EDUCATION AND GLOBALIZATION
A Guide to Library Resources for EPS 530-Z
The University Library is one of the largest in the United States with over 13 million titles in its collection. Navigation can be difficult both virtually and in person. Below you will find links to some of the resources you need to know about for efficient and effective use of these resources. Welcome!
Guide for Distance Learners & Instructors – Provides you with the tools you will need to access and receive materials from the University Library including information concerning setting up your account, requesting materials, and returning materials to the Library.
- University Library Gateway– Links you directly to the main page of the University Library with access to a large number of catalogs and databases.
- Online Library Catalog – The consortial catalog for the State of Illinois.
- Online Journals and Databases – An A-Z list of electronic resources that includes journals, abstracting and indexing resources, and more.
- Journal and Article Locator – Do you want to browse a specific journal title or access an article that you have a citation for? This is the place to go.
- Subject Guides – Librarians throughout the University of Illinois system have created a wide variety of subject guides to assist you. Choose the subject area you are interested in exploring from the list of subjects presented here. Do not forget to look at the pages created for specific regions of the world as well.
- Guides to Other Library Resources- Find tutorials and virtual guides to the materials best suited for your research in specific classes as well as to a variety of more general resources.
- Basic information for researchers and scholars:
- Statistics in the Social Sciences – This guide will lead you to a variety of statistical resources with an emphasis on U.S. and government statistics.
- International Statistics – This guide, prepared by the European Union Studies Center will lead you to a large number of statistical resources throughout the world.
Accessing Library Online Resources Off-Campus
- When you first attempt to access an online resource; such as an online database, e-book, or online journal; from the Library website, you will be asked to log in using your University NetID and password. Additional information about the library proxy server, which allows people who are off-campus to access restricted databases, can be found on the Library Proxy Server for E-Resources page.
- Global Studies Collections and Services-The Center for Global Studies at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign is funded through a Department of Education Title VI grant to explore the issues surrounding globalization. The following resources may be relevant to your studies:
- Center for Global Studies – The Center is funded through a Department of Education Title VI grant to explore the issues surrounding globalization and has many resources on its site for K-12 teachers.
- Resources for K-12 – Many excellent sources can be found here concerning the internationalization of the classroom, including links to the Illinois International High School Initiative, iEARN professional development modules, workshops, conferences, and K-12 teaching materials on the web.
- Virtual Book Shelf – The Center for Global Studies provides a selected list of materials that may be of interest for this class. This page provides links to the catalog as well as scanned covers of books and their tables of contents. You can search the list by subject, by date, or both, as well as looking at all of the selected titles for the year.
- CGS Streaming Videos – Over 100 lectures and presentations have been recorded on a variety of topics including global studies in education and are available here.
Journal articles are one of the primary means of communicating research ideas. They are an important component of academic research and give you some insight into ongoing debates and scholarly conversations about your topic.
Finding articles is a two-step process:
- First, find the citation to the articles you want.You can use bibliographies or suggested readings lists, or you can search for the topic you are interested in by using one of the article databases listed below. If you get stuck, ask your professor or a librarian for help getting started.
- Next, find the actual text of the articles you want. Many of our journals are online but many of them are still available only in print format. If the journal article you are looking for is not available electronically, you will need to contact the Library for assistance.
Search for books and articles related to the subject of global studies and globalization. Consider using terms such as globalization, anti-globalization, international relations, and economics.
Find Articles, Books, Journals and Web Pages
Suggested Article Databases
- Education Full Text – Education Full Text indexes and abstracts articles from English-language journals and yearbooks published in the U.S. and elsewhere. English-language books relating to education published in 1995 or later are also indexed. Abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. Abstracts describe the content and scope of the source documents. Full-text coverage begins in January 1996.
- ERIC – ERIC is a national education database sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education. Presently the largest education database in the world, ERIC contains over 1,300,000 citations covering research documents, journal articles, technical reports, program descriptions and evaluations, and curricular materials in the field of education. Limited full-text to selected items is available. Covers 1966-present.
- John Dewey: Collected Works (via Past Masters II) – This database is based on the 37-volume printed edition, The Collected Works of John Dewey 1882-1953, published 1967-1990.
- Sociological Abstracts – This database of sociological articles can be a valuable resource for information on the social foundations of education.
- National School Reform Initiatives – This will lead you to an annotated list of sites that might be useful in discovering information and contacts related to national school reform in the United States.
Library catalogs are used for two purposes. First, if you know exactly what you are looking for – an exact title or author – you can use the catalog to locate your material. This works for book titles and journal titles. Second, you can use library catalogs to discover material that might be helpful to you by doing subject and keyword searching. Many of the records for journal titles in our catalog can link you to the electronic versions of these publications. If you do not see a link to an electronic version of an article you need in the Online Catalog, go to the Online Journals and Databases page and search for the title.
- Online Library Catalog – Look here to find books, DVDs, magazines or journals containing articles that you need, and many other resources. In addition to the 13 million volumes we have on this campus, you can connect to 86 other libraries in Illinois and request that books be sent to you.When you find something you want in the catalog, write down the following:
Location – in which library the item is kept (or libraries, if we have multiple copies)
Call Number – this number is essential for finding the item on the shelf
Status – is it available for you to check out?
You can then use this information when requesting the item be sent to you.
- WorldCat and Interlibrary Loan – The places to verify citations for books and request books and articles you cannot find elsewhere. Ordering books and journals via interlibrary loan is free and generally fairly quick.
Although this is a distance education course, it might be helpful to know a few reference book titles that may be available at a library near you. We have listed some of these extremely useful resources below:
- The Encyclopedia of Education (Q.370.3 En193 2003/SSHEL Reference) – This eight-volume encyclopedia provides detailed explanations for many of the terms and concepts related to the study of education. In addition to the general information provided by this source, its 8th volume provides detailed entries for court cases, legislation, and international agreements that have influenced the history of education.
- Greenwood Dictionary of Education (370.3 G8562011/SSHEL Reference) – Published in 2011, and containing over 3000 terms, this source is a comprehensive dictionary for a variety of subjects in education. The 2003 edition is available online.
- International Handbook of Curriculum Research (LB2806.15 .I595 2014/ SSHEL Reference Circulating) – Thirty-four countries are covered in this handbook that also includes five introductory essays about curriculum in the global perspective.
- International Handbook of Educational Policy (379 In85/SSHEL Reference Circulating Collection) – Published in 2005, this two-volume work moves from a review of current policy practice to critical and external perspectives, providing fifty-five chapters within the following globally focused framework : large-scale educational reform; leadership and governance; teaching quality; literacies; and, workplace learning. Each chapter includes a bibliography, and an extensive index covers both volumes and aids in locating comments about specific countries. Also available online.
Guidelines for citing electronic and print resources are available from the Undergraduate Library’s Citation Styles guide and the Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library’s Style and Writing Guides.
Need help collecting and organizing your citations and producing a list of works cited? Citation management tools can help! The guide “ Citation Management Software Overview” helps users choose a citation management tool and provides links to other guides on specific options like Zotero, Mendeley, and EndNote.
Ask-A-Librarian for Help with Your Research
Use our Ask-A-Librarian Service to IM, chat, email, phone or find a reference librarian.
Office: Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library, 100 Main Library
Lynne Rudasill, Center for Global Studies, 306 International Studies Bldg., 910 S. Fifth St.
Office: Global Studies Building
Contact a librarian to request an appointment for an in-depth Research Consultation.
Finding Your Way Around
There are over 25 departmental libraries on our campus, and sometimes it may be difficult to determine where to find the resources you need. For your class, the library that you will be using most is the Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library (SSHEL). We are located in SSHEL North (Room 100) and SSHEL South (Room 101) of the Main Library building. We look forward to your questions!
More Help Using the Library
- Resources in Education – A guide to education-related sources.