Library Committee Handbook

SD&T Committee

Charge and Membership

Meeting Minutes

SD&T Website


Staff Development and Training Advisory Committee


The University of Illinois Library has a responsibility to inform and train staff so they are prepared to serve the library community knowledgeably and effectively in a period of rapid technological change and organizational transition.  The Library provides training, development, and enrichment opportunities; consulting services; and access to relevant training information in a variety of formats and levels. 

The Staff Development and Training Advisory Committee advises the Library administration and the Staff Development and Training Coordinator on the planning, coordination, and evaluation of the Staff Development and Training Program.  The committee makes recommendations for the establishment of competencies and standards, identifies training needs of library staff, prioritizes those needs, and makes recommendations about how to go about meeting those needs. The committee participates in planning policy and decision-making efforts regarding the offering of these programs.  The committee reviews and makes recommendations regarding the creation, implementation and ongoing provision of a New Employee Orientation program.  The committee helps to identify, recruit, train, develop, evaluate, and maintain a pool of staff trainers, resource personnel, and facilitators.  The committee shares in accountability for performance of the training program and evaluates the performance of the training program. 


The Committee is chaired by the Staff Development and Training Coordinator.  Committee members are appointed by the University Librarian, with the advice of the Executive Committee.  The Committee normally will be composed of nine members serving two-year staggered terms, and may be reappointed for repeated terms.


*Jon Gorman (08/15/2018)
George Gottschalk, chair (08/15/2018)
*Jessica LeCrone (08/15/2018)
Rebecca McGuire (08/15/2018)
*JJ Pionke (08/15/2019)
Susan Schnuer (08/15/2019)
*Richard Stokes (08/15/2019)
Megean Osuchowski, ex officio
Cindy Ingold, ex officio 
Zoe Revell, ex officio

 *second term