A Guide to Library Resources for Political Science 381
Welcome! We are providing this site to assist you in exploring library resources on your topic. Our library is one of the largest in the United States and it can be very intimidating. We will try to make things a little easier for you, but you have to ask questions. It takes patience, curiosity, and a sense of adventure to use our resources and facilities so think of this page as a road map for your travels with us.
Use the news resources to help understand the initial reports of the conflicts you are studying. Frequently, just using the name of the country and a date range will provide you with information about the initiation of the conflict and some background regarding the issues involved. The resources that are starred indicate especially helpful tools.
- *Access World News – 1977 to present Sources include articles from Newspapers, newswires, transcripts, online news, blogs, journals, college and university newspapers, videos and newsletters. You can also use the interface to read Newsweek and some Military and Government news sources.
- Ethnic NewsWatch – 1990 to present Ethnic News Watch includes newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to often overlooked perspectives. The publications offer both national and regional coverage including full text publications for 200 newspapers and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press.
- *Keesing’s World News Archive – 1931 to present This provides a digest of the current events identified by creators of the database as “a lasting archive of original, accurate, and objective articles on the world’s political, social, and economic events.” We suggest you go to the “Advanced Search” and type in the name of at least one of the countries involved in the conflict. You can also limit by date if you know the approximate year of the initiaiion of hostilities.
- *Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe – 1980 to present for most sources Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe identifies full text publications for users wanting to search news, US and international law, company profiles and SEC filings, countries or public figures or a combination of content types.
- New York Times Historical – 1851-1993 This is the “paper of record” for the United States, but it frequently captures news from around the world. Enter the search including the country’s name and records come up in reverse order with the oldest articles first.
These resources are good for exploring the statistics on economic, social, and political trends. Most were created for the business community to help them assess the stability of regimes before investing in the individual country or region.
- CIA World Factbook – current information Provided by the U.S. government this resource provides current information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
- Europa World Plus – dates vary This resource expands upon the factual information available from the CIA World Factbook and includes a breakdown of government offices, publishers, broadcast and print media, and other details in addition to statistics on the economy.
- EIU Country Intelligence – dates vary Economic Intelligence Unit (EIU) Country Intelligence provides users with reports and analysis about political, business and economic issues by country, category and subject including risk ratings, licensing and trading information for the new economies, plus G-8 and regional forecasts. Users also have access to the Business Middle East online newsletter.
- Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe – 1980 to present for most sources Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe includes a specific section called “Research Countries” as part of the home page. Use the drop-down box to access PRS reports on individual countries or go to all of the news sources from a specific country.
- Political Handbook of the World – back to 2005 electronically and in print from 1928 (Call No. 328 P759) Lots of factual information and some analysis on a country-by-country and issues basis.
- *Historical Abstracts – 1955 to present Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present in over 40 languages with publications starting in 1955. Historical Abstracts started a project in 2006 to extend coverage through the late 1800s.
- International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) – 1951 to present IBSS provides comprehensive international coverage in 100 languages and countries identifying journal articles, books, reviews and selected chapters of works on economics, political science, sociology and anthropology.
- JSTOR – dates vary JSTOR identifies publications, research and content across disciplines. The dates of the materials found here go back to the very first publication date for any given title, but the most current articles will be no more than 3 – 5 years old due to the “moving wall” of coverage.
- PAIS (Public Affairs Information Services) – 1915 to present PAIS identifies articles, books, websites, statistics, yearbooks, directories, conference proceedings, pamphlets, reports, government documents, and microfiches on political, social, public policy issues from 1915 – present.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts – 1976 to present Worldwide Political Science Abstracts identifies citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science, international relations, law, and public administration and policy.
Other Resources for Analyzing Events
- CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online) – dates vary A rather unique full-text resource that provides information on international affairs and policy studies from sources such as books, journals, policy briefs, the working papers of research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences.
- CQ Global Researcher – 2007 to present CQ Global Researcher includes topic reports on global affairs issues from international viewpoints that users can search or browse for in order to learn more about that topic and find additional related resources. The Researcher provides pro and con arguments on a variety of topics, including international conflicts, although it is very U.S. focused. For tips on searching this resource go to http://www.cqpress.com/docs/CQGR_tip.pdf.
- Evaluate an Information Resource (Word document)
- Online Library Catalog – The online catalog is your GPS for locating book, journals, and more in the University of Illinois Library. This resource can also be used to request books from other institutions in the State of Illinois through our cooperative catalog called I-Share. You can also use this resource to discover where your class reserves sit – whether they are in electronic format or print – and to check your library account to see what you have checked out, requested, or what needs to be renewed.
- WorldCat – If you cannot find the title you are looking for in the I-Share catalog, go to WorldCat next to search for an item. This is what is called a union catalog of over 1500 libraries throughout the world and contains over 52 million records representing materials in all formats. Includes records for materials in 400 languages. If you need something you have found in this catalog you will request it through Interlibrary Loan. See more on this below.
- Interlibrary Loan/ILLiad – This is another way of obtaining the materials you need. In addition to requesting books, this is used to request articles that are not available in the University of Illinois collection. You cannot renew items you have received through ILLiad by yourself. It is necessary to call 217-333-8400. You can also call this number if you are having problems with your library card.
Guidelines for citing electronic and print resources are available from the Undergraduate Library’s Citation Styles guide and the Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library’s Style and Writing Guides.
Need help collecting and organizing your citations and producing a list of works cited? Citation management tools can help! The guide “Citation Management Software Overview” helps users choose a citation management tool and provides links to other guides on specific options like Zotero, Mendeley, and EndNote.
Ask-A-Librarian for Help with Your Research
Use our Ask-A-Librarian Service to IM, chat, email, phone or find a reference librarian.
Lynne Rudasill – firstname.lastname@example.org
Contact a librarian to request an appointment for an in-depth Research Consultation.
Finding Your Way Around
There are over 25 departmental libraries on our campus, and sometimes it may be difficult to determine where to find the resources you need. For your class, the library that you will be using most is the Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library (SSHEL). We are located in SSHEL North (Room 100) and SSHEL South (Room 101) of the Main Library building. Do no hesitate to come in and ask one of our energetic and helpful information desk assistants.