INTRODUCTION TO FEMINIST THEORY / SENIOR SEMINAR
A Guide to Library Resources for Gender and Women’s Studies 350 and 498
Welcome! This site has been created to assist you in finding and using library resources for the topics you are researching in your senior seminar. Our library, one of the largest university libraries in the U.S., can be a bit overwhelming at first, but it is truly a treasure trove for scholars. All of the UIUC Library’s resources are available to you as you do your research, so explore, have fun, and don’t hesitate to ask questions!
- Women’s Studies International (1972 to date)
Provides citations to journals, books, book chapters, proceedings, NGO reports, and gray literature. Over 2,000 periodical sources are represented.
- GenderWatch (1974 to date)
This full text database indexes journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, pamphlets, and reports. Covers business, education, literature and the arts, health sciences, history, public policy, and contemporary culture. Has more of a U.S. focus than worldwide.
- LGBT Life
Includes the full text for 55 of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as more than 100 full-text monographs and books. The database includes comprehensive indexing and abstract coverage as well as a specialized LGBT Thesaurus containing over 6,400 terms.
- SocINDEX (1985 to date)
Identifies articles in all areas of sociology including anthropology, criminology, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, politics, religion, rural sociology, social psychology, and urban studies. Indexes over 620 core coverage journals dating back to 1895, over 500 priority journals as well as selective coverage for over 1,390 additional journals. Extensive indexing for books, monographs, conference papers, and other sources is included.
Identifies articles in many disciplines including African American studies, anthropology, area studies, education, history, literature, political science, sociology, and many of the science fields.
- PsycINFO (1806 to date)
PsycINFO covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas.
- Communication Abstracts (1978 to date)
Identifies publications in communications including international literature in film studies, the role of technology in human communications, crisis communication and public opinions.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete (1915 to date)
An index to communication and mass media research.
The largest education database in the world, ERIC contains over 1,000,000 citations covering research documents, journal articles, technical reports, program descriptions and evaluations, and curricular materials in the field of education.Covers 1966-present.
- Education Full Text
Indexes articles from English-language journals and yearbooks published in the U.S. and elsewhere. Full-text coverage begins in January 1996.
- America: History and Life
Index to United States and Canadian history from journals, book reviews and dissertations.
- PAIS International (1915 to date)
Identifies articles, books, websites, statistics, yearbooks, directories, conference proceedings, pamphlets, reports, and government documents on political, social, public policy issues.
- LegalTrac (1980 to date)
Identifies articles in all major law reviews, specialty law journals, and bar association journals
- Cultural Studies
A research guide to help you locate information sources related to cultural studies.
- Online Library Catalog – Look here to find books, magazines or journals containing articles that you need, DVDs, and many other resources. In addition to the 13 million volumes we have on this campus, you can connect to over 70 other libraries in Illinois and request books be sent to you.When you find something you want in the catalog, write down the following:
Location – in which library the item is kept (or libraries, if we have multiple copies)
Call Number – this number is essential for finding the item on the shelf
Status – is it available for you to check out?
Hint: Catalogs are used for two purposes: (1) If you know exactly what you are looking for – an exact title or author – you can use the catalog to locate your material (this works for book titles and journal titles); (2) You can also use catalogs to discover material that might be helpful to you by doing subject and keyword searching.
- WorldCat and Interlibrary Loan – The places to verify citations for books and request books and articles you cannot find elsewhere.
- Women’s Studies/Women’s Issues Resources — This is a selective, annotated list of resources with a particular emphasis on sites of interest for academic women’s studies issues. Maintained by Joan Korenman.
- Selected Gender and Women’s Studies Websites
Guidelines for citing electronic and print resources are available from the Undergraduate Library’s Citation Styles guide and the Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library’s Style and Writing Guides.
Need help collecting and organizing your citations and producing a list of works cited? Citation management tools can help! The guide “ Citation Management Software Overview” helps users choose a citation management tool and provides links to other guides on specific options like Zotero, Mendeley, and EndNote.
Ask-A-Librarian for Help with Your Research
Use our Ask-A-Librarian Service to IM, chat, email, phone or find a reference librarian.
Cindy Ingold, Gender and Multicultural Services Librarian
Office: Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library, 100 Main Library
Contact a librarian to request an appointment for an in-depth Research Consultation.
Finding Your Way Around
There are over 25 departmental libraries on our campus, and sometimes it may be difficult to determine where to find the resources you need. For your class, the library that you will be using most is the Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library. We are located in Room 100 of the Main Library building.