Library Resources for Final Project Proposal
Journal & Magazine Databases
- Ethnic NewsWatch
- Academic Search Ultimate (all subject areas)
- PAIS Index (Political Science)
- America: History & Life
- Reader’s Guide Retrospective (all subject areas)
- Chicano Database
- Scholarly Article Databases: Other Subjects
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Times
- Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980
- UIUC Library Catalog (search for books)
- Encyclopedia of Latino Culture: From Calaveras to Quinceañeras (ebook)
- Notable Hispanic American Women (ebook)
- Mexicanos: A History of Mexicans in the United States (ebook)
- Queer Brown Voices: Personal Narratives of Latina/o LGBT Activism (ebook)
- Consuming Mexican Labor from the Bracero Program to NAFTA (ebook)
- Abrazando el Espirítu: Bracero Families Confront the U.S.-Mexico Border (ebook)
- Bracero Railroaders: The Forgotten World War II Story of Mexican Workers in the U.S. West (ebook)
- AP Images
- Images from the Associated Press.
- Bracero History Archive
- This archive provides oral histories and artifacts pertaining to the Bracero program, a guest worker initiative that spanned the years 1942-1964. The archive is a project of the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media, George Mason University, the Smithsonian National Museum of American History, Brown University, and The Institute of Oral History at the University of Texas at El Paso.
- A Continent Divided: The U.S.-Mexico War
- Includes primary sources from the war such as proclamations, letters, diaries, images, maps, music, and poetry. This collection is made available from the Center for Greater Southwestern Studies and the Library at the University of Texas at Arlington.
Primary Sources (Cont.)
- The Documented Border
- This archive focuses on untold and silenced stories and events about this transnational region, with the goal to advance understanding and awareness about the U.S.-Mexico borderlands and its peoples during a period of unprecedented societal change. Includes oral histories of journalists from both sides of the border, human rights activists in Mexico, and U.S. immigration policy documentation. This archive is maintained by the University of Arizona Libraries.
- Historic Mexican & Mexican American Papers
- The Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press collection documents and showcases historic Mexican and Mexican American publications published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s. The collection covers important periods in Mexican-American history, from the Mexican Revolution to the Bracero Program to the Chicano Movement. This collection is made available from the University of Arizona Libraries.
- Latino(a) Cultural Heritage Archives
- A database featuring photographs and documents assembled from twelve collections of the California State University Northridge Urban Archives of the University Library Special Collections and Archives. These materials capture the history of Latino and Chicana/o people and culture in Southern California. These collections feature the arts, labor, and immigration as important parts of the historical fabric of this community.
- LLILAS Benson Latin American Studies Digitized Collections
- The Benson Collection is a global destination for research and study, with over a million volumes as well as a wealth of original manuscripts, photographs, and various media related to Mexico, Central and South America, and the Caribbean and Latina/Latino presence in the United States. This collection is made available from the University of Texas Libraries.
- National Archives: Hispanic/Latino Heritage
- The Hispanic/Latino Heritage collection includes topics on arts, entertainment, and culture; diplomacy/foreign affairs; education and civil rights; family history research; government and politics; immigration/Hispanic society in the U.S.; labor; military and veterans; notable Hispanics in the U.S.; and women.
- Onda Latina: The Mexican American Experience
- 226 digitally preserved audio programs including interviews, music, and informational programs related to the Mexican American community and their concerns from the radio series “The Mexican American Experience” and “A esta hora conversamos,” the Longhorn Radio Network, 1976-1982. Topics covered on these programs include political activities of Mexican Americans, Mexican American folklore and folk medicine, corridos, Tejano music, Mexican American musicians, voting rights, education, health, farm workers’ unions and working conditions, and some Mexican and Central American topics. This collection is available from the University of Texas at Austin.
If you need assistance accessing materials or have questions, please email us at firstname.lastname@example.org, or use “Ask a Librarian” Chat on our website!