INTRODUCTION TO EDUCATIONAL ADMINISTRATION
A Guide to Library Resources for Educational Organization and Leadership 540
Welcome! This site has been created to assist you in exploring library resources related to your EOL 540 class. Our library is one of the largest in the United States and it can be a bit overwhelming at first. We will try to make things a little easier for you with this guide, but don’t hesitate to ask questions.
Journal articles are one of the primary means of communicating research ideas. They are an important component of academic research and give you some insight into ongoing debates and scholarly conversations about your topic.
Finding articles is a two-step process:
- First, find the citation to the articles you want. You can use bibliographies or suggested readings lists, or you can search for the topic you are interested in by using one of the article databases listed below. If you get stuck, ask your professor or a librarian for help getting started.
- Next, find the actual text of the articles you want. Most of our journals are online but some of them are still available only in print format. If the journal article you are looking for is not available electronically, you will need to use the Online Library Catalog to look up the location of the journal for which you have a citation.
- Education Full Text – Education Full Text indexes and abstracts articles from English-language journals and yearbooks published in the U.S. and elsewhere. English-language books relating to education published in 1995 or later are also indexed. Abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. Abstracts describe the content and scope of the source documents. Full-text coverage begins in January 1996.
- ERIC – ERIC is a national education database sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education. Presently the largest education database in the world, ERIC contains over 700,000 citations covering research documents, journal articles, technical reports, program descriptions and evaluations, and curricular materials in the field of education. Limited full-text access to selected items is available. Covers 1966-present.
- Digest of Education Statistics – Available both electronically, as well as in print (370.973 Un3d1) in our reference collection, the Digest of Education Statistics is the official U.S. authority for statistics on almost every aspect of education.
Library catalogs are used for two purposes. First, if you know exactly what you are looking for – an exact title or author – you can use the catalog to locate your material. This works for book titles and journal titles. Second, you can use library catalogs to discover material that might be helpful to you by doing subject and keyword searching.
- Online Library Catalog – Look here to find books, DVDs, magazines or journals containing articles that you need, and many other resources. In addition to the 14 million volumes we have on this campus, you can connect to over 90 other libraries in Illinois and request that books be sent to you.When you find something you want in the catalog, write down the following:
Location– in which library the item is kept (or libraries, if we have multiple copies)
Call Number – this number is essential for finding the item on the shelf
Status – is it available for you to check out?
- WorldCat and Interlibrary Loan – The places to verify citations for books and request books and articles you cannot find elsewhere. Ordering books and journals via interlibrary loan is free and generally fairly quick.
- Educational Research, Methodology, and Measurement: An International Handbook (370.78 Ed8355 1997/SSHEL Reference) – This handbook provides a wealth of information, written by experts in the field of education, on subjects such as: methods of educational inquiry, educational research methodology, and measurement in educational research.
- The Encyclopedia of Education (Q.370.3 En193 2003/SSHEL Reference) – This eight-volume encyclopedia provides detailed explanations for many of the terms and concepts related to the study of education. In addition to the general information provided by this source, its 8th volume provides detailed entries for court cases, legislation, and international agreements that have influenced the history of education.
- Greenwood Dictionary of Education (370.3 G856 2011)
A comprehensive dictionary for a variety of subjects within education. It provides more than 3,000 terms, acronyms, and initialisms that are in contemporary use and understanding. The dictionary includes a preface, the dictionary itself, and a bibliography for the definitions. The 2003 edition is available online.
- The Wiley Handbook of Educational Supervision (2018. Online resource) – Explores the evolution of supervision, including recent and dramatic changes in the complex context of today’s schools.
- Wiley International Handbook of Education Leadership (2017. Online resource) – Trends, questions, and social forces most relevant to the current state of education, as well as the possible futures of education, and what educational leadership can contribute to these futures are addressed in this handbook.
Guidelines for citing electronic and print resources are available from the Undergraduate Library’s Citation Styles guide and the Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library’s Style and Writing Guides.
Need help collecting and organizing your citations and producing a list of works cited? Citation management tools can help! The guide “ Citation Managers” helps users choose a citation management tool and provides links to other guides on specific options like Zotero, Mendeley, and EndNote.
Ask-A-Librarian for Help with Your Research
Use our Ask-A-Librarian Service to IM, chat, email, phone or find a reference librarian.
Office: Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library, 100 Main Library
Contact a librarian to request an appointment for an in-depth Research Consultation.
Finding Your Way Around
There are over 25 departmental libraries on our campus, and sometimes it may be difficult to determine where to find the resources you need. For your class, the library that you will be using most is the Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library (SSHEL). We are located in SSHEL North (Room 100) and SSHEL South (Room 101) of the Main Library building. Do no hesitate to come in and ask one of our helpful information desk staff for assistance.