April 6, 2021 Meeting of Mortenson Center Advisory Committee Charge and Membership

Time and Location of Meeting

April 6, 202110:00 am - 11:00 am Virtual Meeting

Agenda Details


Mortenson Center Advisory Committee Meeting
Tuesday, April 6, 2021; 10:00-11:00 am
Virtual meeting

  1. Welcome and Introductions
  2. Approval of November 13, 2020 minutes
  • Reports and Updates
    1. IMLS Grant to Develop the IDEA Institute on Artificial Intelligence <website> – update 
  1. Post-Grant Project Welcome https://publish.illinois.edu/projectwelcome/
  2. Professional Development Programs
  1. Mortenson Center Initiatives
    1. Libraries for Peace http://librariesforpeace.org/Libraries for Peace Day 2021, September 21: Theme TBA | A Decade of Action on the UN SDGs – in development
    2. “Engineering Change with Dr. Agnes Kaposi: Otherness, Exclusion, Propaganda, Dislocation” Program. Date and Time TBD.  Agnes Kaposi is author of Yellow Star-Red Star (i2i Publishing, Manchester, 2020), an autobiography written with an historian, Dr Laszlo Csosz.
    3. Community-Library Inter-Action (CLIA) http://librariesforpeace.org/clia – new website under development | Minitalks on CLIA Iberbibliotecas (in Spanish) | CLIA Colombia Universidades – partnership with the Universidad de Bogotá Jorge Tadeo Lozano Library 
  1. 31st Annual Mortenson Distinguished Lecture https://www.library.illinois.edu/mortenson/lectures/. BBC World Affairs Correspondent, Presenter and Author Mike Thomson, author Syria’s Secret Library: Reading and Redemption in a Town Under Siege (Public Affairs 2019). Date and topic TBA 
  1. 30th Anniversary Celebration (2021) – Leading change forum, Associates highlights, Engineering Change program and Mortenson Lecture.

November 13, 2020 Meeting Minutes

Mortenson Center Advisory Committee Charge and Membership

The Advisory Committee advises the Director on center policy and procedures.

The Committee of nine Faculty members, at least half of whom are drawn from the Library faculty, are appointed to the Mortenson Advisory Committee by the University Librarian, in consultation with the Executive Committee, and on the recommendation of the Director of the Mortenson Center. The appointed members serve two-year staggered terms and may be reappointed to successive terms, not to exceed four years.

* = Second Consecutive Term
Clara M. Chu, Chair
Yali Feng (Aug 2020 – Aug 2022)
Robert Geraci (Aug 2020 – Aug 2022)
Dara Goldman (Aug 2019 – Aug 2021)
Lisa Hinchliffe (Aug 2020 – Aug 2022)
Qiang Jin (Aug 2019 – Aug 2021)*
Emily Joyce Knox (Aug 2019 – Aug 2021)
Matthew Roberts (Aug 2019 – Aug 2021)
Ken E. Salo (Aug 2020 – Aug 2022)
William Schlaack (Aug 2019 – Aug 2021)*
Mara Thacker (Aug 2020 – Aug 2022)*

Minutes Details


Minutes not yet available.