General Resources
The National Arbor Day Foundation
This is the official website for Arbor Day, and includes information on tree varieties and facts, Arbor Day facts and information, programs and how-you-can-help information, current events, and multiple resource links. A highlight of the site is the Tree Guide.
Arbor and Bird Day
The Library of Congress’s General Collection includes numerous works reflecting the movement to inculcate conservation awareness in a broad spectrum of the public, especially school children, through statewide observances of Arbor Day (beginning in 1872) and its companion holiday, Bird Day (beginning in 1894). Contained here is a bibliographic list of resources by Library of Congress call number.
The First Arbor Day
Join the Library of Congress as they explore the first Arbor Day. This site features links to other information sources and archived photos of Arbor Day posters.
Tree Resources
American Forests
American Forests is the nation’s oldest nonprofit citizens conservation organization, founded in 1875. The group helped create the conservation movement in the United States, and the National Park and National Forest systems. American Forests also pioneered sustainable forestry and urban forestry. And today, they are in the midst of one of the largest ecosystem restoration programs ever . . . to plant 20 million trees for the new millennium.
Alliance for Community Trees
The Alliance for Community Trees is an organization that supports education, projects, and groups related to urban and community forestry. We seek to establish sustainable urban forests for all communities. Explore this site to find out more!
National Association of State Foresters
The National Association of State Foresters is a non-profit organization that represents the directors of the State Forestry agencies from all fifty states, eight U.S. territories, and the District of Columbia. The State Foresters provide management assistance and protection services for over two-thirds of the nation’s forests.
Forest and Tree Health Fact Sheets and Publications
This web page offers numerous electronic resources regarding tree health. Documents from pest information, to birds, animals, leaf colors, and acid rain can be found here.
Plants Database
The PLANTS Database is a single source of standardized information about plants. This database focuses on vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories. The PLANTS Database includes names, checklists, automated tools, identification information, species abstracts, distributional data, crop information, plant symbols, plant growth data, plant materials information, plant links, references, and other plant information.
National Register of Big Trees
Since 1940, American Forests has documented the largest known specimens of every native and naturalized tree in the United States. We count on individuals in the public, just like you, to identify new potential National Champion Trees.
USDA Forest Service
The USDA Forest Service web site offers information on the different National Forest areas, Publications and Resources, fire information, and links to relevant sites.
Treetures
Treetures is a delightful web site geared for children. The site offers an easy way for the young and old alike to learn about trees. Included are information on trees, activities, and coloring pages.
Love-a-Tree Activities
Prairie Tree Companion
This website is through the Illinois Department of Natural Resources Urban Forestry Program, and lists general information, grant information, projects and activities for Illinois. Learn how to get involved with preserving the trees we have here in Illinois, as well as learn how to plant more.
Tree City, USA
Tree City USA, sponsored by The National Arbor Day Foundation in cooperation with the USDA Forest Service and the National Association of State Foresters, provides direction, technical assistance, public attention, and national recognition for urban and community forestry programs in thousands of towns and cities that more than 93 million Americans call home.
Tree-in-a-Box
Buy a complete tree kit! Each kit contains a biodegradable peat pot with an expandable nutrient soil pellet, seeds and a 32-page information-packed booklet inside a 2 1/2″x 2 1/2″ decorative box. As well as growing instructions, the booklet contains information about the specific tree, “Tree Facts” about the environmental benefits of trees and tree mythology.
Annie’s Card Shop
Send your friends and family a groovy Arbor Day card!
Arbor Day Crafts
This site is from EnchantedLearning.com, and the crafts projects are targeted for preschool, kindergarten and elementary school children (and college students needing a break from final projects and exams!). The crafts use materials found around the house, like egg cartons, cardboard, paper, boxes, string, crayons, paint, glue, etc.