Introduction to Historical Interpretation: The 1960s
A Guide to Library Resources for Hist 200 I
Cindy Ingold (firstname.lastname@example.org, SSHEL)
Beth Sheehan (email@example.com, SSHEL)
Marek Sroka (firstname.lastname@example.org, HPNL)
Welcome! This site has been created to assist you in finding and using library resources for your research on the 1960’s. Our library, one of the largest university libraries in the U.S., can be a bit overwhelming at first, but it is truly a treasure trove for scholars. All of the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Library’s resources are available to you as you do your research, so explore, have fun, and don’t hesitate to ask questions!
Reference sources, online or in print, include encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and directories. These are great starting points for background information about a specific topic.
- Encyclopedia of American Social Movements (Q. 303.4840973 En19 SSHEL)
- Encyclopedia of Social and Political Movements
- Encyclopedia of the Sixties: A Decade of Culture and Counterculture (973.9 En197 HPNL)
Scholarly journal articles are one of the primary means of communicating research ideas. They are an important component of academic research and give you some insight into ongoing debates and scholarly conversations about your topic. You can find articles through database searches.
- America: History and Life
Index to United States and Canadian history from journals, book reviews and dissertations.
- Academic Search Complete
A multidisciplinary index for both scholarly journal and magazine articles on a wide variety of topics.
- Alternative Press Index
This resource is a bibliographic database containing journal, newspaper and magazine articles from hundreds of international alternative, radical, and left periodicals.
- The Left Index (1982 to date)
A databases to the diverse literature of the left with an emphasis on politics, culture, economic and social issues.
Identifies articles in many disciplines including African American studies, anthropology, area studies, education, history, literature, political science, sociology, and many of the science fields
- GenderWatch (1974 to date)
This full text database indexes journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, pamphlets, and reports. Covers business, education, literature and the arts, health sciences, history, public policy, and contemporary culture. Has more of a U.S. focus than worldwide.
- Communication Abstracts This resource covers major journals in communication, mass media and other closely-related fields of study.
- MLA Bibliography (1920s to date)
Subject s covered in this database consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, film, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
- PAIS International (1915 to date)
Identifies articles, books, websites, statistics, yearbooks, directories, conference proceedings, pamphlets, reports, and government documents on political, social, public policy issues.
- Sociological Abstracts (1952 to date)
The preeminent database for scholarly journals in sociology. Includes thousands of journal articles plus conference papers, book reviews, and dissertations
- SocINDEX (1985 to date)
Identifies articles in all areas of sociology including anthropology, criminology, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, politics, religion, rural sociology, social psychology, and urban studies. Indexes over 620 core coverage journals dating back to 1895, over 500 priority journals as well as selective coverage for over 1,390 additional journals.
Finding Newspaper Articles
- Find Newspapers
This page serves as gateway to finding and using our rich collection of newspapers.
Library catalogs are used for two purposes. First, if you know exactly what you are looking for, for example you know the exact title or an author’s name. This works for book titles and journal titles. Second, you can use library catalogs to discover material that might be helpful to you by doing subject and keyword searching.
- Online Library Catalog – Look here to find books, DVDs, magazines or journals containing articles that you need, and many other resources. In addition to the 13 million volumes we have on this campus, you can connect to over 70 other libraries in Illinois and request that books be sent to you.When you find something you want in the catalog, write down the following:
Location – in which library the item is kept (or libraries, if we have multiple copies)
Call Number – this number is essential for finding the item on the shelf
Status – is it available for you to check out
Hint: Catalogs are used for two purposes: (1) If you know exactly what you are looking for – an exact title or author – you can use the catalog to locate your material (this works for book titles and journal titles); (2) You can also use catalogs to discover material that might be helpful to you by doing subject and keyword searching.?
- WorldCat and Interlibrary Loan – The places to verify citations for books and request books and articles you cannot find elsewhere.
These are collections of digital resources that have been vetted for quality by scholars and librarians. In general, resources you find listed in these collections should be more reliable than those you would find using an open-web search engine like Google, though of course you should examine every resource critically.
- The Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 1960 – 1974
- American Decades Primary Sources
- Vanderbilt Television News Archive
- Free Speech Movement Digital Archive
- Black Thought and Culture
- Black Studies Center
- Oxford African American Studies Center
- Women and Social Movements in the United States
These are collections of primary resources on Microfilm.
- Students for a Democratic Society papers, 1958 through 1970
Call Number: FILM 016.3781981 St94s
- American Civil Liberties Union archives, 1950-1990 Series 3
Call Number: FILM 323.0973 Am35a ser.3
- Black Panther documents
Call Number: FILM 322.420973 B561b
- The Black power movement (Part 1)
Call Number: FILM 323.1196073 B561
Continued by Part 2, Part 3, and Part 4.
- The Bayard Rustin papers
Call Number: FILM 323.1196073 R928b
- Civil rights during the Kennedy administration, 1961-1963 : a collection from the holdings of the John F. Kennedy Library, Boston, Massachusetts
Call Number: FILM 323.40973 C4992
- Records of the Southern Christian Leadership Conference, 1954-1970
Call Number: FILM 323.1196073 R245
- The Right Wing Collection of the University of Iowa Libraries
Call Number: FILM 320.52 R44
Coverage: 1918-1977. Collection of periodicals and ephemera.
Guidelines for citing electronic and print resources are available from the Undergraduate Library’s Citation Styles guide and the Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library’s Style and Writing Guides.
Need help collecting and organizing your citations and producing a list of works cited? Citation management tools can help! The guide “ Citation Management Software Overview” helps users choose a citation management tool and provides links to other guides on specific options like Zotero, Mendeley, and EndNote.
Ask-A-Librarian for Help with Your Research
Use our Ask-A-Librarian Service to IM, chat, email, phone or find a reference librarian.
Contact a librarian to request an appointment for an in-depth Research Consultation.
Finding Your Way Around
There are over 25 departmental libraries on our campus. Sources for this class will be found in the History, Philosophy, and Newspaper Library (HPNL), the Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library (SSHEL), the Undergraduate Library (UGL), and perhaps the Main Book Stacks. Do no hesitate to come in and ask one of our energetic and helpful information desk assistants.
More Help Using the Library
- How Do I…? – A series of brief tutorials about library services