GENDER IN TRANSNATIONAL PERSPECTIVE
A Guide to Library Resources for Gender and Women’s Studies / Sociology 261 (GWS / SOC 261)
Q. 303.48203 En195
Encyclopedia of Globalization. 2007. 4 vols.
Q. 305.403 R765
Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women: Global Women’s Issues and Knowledge. 2000. 4 vols.
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Women’s Issues Worldwide. 2003. 6 vols.
305.42 Se13w 2009
The Penguin Atlas of Women in the World. 4th ed. 2009.
- GenderWatch (1974 to date)
This full text database indexes journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, pamphlets, and reports. Covers business, education, literature and the arts, health sciences, history, public policy, and contemporary culture. Has more of a U.S. focus than worldwide.
- Women’s Studies International (1972 to date)
Provides citations to journals, books, book chapters, proceedings, NGO reports, and gray literature. Over 2,000 periodical sources are represented.
- SocINDEX (1985 to date)
Identifies articles in all areas of sociology including anthropology, criminology, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, politics, religion, rural sociology, social psychology, and urban studies. Indexes over 620 core coverage journals dating back to 1895, over 500 priority journals as well as selective coverage for over 1,390 additional journals. Extensive indexing for books, monographs, conference papers, and other sources is included.
- Sociological Abstracts (1952 to date)
The preeminent database for scholarly journals in sociology. Includes thousands of journal articles plus conference papers, book reviews, and dissertations.
Identifies articles in many disciplines including African American studies, anthropology, area studies, education, history, literature, political science, sociology, and many of the science fields.
- Education Full Text (1994 to date)
Locates articles and books on education at all levels.
- Health Source (1985 to date)
Provides basic coverage of literature in journal articles, pamphlets, and health reference books. Searches three databases simultaneously: Heath Source Consumer edition; Health Source Nursing/Academic Edition; and Clinical Pharmacology.
- LGBT Life
Includes the full text for 55 LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as more than 100 full-text monographs and books. The database includes comprehensive indexing and abstract coverage.
- PAIS International (1915 to date)
Identifies articles, books, websites, statistics, yearbooks, directories, conference proceedings, pamphlets, reports, and government documents on political, social, public policy issues.
- POPLINE Free database of journal articles, scientific and technical reports, and unpublished documents and project reports (grey literature) about population, family planning, fertility research, and other related issues. International scope; includes some full text documents and allows limiting search to peer-reviewed journal articles. POPLINE is maintained by the K4Health Project at the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health/Center for Communication Programs and is funded by the United States Agency for International Development (USAID).
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (1975 to date)
Locates articles on political science, international relations, law, public administration/policy and political economy.
Library catalogs are used for two purposes. First, if you know exactly what you are looking for – an exact title or author – you can use the catalog to locate your material. This works for book titles and journal titles. Second, you can use library catalogs to discover material that might be helpful to you by doing subject and keyword searching.
- Online Library Catalog – Look here to find books, DVDs, magazines or journals containing articles that you need, and many other resources. In addition to the 12 million volumes we have on this campus, you can connect to over 70 other libraries in Illinois and request that books be sent to you.When you find something you want in the catalog, write down the following:
Location – in which library the item is kept (or libraries, if we have multiple copies)
Call Number – this number is essential for finding the item on the shelf
Status – is it available for you to check out?
- WorldCat and Interlibrary Loan – The places to verify citations for books and request books and articles you cannot find elsewhere. Ordering books and journals via Interlibrary Loan is free and generally fairly quick.
Guidelines for citing electronic and print resources are available from the Undergraduate Library’s Citation Styles guide and the Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library’s Style and Writing Guides.
Need help collecting and organizing your citations and producing a list of works cited? Citation management tools can help! The guide “ Citation Management Software Overview” helps users choose a citation management tool and provides links to other guides on specific options like Zotero, Mendeley, and EndNote.
Ask-A-Librarian for Help with Your Research
Use the Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library’s Ask-A-Librarian service to contact a librarian via Instant Messenger/chat, email, phone, or in person. Contact a librarian to request an appointment for an in-depth Research Consultation.
Cindy Ingold, Gender and Multicultural Services Librarian
Office: Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library, SSHEL North (Room 100), Main Library
Finding Your Way Around
There are over 25 departmental libraries on our campus, and sometimes it may be difficult to determine where to find the resources you need. For your class, the library that you will be using most is the Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library. We are located in SSHEL North (Room 100) SSHEL South (Room 101) of the Main Library building.