INTERNATIONAL ORGANIZATIONS AND REGIONALISM
A Guide to Library Resources for Political Science 300H
Welcome! We are providing this site to assist you in exploring library resources on your topic. Our library is one of the largest in the United States and it can be very intimidating. We will try to make things a little easier for you, but you have to ask questions. It takes patience, curiosity, and a sense of adventure to use our resources and facilities so think of this page as a road map for your travels with us.
- ABI/Inform – Identifies articles on business, finance, and management topics from regional, U.S. and international publications. Besides current information, includes archives of many important scholarly journals in business covering different aspects of business information such as scholarly research, business traditions and trends, corporate strategies, management techniques, and competitive and product information.
- Business Source Complete – Identifies scholarly information from business-related journals, books, conference proceedings and more. Non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, and SWOT (strengths, weaknesses, opportunities and threats) analyses.
- EconLit – Provides full-text access to articles in 600 journals including the American Economics Associate journals. This is one of the oldest and most essential of the databases that deal with economics.
- OECD iLibrary – The electronic library of the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development, this is a rich resource for information that includes statistics, economic surveys, reports and lots of full text material. For updated access when you get to this page, click on the link at the top of the page for the new OECD online library.
- World Bank – Information provided by this organization is very international in nature and includes the World Development Indicators (under Data), reports (under Publications), and much, much more. If you cannot access the title you want through the World Bank interface, try using the Online Research Resources or the Library Catalog to look for the title.
- CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online) – Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is designed to be the most comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991-on that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGO’s, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences.
- International Political Science Abstracts – IPSA indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world. The abstracts summarize the source articles. Coverage of the database is 1989 to the present.
- JSTOR – Includes the full-text of over 100 journals in the areas of African American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, and statistics. Most include full texts of complete journals from their inception up to a “moving wall.” The moving wall is a fixed period of time ranging, in most cases, from 2 to 5 years, that defines the gap between the most recently published issue and the date of the most recent issues available in JSTOR.
- PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service) – This is a bibliographic index with abstracts covering the full range of political, social, and public policy issues. Topics covered include economic, political, and social issues, business, finance, law, international trade and relations, public administration, government, political science, and any topics that are or might become the subject of legislation. The database covers selected journal articles, books, statistics, yearbooks, directories, conference proceedings, pamphlets, reports, government documents, and microfiche. More than 1,600 journals and over 8,000 monographs are indexed each year. Coverage includes documents published worldwide in any of six languages: English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish. The subject headings and abstracts are in English. Covers 1915-present.
- Project Muse – Picks up where JSTOR leaves off, providing the full text of publications on the “other side of the moving wall” and some unique titles as well. Subjects include psychology, mathematics, history, American studies, history and literature of medicine, black studies, literature, performing arts, human rights, religion, children’s literature, philosophy, politics, and others.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts – This database is built upon the merged backfiles of Political Science Abstracts, published by IFI / Plenum, 1975-2000, and ABC POL SCI, published by ABC-CLIO, 1984-2000. The database provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy.
- Access World News – This is a great resource for current events. In addition to indexing and providing full text for many local, regional, national, and international newspapers, you can find newswire stories, broadcast transcripts, and current issues of the New York Times, Newsweek, and more.
- Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe -A comprehensive source for news, business, and legal information, with full text and abstracts. Includes foreign news sources, major U.S. newspapers, regional U.S. news services, radio and television transcripts, federal and state case law, medical, legislative and industry news, annual reports from Securities and Exchange Commission and many other sources. Newspapers are updated several times daily, and wire services hourly. Use this site to access Congressional Universe as well.
- Mideastwire.com – Offers a daily email newsletter of concise, translated briefs covering some of the key political, cultural, economic and opinion pieces appearing via the print, radio and television media of the 22 Arab countries, Iran and the Arab Diaspora.
- Library PressDisplay – One of the most interesting newspaper resources, this provides access to a large number of titles with digital facsimiles of the page you are looking at. The database has images in most cases for the last sixty days.
- EIU – Economist Intelligence Unit– Country Intelligence supplies in-depth analysis of current political, policy and economic trends with an 18 month outlook. Quarterly and annual statistics with at least 150 data points picked from the most reliable sources and reviewed by analysts for over 195 countries. Country Intelligence contains country reports and profiles, risk ratings, licensing and trading information for the new economies, plus G-8 and regional forecasts.
- Europa World Plus – Combines the Europa World Yearbook and the Europa Regional Survey of the World in an online resource. An absolutely fantastic site for country information including current news on elections, recent events, and even allows you to compare statistics between countries of the world.
- PRS Services – This wide-ranging resource provides information concerning political and business stability in many countries.
- CIA World Factbook – Frequent updates – includes map, overview, politics, economics, population, and more. Last section for entry usually includes “transnational issues” including internal disputes.
- Evaluate an Information Resource (Word document)
- Online Library Catalog – The online catalog is your GPS for locating book, journals, and more in the University of Illinois Library. This resource can also be used to request books from other institutions in the State of Illinois through our cooperative catalog called I-Share. You can also use this resource to discover where your class reserves sit – whether they are in electronic format or print – and to check your library account to see what you have checked out, requested, or what needs to be renewed.
- WorldCat – If you cannot find the title you are looking for in the I-Share catalog, go to WorldCat next to search for an item. This is what is called a union catalog of over 1500 libraries throughout the world and contains over 52 million records representing materials in all formats. Includes records for materials in 400 languages. If you need something you have found in this catalog you will request it through Interlibrary Loan. See more on this below.
- Interlibrary Loan/ILLiad – This is another way of obtaining the materials you need. In addition to requesting books, this is used to request articles that are not available in the University of Illinois collection. You cannot renew items you have received through ILLiad by yourself. It is necessary to call 217-333-8400. You can also call this number if you are having problems with your library card.
Other Library pages that might be of use to you include – Business Information Services, Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library, International and Area Studies Library, and the History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library.
Need help collecting and organizing your citations and producing a list of works cited? Citation management tools can help! The guide “Citation Management Software Overview” helps users choose a citation management tool and provides links to other guides on specific options like Zotero, Mendeley, and EndNote.
Ask-A-Librarian for Help with Your Research
Use our Ask-A-Librarian Service to IM, chat, email, phone or find a reference librarian.
Lynne Rudasill – firstname.lastname@example.org
Contact a librarian to request an appointment for an in-depth Research Consultation.
Finding Your Way Around
There are over 25 departmental libraries on our campus, and sometimes it may be difficult to determine where to find the resources you need. For your class, the library that you will be using most is the Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library (SSHEL). We are located in SSHEL North (Room 100) and SSHEL South (Room 101) of the Main Library building. Do no hesitate to come in and ask one of our energetic and helpful information desk assistants.