RACE AND CULTURAL DIVERSITY
A Guide to Library Resources for Educational Policy Studies 310 (AAS 310, AFRO 310, and LLS 310)
Welcome! This site has been created to assist you in exploring library resources related to your EPS 310 class. Our library is one of the largest in the United States and it can be a bit overwhelming at first. We will try to make things a little easier for you, but don’t hesitate to ask questions.
Reference resources are sources of solid background info about both ethnic groups and cultural traditions.
- American Indian Culture: From Counting Coup to Wampum (Undergrad E98.S7 A443 2015 or online )
- Asian American Culture: From Anime to Tiger Moms (SSHEL Reference E184.A75 A8265 2016)
- Countries and their Cultures (SSHEL Reference 306.03C832 or Undergrad Reference GN307.C682001 + online)
- Encyclopedia of African-American culture and history: the Black Experience in the Americas, 2006 (online)
- Encyclopedia of American Folklife (SSHEL Reference 398.097303 En199 or SSHEL Stacks Q. 398.097303 En199)
- Encyclopedia of Diasporas: Immigrant and Refugee Cultures (SSHEL Reference 304.8 En192 + online)
- Encyclopedia of Latino Culture: From Calaveras to Quinceañeras (SSHEL Reference E184.S75 E588 2014)
- Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes (Undergrad E76.2.W352006)
- Encyclopedia of the African Diaspora (History, Philosophy and Newspaper Reference 305.896003 En199)
- Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion (SSHEL Reference Q. GT507 .E54 2010)
- Everyday Life: American Social History, 1998 (SSHEL Reference 306.0973 Ev27 or Undergrad HN57 .E582 1998)
- Holidays, Festivals, and Celebrations of the World Dictionary (2015 online and SSHEL Reference 394.26 H714 2010)
- Immigrants in American history: Arrival, Adaptation, and Integration (SSHEL Reference JV6450 .I5536 2013 + online)
- International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family (SSHEL Reference Circulating 306.803 In8212003, Undergrad Reference HQ9.E52 2003 + online)
- Multicultural America: An Encyclopedia of the Newest Americans (SSHEL Reference 305.800973 M91922)
Online Reference Collection
Start by keyword searching larger collections of encyclopedias, dictionary and handbooks.
- ABC-Clio E-Book Collection — Check out Immigration and Asylum: From 1900 to the Present
- Credo Reference — Try St. Patrick’s Day as a basic search
- Gale Virtual Reference Library — Check out Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America and Encyclopedia of Food and Culture
- Oxford Digital Reference Shelf— Check out The Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America and Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States
Scholarly journal, newspaper, and magazine articles are one of the primary means of communicating research ideas. They are an important component of academic research and give you some insight into ongoing debates and scholarly conversations about your topic. You can find articles through database searches.
Finding articles is a two-step process:
- First, find the citation to the articles you want. You can use bibliographies or suggested readings lists, or you can search for the topic you are interested in by using one of the article databases listed below. If you get stuck, ask your professor or a librarian for help getting started.
- Next, find the actual text of the articles you want. Some of our journals are online but most of them are still available only in print format. If the journal article you are looking for is not available electronically, you will need to use the Online Library Catalog to look up the location of the journal for which you have a citation.
Go to Online Journals & Databases and search for the database name or click on the links below.
- Academic Search Complete
- America: History and Life
- Black Studies Center
- Ethnic NewsWatch
- Hispanic American Periodicals Index
- Historical Abstracts
- Anthropology Plus
Searching Article Databases
Experiment with keywords to search article databases or the Online Library Catalog for more info.
- Try words to describe your ethnic group: ________ Americans (“Greek Americans”, “Hispanic Americans”), Jewish diaspora, etc.
- Try words to describe your cultural practice: “social life and customs”, history, folklore, traditions, festivals, marriage, food, dance, music, masquerade, pizza, bar mitzvah, St. Patrick’s Day, etc.
Consider searching for these concepts together. For example, “Polish Americans” and “polka” = some great articles and books.
Library catalogs are used for two purposes. First, if you know exactly what you are looking for – an exact title or author – you can use the catalog to locate your material. This works for book titles and journal titles. Second, you can use library catalogs to discover material that might be helpful to you by doing subject and keyword searching.
- Online Library Catalog – Look here to find books, DVDs, magazines or journals containing articles that you need, and many other resources. In addition to the 12 million volumes we have on this campus, you can connect to over 70 other libraries in Illinois and request that books be sent to you.When you find something you want in the catalog, write down the following:
Location – in which library the item is kept (or libraries, if we have multiple copies)
Call Number – this number is essential for finding the item on the shelf
Status – is it available for you to check out?
- WorldCat and Interlibrary Loan – The places to verify citations for books and request books and articles you cannot find elsewhere. Ordering books and journals via Interlibrary Loan is free and generally fairly quick.
Guidelines for citing electronic and print resources are available from the Undergraduate Library’s Citation Styles guide and the Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library’s Style and Writing Guides.
Need help collecting and organizing your citations and producing a list of works cited? Citation management tools can help! The guide “Citation Management Software Overview” helps users choose a citation management tool and provides links to other guides on specific options like Zotero, Mendeley, and EndNote.
Ask-A-Librarian for Help with Your Research
Use the Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library’s Ask-A-Librarian service to contact a librarian via Instant Messenger/chat, email, phone, or in person. Contact a librarian to request an appointment for an in-depth Research Consultation.
Office: Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library, SSHEL North (Room 100), Main Library
Finding Your Way Around
There are over 25 departmental libraries on our campus, and sometimes it may be difficult to determine where to find the resources you need. For your class, the library that you will be using most is the Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library. We are located in SSHEL North (Room 100) SSHEL South (Room 101) of the Main Library building.
More Help Using the Library
- Resources in Education – A guide to education-related sources.