- U.S. Newspaper Directory: Its name notwithstanding, the U.S. Newspaper Directory is actually a union catalog of extant U.S. newspapers in American libraries and historical societies. You can search the catalog by by place of publication, date of publication, intended audience, and more.
- Illinois Newspaper Directory (formerly the Illinois Newspaper Project Database): A union catalog of extant newspapers held by libraries, historical societies, and museums in Illinois. Emphasis is on Illinois newspapers. Search by title, or else browse by county, city, or date of publication. You can also browse using an interactive map.
- Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library: The largest collection of Illinois newspapers.
- Newsplan: Actually six separate union catalogs identifying extant newspapers held by libraries and museums in Great Britain and Ireland. Each of the six catalogs covers holdings within a specific region. Similar to the U.S. Newspaper Directory.
- Center for Research Libraries Newspaper Catalog: The Center for Research Libraries has a large collection of newspapers, especially non-U.S. newspapers. You can search for a specific title, or browse by country. American newspapers can also be browsed by ethnic group. Newspapers discovered in this catalog can be borrowed through Interlibrary Loan.
- ICON: International Coalition on Newspapers: A union catalog, maintained by the Center for Research Libraries, of newspaper holdings at institutions around the world. Includes extensive registry of International Newspaper Digitization Projects.
- NewspaperCat: Catalog of Digital Historical Newspapers: Catalog digitized newspapers from the United States and Caribbean countries. Includes interactive map.
The main newspaper directories for North America were Rowell’s and Ayer’s. Published annually, these directories were actually intended as a guide for advertisers seeking information about publications in which to place advertisements. The titles changed frequently, and the two eventually merged in 1910. The directories are organized by state and then city. For each newspaper, the directory will typically include information like address, name of editor, frequency of publication, size of the newspaper, circulation numbers, political affiliation, and more. These directories are indispensable tools for researching American newspapers. Volumes through 1922 are available online. After 1922, the volumes are available in print only (at the History, Philosophy, and Newspaper Library).
- American Newspapers, 1800-1860: A series of tutorials on antebellum American newspapers. Includes videos, machine-readable datasets, exhibits, and a guide to more information.
- Digitized Polish Historical Newspapers: Guide to locating digitized Polish and Polish-American newspapers. Includes information about the state of newspaper digitization in Poland.
- Latin American, Caribbean and Iberian Newspapers: Guide created by Library subject specialists on Latin America, the Caribbean, and Iberia. Emphasizes current newspapers, with some information on historical newspapers.
- Le Gazetier universel: Ressources numériques sur la presse ancienne: Federated collection of early modern French newspapers (pre-1789) drawn from over 30 newspaper digitization projects.
- Waterloo Directory of English Periodicals and Newspapers, 1800-1900: Detailed directory providing publication histories, title changes, editors, subject or political affiliation, and holding libraries. Updating database.
- Russian Newspapers at the Library of Congress
- Flash Newspapers: A Bibliography: Flash newspapers were a type of “underground newspaper” that catered to people interested in reading about or participating in illicit activities, like gambling, prostitution, and other forms of often-illegal vice. Flash newspapers were rarely collected by libraries, and were often published and circulated secretly, so as to avoid detection by law-enforcement. This bibliography lists flash newspapers that are known to exist in at least one copy.
- Newspaper Chains: This guide lists major newspaper chains, and the newspapers owned by each (along with dates of ownership).
- Chicago Newspapers: Chicago Public Library’s list of Chicago newspapers, beginning with the very first.
- Union List of Digitized Jewish Historic Newspapers, Periodicals and e-Journals: The most exhaustive list we have yet found.