January 6, 2015 Meeting of Executive Committee

Time and Location of Meeting

January 6, 20151:30 pm - 3:00 pm 323 Main Library

Agenda Details


1.                  Approve Minutes from December 10 & December 22
2.                  Question Time
3.                  Library Faculty Internal Awards
4.                  Innovation Awards
5.                  Specialized Faculty
6.                  AUL for User Services Position

Minutes Details


John Wilkin, chair; Kirstin Dougan, vice-chair; JoAnn Jacoby, secretary; Tim Cole, Lori Mestre, Bill Mischo, Sarah Williams; Recording – Kim Matherly


1.  Approve Minutes from December 10 & December 22

The December 10 minutes were approved, with changes, by a motion from JoAnn Jacoby, seconded by Jennifer Teper.

The December 22 minutes were approved, with changes, by a motion from JoAnn Jacoby, seconded by Lori Mestre.


2.  Question Time

The decision to open a new medical school or combine with the existing medical school is still in the early stages. John met with a representative to discuss Library needs and accreditation. He has not heard anything further.


3.  Library Faculty Internal Awards

EC has decided to have a hiatus on internal faculty awards, focusing instead on nominating faculty for national and international awards as encouraged by campus.


4.  Innovation Awards

EC briefly discussed the intent and purpose of these awards and agreed that innovation awards should be something we use to kick-start new initiatives.


Two innovation proposals were funded. John will meet with the two separate individuals to make a few changes to the proposals. The proposals will be posted to https://www.library.illinois.edu/staff/innovation-fund/, as soon as they are finalized.


5.  Specialized Faculty

John would like to initiate a process that begins to address the steps that would need to be taken for the Library to start using specialized faculty. He has appointed a team—Susan Avery, Tom Habing, JoAnn Jacoby, Bill Mischo, and Jen Yu—to begin looking at Communication 25 and 26 and noting the issues that need to be addressed. John will also be meeting with the Bylaws Committee to get them started on the changes that will need to be made in the bylaws to incorporate specialized faculty. He has asked the team to report back to EC in three months.


6.  AUL for User Services Position

The User Services Leadership Team—Pat Allen, Lisa Hinchliffe, JoAnn Jacoby, Lori Mestre, Bill Mischo and Cherié Weible—are working on the position request. They will meet with John on January 13 to answer some questions they have. They will then report back to EC on January 26 with a final draft.