Gender and Women in East Asia
A Guide to Library Resources for EALC/GWS 361
This guide has been created to assist you in finding and using library resources for the topics you are researching in this class. All of the University of Illinois Library’s resources are available to you as you do your research, so explore, have fun, and don’t hesitate to ask questions!
- Women’s Studies International (1972 to date)
Provides citations to journals, books, book chapters, proceedings, NGO reports, and gray literature. Over 2,000 periodical sources are represented.
- GenderWatch (1974 to date)
This full text database indexes journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, pamphlets, and reports. Covers business, education, literature and the arts, health sciences, history, public policy, and contemporary culture. Has more of a U.S. focus than worldwide.
- Bibliography of Asian Studies
Contains nearly 800,000 records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia.
- Historical Abstracts (1955 to date)
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) focusing on the 15th century forward, including world history, military history, women’s history, history of education, and more.
- SocINDEX (1985 to date)
Identifies articles in all areas of sociology including anthropology, criminology, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, politics, religion, rural sociology, social psychology, and urban studies. Indexes over 620 core coverage journals dating back to 1895, over 500 priority journals as well as selective coverage for over 1,390 additional journals. Extensive indexing for books, monographs, conference papers, and other sources is included.
Identifies articles in many disciplines including African American studies, anthropology, area studies, education, history, literature, political science, sociology, and many of the science fields.
- PAIS International (1915 to date)
Identifies articles, books, websites, statistics, yearbooks, directories, conference proceedings, pamphlets, reports, and government documents on political, social, public policy issues.
- Digital Collections for Women and Gender
Maintained by the History, Philosophy, and Newspaper Library, this site lists digital collections owned by the University Library and those that are free.
- Databases By Subject
Go here to find other databases by subject.
- Online Library Catalog – Look here to find books, magazines or journals containing articles that you need, DVDs, and many other resources. In addition to the 13 million volumes we have on this campus, you can connect to over 70 other libraries in Illinois and request books be sent to you.When you find something you want in the catalog, write down the following:
Location – in which library the item is kept (or libraries, if we have multiple copies)
Call Number – this number is essential for finding the item on the shelf
Status – is it available for you to check out?
Hint: Catalogs are used for two purposes: (1) If you know exactly what you are looking for – an exact title or author – you can use the catalog to locate your material (this works for book titles and journal titles); (2) You can also use catalogs to discover material that might be helpful to you by doing subject and keyword searching.
- WorldCat and Interlibrary Loan – The places to verify citations for books and request books and articles you cannot find elsewhere.
Guidelines for citing electronic and print resources are available from the Undergraduate Library’s Citation Styles guide.
Need help collecting and organizing your citations and producing a list of works cited? Citation management tools can help! The guide “Citation Managers” helps users choose a citation management tool and provides links to other guides on specific options like Zotero, Mendeley, and EndNote.
Please contact me for individual research assistance.
Cindy Ingold, Gender Studies and Multicultural Services Librarian
Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library, 100F Main Libary