GEOGRAPHY OF INTERNATIONAL CONFLICTS
A Guide to Library Resources for Geography 110 (GLBL 110)
Geography 110: Focuses on contemporary cultural conflicts, competition among nations for economic and mineral resources; treats territorial disputes from a cultural and geographic perspective. Case studies vary to illustrate types of contemporary conflicts.
New York Times
The New York Times can be accessed multiple ways in the library.
- Print copies are available in the Communications Library and Undergraduate Library.
- New York Times Online Access (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign subscription, if off-campus, you will be asked to log in with your NetID and password)
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (1857-2009)
Additional Sources of News Articles
News articles provide up-to-date information about a topic and may include statistics, photographs and editorial coverage. Newspapers provide localized information and includes quotes from experts, government officials, and witnesses. However, authors are usually not experts about a topic.
University of Illinois Library Newspaper Database
Find newspapers at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign in all formats including print, microfilm, and online.
LexisNexis Academic Universe
Comprehensive collection of major world newspapers. Under “Source Type,” select newspaper or entire a specific newspaper’s name in the by “Source Title” box. For more options, such as searching by date or subject, use the Advanced Search or News search option on the left menu.
Reference sources include encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and directories. These are great starting points for background information about a specific topic.
Online Reference Sources
- U.S. Bilateral Relations Facts Sheets Country information from the U.S. Department of State including human and physical geography, economy,government, history, etc.
- Country Studies A continuing series of books from the Library of Congress. Most books discuss a particular foreign country, describing and analyzing its political, economic, social, and national security systems and institutions, and examining the interrelationships of those systems and the ways they are shaped by cultural factors.
- Encyclopedia of Geography
- The SAGE Handbook of Political Geography (also available in print 320.12 H191)
- The World Factbook From the CIA. Includes information on countries of the world. This site focuses on current statistical data with emphasis on economy, government, transportation, geography, and social environment. Also included are appendices and general reference maps.
Print Reference Sources
- Geopolitics: a guide to the issues (320.12 C366g)
What is scholarly / peer-reviewed / refereed research?
Scholarly journal articles are one of the primary means of communicating research ideas. They are an important component of academic research and give you some insight into ongoing debates and scholarly conversations about your topic. You can find articles through database searches.
Peer-reviewed or refereed materials are publications reviewed by “expert readers” or referees prior to the publication of the material. After reading and evaluating the material, the referee informs the publisher if the document should be published or if any changes should be made prior to publication. Refereed materials are also referred to as peer-reviewed. Refereed materials are significant to the research and the literature of most academic fields because they assure readers that the information conveyed is reliable and timely.
Many article databases now allow you to limit your search to display only peer-reviewed (refereed) results. Use this option to eliminate guesswork and rest assured that your results are all from peer-reviewed sources. For more information about peer-reviewed articles, see the Determine if a Source is Scholarly Guide.
Note: beware the “scholarly” label…as we’ve seen, a source can be “scholarly” but not necessarily peer-reviewed. Look for “peer-reviewed” or “refereed” to be sure.
Finding Journal Articles
- First, search for the topic you are interested in by using the article databases listed below. Try words to describe the concepts you are researching.
- Consider searching for these concepts together.
- Use the thesaurus to find additional or similar terms.
- Find an article that looks interesting? Look at the article’s citation for subjects used in that database and run additional searches using these subjects.
- Next, find the actual text of the articles you want by clicking on the Discover button in a database.
- If the Discover page indicates that we have online full text, click the link to get to the article. In some cases, we may have the full text article available in multiple databases. If the Discover page says there is no online full-text available, click the link next to “Library Catalog- Holdings in VUFIND” to search the library catalog for print holdings. This will show you if the library owns a copy of the journal/newspaper/book in PRINT form, and tells you the location of that print volume. NOTE: The library catalog will show you the results by JOURNAL title (not article title). You will need to find the year and/or volume and issue number of the journal that contains your article.
- OR If you know the citation of the articles you want, from bibliographies or suggested readings lists, you can use the Journal and Article Locator.
Suggested Geography and Political Science Article Databases
- GEOBASE Covers a variety of geography related topics.
- PAIS International This index, international in scope, covers topics related to public affairs, policy, and politics.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy.
- Ethnic NewsWatch Full-text collection of 200 newspapers and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
- Access UN Full-text access to recent United Nations documents and publications, including information on international economic, social, cultural, or humanitarian issues.
Library catalogs are used for two purposes. First, if you know exactly what you are looking for, for example you know the exact title or an author’s name. This works for book titles and journal titles. Second, you can use library catalogs to discover material that might be helpful to you by doing subject and keyword searching.
- Online Library Catalog – Look here to find books, DVDs, magazines or journals containing articles that you need, and many other resources. In addition to the 13 million volumes we have on this campus, you can connect to over 75 other libraries in Illinois and request that books be sent to you. When you find something you want in the catalog, write down the following:
Location – in which library the item is kept (or libraries, if we have multiple copies)
Call Number – this number is essential for finding the item on the shelf
Status – is it available for you to check out?
- WorldCat and Interlibrary Loan – Use these to verify citations for books and request books and articles you cannot find elsewhere. Requesting books and journals via Interlibrary Loan is free and generally fairly quick.
- Engaging Geopolitics (320.12 B727e)
- Making Political Geography (320.12 Ag63m2012)
- The Ashgate Research Companion to Border Studies
- The Revenge of Geography : what the map tells us about coming conflicts and the battle against fate (320.12 K141r)
- Browse books with the call number 320.12 on the shelves in the Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library for more books about political geography.
The Cartographic Citation Guide, located in the Map Library‘s Reference Collection (call number 016.526 C549c2010), provides examples of how to cite paper map resources.
Guidelines for citing electronic and print resources are available from the Undergraduate Library’s Citation Styles guide and the Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library’s Style and Writing Guides.
Need help collecting and organizing your citations and producing a list of works cited? Citation management tools can help! The guide “Citation Management Software Overview” helps users choose a citation management tool and provides links to other guides on specific options like Zotero, Mendeley, and EndNote.
Citing Newspaper Articles
- APA Style: Articles in Periodicals (see the Articles in a Newspaper section; from the Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL))
- APA Style: Electronic Sources (see the Newspaper Article section; from the Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL))
Ask-A-Librarian for Help with Your Research
Use our Ask-A-Librarian Service to IM, chat, email, phone or find a reference librarian.
Contact a librarian to request an appointment for an in-depth Research Consultation.
Finding Your Way Around
There are over 25 departmental libraries on our campus, and sometimes it may be difficult to determine where to find the resources you need. For your class, the library that you will be using most is the Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library. We are located in Room 100 of the Main Library building.