Aug 2023)
    Head, Research & Information Services