General Information about Federal Employment
Office of Personnel Management
The OPM is the human resource department for the Federal Government. It maintains the central database for federal employment (USA JOBS) and sets hiring and salary requirements.
USAJOBS homepage
USAJOBS is the official job database of the Federal Government. It also contains information about federal employment, Veterans’ preferences, and the Presidential Management Internship Program.
Private Sites on Federal Employment
GovJobs.com
GovJobs.com provides listings for “private and public sector employment opportunities for top level Commercial Aerospace, US Federal, State and City Government/Public Works, US Defense and US Military branches and agencies”.
Washington Post’s Jobs Page
“This WashingtonJobs.com report includes advice on how to get a government job, thousands of job opportunities, key career profiles and listings of weekly networking events.”
Roll Call’s Jobs Section
Roll Call is a bi-weekly newspaper published in Washington DC. It is the best source for securing employment on Capitol Hill.
Legislative Branch
Federal Communications Committee
The FCC is charged with establishing policies to govern interstate and international communications by radio, television, wire, satellite, and cable.
General Employment Postings
FCC Internship Program
Government Accountability Office
The General Accounting Office is the investigative arm of Congress. Its major divisions are Accounting and Information Management, General Government, Health. Education and Human Services, National Security and International Affairs, Resources, Community, and Economic Development, Office of the General Counsel, and Office of Special Investigations.
Open Positions at GAO
Explore Career Paths at GAO
Government Printing Office
The Government Printing Office (GPO) in Washington, D.C., is the largest general printing plant in the world. GPO employs approximately 3,500 persons with about half of them in the graphics arts and related blue collar occupations. The remainder of their workforce consists of professional, administrative, technical, and clerical employees.
Current job openings at the Government Printing Office
Application forms and general information
House of Representatives
The House of Representatives is one of the two law making bodies of the Legislative Branch. Members are elected for two year terms.
U.S. House Employment Opportunities
Library of Congress
The Library’s mission is to make its resources available and useful to the Congress and the American people and to sustain and preserve a universal collection of knowledge.
Current Openings at the Library of Congress Congressional Research Service
CRS provides specialized and nonpartisan research and analysis to members and Committees of the U.S. Congress.
Executive Branch
Department of Agriculture
The USDA administers the Food Stamp, School Lunch, School Breakfast, and the WIC Programs, safeguards meat, poultry, and egg products, and coordinates research and economic activity within the field of agriculture.
Agricultural Research Service
The Agricultural Research Service (ARS), one of the Research, Education and Economics (REE) agencies, is the main in-house research arm of the United States Department of Agriculture.
Agricultural Marketing Service
“The Agricultural Marketing Service includes six commodity divisions–Cotton, Dairy, Fruit and Vegetable, Livestock and Seed, Poultry, and Tobacco. The divisions employ specialists who provide standardization, grading and market news services for those commodities.”
National Agricultural Statistics Program
The National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS) is the statistical and data collection arm of the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA).
USDA Economic Research Service
“The Economic Research Service (ERS) is the economic research agency of the U.S. Department of Agriculture. ERS functions include research, staff analysis, and development of economic and statistical indicators in four areas–commercial agriculture, food and consumer economics, natural resources and environment, and rural economy.”
Department of Commerce
“The Department of Commerce promotes job creation, economic growth, sustainable development and improved living standards for all Americans by working in partnership with business, universities, communities and workers.”
U.S. Census Bureau
The Census Bureau collects and provides data about the people and economy of the United States.
U.S. Patent and Trademark Office
The USPTO administers the laws relating to patents and trademarks, advises the Secretary of Commerce, the President of the United States, and the administration on patent, trademark, and copyright protection, and advises the Secretary of Commerce, the President of the United States, and the Administration on the trade-related aspects of intellectual property.
Bureau of Economic Analysis
“The BEA accounts present basic information on such key issues as U.S. economic growth, regional economic development, and the Nation’s position in the world economy.”
International Trade Administration
The ITA assists U.S. businesses to participate fully in the growing global marketplace.
Department of Defense
The DOD is responsible for the formulation of general defense policy and policy related to all matters of direct concern to the United States.
Civilian Employment at the Department of Defense (Human Resources Directorate)
Job Opportunities
United States Army Recruiting
The Army furnishes the majority of the ground forces in the U.S. military organization.
United States Navy Recruiting
The Navy is a major branch of the United States armed forces charged with the defense of the nation at sea.
United States Air Force Recruiting
The Air Force’s primary responsibility is preparing for air warfare, air defense, and the development of military space research.
United States Marine Corps
The USMC is a separate military service within the U.S. Department of the Navy, charged with the provision of marine troops for seizure and defense of advanced bases and with conducting operations on land and in the air incident to naval campaigns.
Department of Education
The U.S. Department of Education supports states, local communities, and higher education institutions to improve education nationwide.
General Department of Education jobs
Department of Energy
The Department of Energy is a leading science and technology agency whose research supports energy security, national security, and environmental quality.
U.S. Energy Information Agency
This agency provides statistical data regarding the Energy market. It produces policy-independent data, forecasts, and analyses to promote policy making, markets, and public understanding regarding energy and its interaction with the economy and the environment.
Department of Health and Human Services
The Department of Health and Human Services is the United States government’s principal agency for protecting the health of all Americans and providing essential human services.
Employment Opportunities at HHS
Indian Health Service Listings
The Indian Health Service (IHS) is responsible for providing federal health services to American Indians and Alaska Natives.
National Institute for Health
The NIH is is one of the world’s foremost biomedical research centers, and the Federal focal point for biomedical research in the U.S.
National Library of Medicine
The NLM is world’s largest biomedical library and creator of the MEDLINE database
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
The CDC’s mission is to promote health and quality of life by preventing and controlling disease, injury, and disability.
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration
SAMHSA is the Federal agency charged with improving the quality and availability of prevention, treatment, and rehabilitation services in order to reduce illness, death, disability, and cost to society resulting from substance abuse and mental illnesses.
Department of Housing and Urban Development
The Department of Housing and Urban Development is the Federal agency responsible for national policy and programs that address America’s housing needs, that improve and develop the Nation’s communities, and enforce fair housing laws.
Department of the Interior
The U.S. Department of the Interior has responsibility for most of our nationally owned public lands and natural resources.
U.S. Geological Survey
The USGS serves the Nation by providing reliable scientific information to describe and understand the Earth, minimize loss of life and property from natural disasters, and manage water, biological, energy, and mineral resources.
U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service
The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service is the principal Federal agency responsible for conserving, protecting and enhancing fish, wildlife and plants and their habitats.
National Park Service
The National Park Service has many professional, volunteer, and trade opportunities across the country. From parks to regional offices, the Park service employs over 20,000 individuals (permanent/temp) and receives additional support from 90,000 volunteers.
Department of Justice
The DOJ is responsible for the majority of federal law enforcement and judicial activity.
General DOJ Employment Information
Federal Bureau of Investigation
The FBI is the principal investigative arm of the United States Department of Justice.
Federal Bureau of Prisons
The Bureau was established to provide more progressive and humane care for Federal inmates, to professionalize the prison service, and to ensure consistent and centralized administration of the Federal Prison System.
Drug Enforcement Agency
The DEA’s mission is to enforce the controlled substances laws and regulations of the United States and bring to the criminal and civil justice system of the United States.
Department of Labor
The Department of Labor ensures workers’ rights, inspects work sites, shields workers from employment discrimination, administers unemployment insurance programs, collects and analyzes economic data; protects pension benefits and enforces workers’ compensation and wage standards.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) is the principal fact-finding agency for the Federal Government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics.
Department of State
The State Department is an executive branch department that is responsible for the nation’s diplomacy
Careers at the State Department
U.S. Agency for International Development
The U.S. Agency for International Development is the U.S. federal government agency that implements America’s foreign economic and humanitarian assistance programs.
Department of Treasury
The Treasury Department is responsible for the management of Federal finances; the collection on taxes, duties and monies paid to and due to the United States and paying all bills of the United States.
Internal Revenue Service
The IRS is the Federal agency in charge of organizing and collection federal income tax.
Department of Transportation
The DOT is responsible for maintaining safety standards and developing a more efficient transportation system.
Federal Highway Administration
The FHWA provides technical expertise to its partners and customers in areas such as roadway and bridge design, construction, and maintenance Value engineering and other project and program evaluation tools Policy and planning, and highway safety.
Federal Aviation Administration
The FAA is a regulatory Federal agency responsible for maintaining safe, secure, and efficient airways.
Department of Veteran Affairs
The DVA is a Federal department which aims to administer the laws providing benefits and other services to veterans and their dependents and the beneficiaries of veterans.
Central Intelligence Agency
The CIA provides foreign intelligence related to national security; and conducts counterintelligence activities, special activities, and other functions related to foreign intelligence and national security.
Environmental Protection Agency
The United States Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) provides leadership in the nation’s environmental science, research, education and assessment efforts; makes sound regulatory and program decisions; and carries out effective programs and policies to improve the global environment.
General listing for employment at the EPA
Federal Reserve Board
The Federal Reserve Board is the central bank of the United States. The Board recruits professionals in economics, finance, law, computer science, and other fields.
Main employment page
Summer Internships
National Aeronautics and Space Administration
NASA is an independent government agency devoted to space exploration as well as research and analysis in science and technology.
National Science Foundation
The National Science Foundation is an independent U.S. government agency responsible for promoting science and engineering through programs that invest over $3.3 billion per year in almost 20,000 research and education projects in science and engineering.
U.S. Postal Service
The USPS in an independent government agency that is responsible for the organization and the delivery of the nation’s mail.
Securities and Exchange Commission
The U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) protects investors and maintains the integrity of the securities markets.
Social Security Administration
The SSA provides economic assistance to the elderly and others in financial need through Social Security, Medicare, and Medicaid.
Judicial Branch
Administrative Office of the Federal Courts
The Administrative Office is responsible for the bureaucratic demands of the U.S. Federal Court System. It also provides research and analysis on the judicial system.
Employment opportunities at the Administrative Office of the Federal Courts