BACK TO THE 1960’s
A Guide to Library Resources for Educational Policy Studies 199 (SOC 199)
Welcome! This site has been created to assist you in finding and using library resources for your research on the 1960’s. Our library, one of the largest university libraries in the U.S., can be a bit overwhelming at first, but it is truly a treasure trove for scholars. All of the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Library’s resources are available to you as you do your research, so explore, have fun, and don’t hesitate to ask questions!
Scholarly journal articles are one of the primary means of communicating research ideas. They are an important component of academic research and give you some insight into ongoing debates and scholarly conversations about your topic. You can find articles through database searches.
Finding articles is a two-step process:
- First, search for the topic you are interested in by using the article databases listed below.
- Try words to describe the group of individuals you are researching: Asian Americans, Latino Americans, Gays and Lesbians, Christians, Teenage mothers, Upper class, etc.
- Try words to describe your research area: stereotypes, oppression, historical landscape.
- Consider searching for these concepts together. For example, “Asian Americans” and “ stereotypes” = some great articles and books.
- Use the thesaurus to find additional or similar terms.
- Find an article that looks interesting? Look at the article’s citation for subjects use in that database and run additional searches using these subjects.
- Next, find the actual text of the articles you want by clicking on the Discover button in a database.
- If the Discover page indicates that we have online full text, click the link to get to the article. In some cases, we may have the full text article available in multiple databases. If the Discover page says there is no online full-text available, click the link next to “Library Catalog- Holdings in VUFIND” to search the library catalog for print holdings. This will show you if the library owns a copy of the journal/newspaper/book in PRINT form, and tells you the location of that print volume. NOTE: The library catalog will show you the results by JOURNAL title (not article title). You will need to find the year and/or volume and issue number of the journal that contains your article.
- If you know the citation of the articles you want, from bibliographies or suggested readings lists, you can use the Journal and Article Locator to determine if we have full-text online or in print.
- America: History and Life – Identifies U.S. and Canadian history from journals, book reviews, dissertations, and media reviews.
- Academic Search Complete – Identifies articles in most scholarly subject areas including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
- Historical Abstracts – Identifies international articles and books on history since 1450, excluding the U.S. and Canada.
- Sociological Abstracts – The preeminent database for citations to scholarly journals in sociology. Indexes and abstracts over 2,600 journals and other serial publications, plus conference papers, books, and dissertations. Covers 1963-present, updated monthly.
- Chicago Tribune – Provides full text access for the backfiles of the Chicago Tribune, 1849-1987.
- New York Times – Provides full text access for the backfiles of the New York Times, 1851-1993.
Library catalogs are used for two purposes. First, if you know exactly what you are looking for, for example you know the exact title or an author’s name. This works for book titles and journal titles. Second, you can use library catalogs to discover material that might be helpful to you by doing subject and keyword searching.
- Online Library Catalog – Look here to find books, DVDs, magazines or journals containing articles that you need, and many other resources. In addition to the 13 million volumes we have on this campus, you can connect to over 70 other libraries in Illinois and request that books be sent to you.When you find something you want in the catalog, write down the following:
Location – in which library the item is kept (or libraries, if we have multiple copies)
Call Number – this number is essential for finding the item on the shelf
Status – is it available for you to check out?
- WorldCat and Interlibrary Loan – Use these to verify citations for books and request books and articles you cannot find elsewhere. Ordering books and journals via Interlibrary Loan is free and generally fairly quick.
Library catalog hints for this assignment
There are two ways to search the Library Catalog for possible subjects. For very targeted results, search by Subject from the drop down menu. For more general results. search by Keywords from the drop down menu.
1960’s – varius aspects
- Nineteen sixties.
Art and Fashion
- Fashion – 20th Century – History
- Costume – History – 20th Century
- Max, Peter, 1937-
- Riley, Bridget, 1931-
- Warhol, Andy, 1928-
- Optical Art
- Pop Art
- African-Americans – Civil Rights
- March on Washington for Jobs and Freedom, Washington, D.C., 1963
- King, Martin Luther, Jr.
- United States – Civil Rights Act of 1960
- African Americans–Civil rights–History–20th century.
- Black Panther Party
Counterculture and Drugs
- Hippies – Drama
- Radicalism – United States – History – 20th Century
- Subculture – United States – History – 20th Century
- Communal Living – United States
- Hippies – United States
- Drug Abuse
- Hallucinogenic Drugs – Drama
- LSD (Drug)
- Cuba – History – Invasion, 1961 – Aerial Operations
- Cuba – History – Invasion, 1961 – Personal Narratives
- United States – Central Intelligence Agency
- China – History – Cultural Revolution, 1966-1976
- Communism – China
- Mao, Zedong, 1893-1976
- Berlin Wall, Berlin, Germany, 1961-1989
- Kennedy, John F. (John Fitzgerald), 1917-1963 – Assassination
- United States – Warren Commission – Report to the President’s Commission on the Assassination of President John F. Kennedy
- Kennedy, Robert F., 1925-1968
- College Students – United States – Political Activity
- Students for a Democratic Society (U.S.)
- Kennedy, Robert F., 1925-1968
- Kennedy, John F. (John Fitzgerald), 1917-1963
- United States – Politics and Government – 1969-1974 – Caricatures and cartoons
- United States – Central Intelligence Agency
- United States – Federal Bureau of Investigation
Pop Culture and Rock ‘n’ Roll
- Rock Musicians – England
- Rock Music – 1961-1970 – Literary Themes
- Baez, Joan
- Dylan, Bob, 1941-
- Advertising and Youth – United States – History – 20th Century
- Popular Culture
- Popular Culture – California – History – 20th Century
- Hendrix, Jimi
- Science Fiction
- Star Trek Television Programs – History and Criticism
- Social Change – United States – History – 20th Century
- Social History – 1960-1970
- United States – Social Conditions – 1960-1980
- United States–History–1961-1969
- United States–Social life and customs–1945-1970
- Intergenerational Relations
- Feminism – United States – History
- Friedan, Betty
Space Exploration / Technology
- United States – National Aeronautics and Space Administration
- Outer Space Exploration
- Project Apollo (U.S.)
- Space Flight to the Moon
- Moon – Exploration
- Oral Contraceptives
- Birth Control
- Photocopying Machines
War on Poverty
- Poverty – Periodicals
- Poverty – Government Policy – United States – History – 20th Century
- Public Welfare – United States – History – 20th Century
Hint: Trying combining the subject searches above with other keywords to focus the search, e.g. “hairstyles” or “music” or “Vietnam” or “social conditions”
- American Cultural History, 1960-1969 From the Kingwood College Library
- Chicago ’68: An Introduction
Dean Blobaum’s Website on the Chicago 1968 Democratic National Convention. Includes links to full-text excerpts.
- Kent State University Department of Special Collections & Archives. May 4  Collection
- Lisa’s Nostalgia Cafe: The 1960’s
Provides images and information about the fads, fashions, music and lifestyle of the 1960’s. Similar pages are available for other decades.
- Nelson Mandela Centre of Memory – Speeches, interviews, and other spoken materials made by Nelson Mandela, from the 1950s to the present.
- The quality of information available on the Web varies tremendously. Evaluating Internet Sites 101 gives some valuable pointers on evaluating web-based information. Actually, these tips can be applied to print as well as online sources.
- US Census Bureau
- Explore Census Data
Use the links or search box to find data in tables, maps, and other visualizations. Topics in the Advanced Search option include education, employment, race and ethnicity, and much more.
Guidelines for citing electronic and print resources are available from the Undergraduate Library’s Citation Styles guide and the Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library’s Style and Writing Guides.
Need help collecting and organizing your citations and producing a list of works cited? Citation management tools can help! The guide “ Citation Managers” helps users choose a citation management tool and provides links to other guides on specific options like Zotero, Mendeley, and EndNote.
Ask-A-Librarian for Help with Your Research
Use our Ask-A-Librarian Service to IM, chat, email, phone or find a reference librarian.
Contact a librarian to request an appointment for an in-depth Research Consultation.
Finding Your Way Around
There are over 25 departmental libraries on our campus, and sometimes it may be difficult to determine where to find the resources you need. For your class, the library that you will be using most is the Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library (SSHEL). We are located in SSHEL North (Room 100) and SSHEL South (Room 101) of the Main Library building. Do no hesitate to come in and ask one of our energetic and helpful information desk assistants.