Major Digitized African American Newspapers
The first known African American newspaper was Freedom’s Journal (New York, N.Y. : 1827), and since then there has been an active black press in the United States. This page is a guide to finding African American newspapers and periodicals in the Library. Click here to view a complete list of African American newspapers at the University of Illinois Library.
For the major, digitized African American newspapers of the 20th century, the best place to begin is:
- ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers: The major black newspapers of the 20th century. Click here to see a complete list. Part of ProQuest Historical Newspapers.
Other Digital Collections
- African American Newspapers, 1827-1998: A wide ranging collection that complements our largest collection of digitized African American newspapers, ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers. While ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers covers the major, metropolitan black newspapers of the 20th century, African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 provides access to a broader range of publications, especially the black press of America’s smaller cities, and the few extant issues of the earliest black newspapers, most of which were previously available only on microfilm or in smaller digital collections scattered around the Internet
- African American Newspapers: The 19th Century: Nine major African American newspapers of the 19th Century, including Freedom’s Journal (the first African American newspaper ever published), the Christian Recorder, the Colored American, Douglass’ Monthly, Frederick Douglass’ Paper, the National Era, the North Star, the Provincial Freeman, and the Weekly Advocate.
- African American Periodicals, 1825-1995: About 170 serials published by, for, or about African Americans. Part of the Archive of Americana.
- Ethnic News Watch: 1959-present. Newspapers, magazine, and journal articles from ethnic, minority and native presses.
- International Index to Black Periodicals (1900-present) and Marshall Index (1940-1946): Identifies articles on all aspects of Black studies, in journals from North America, Africa, and the Caribbean. Part of the Black Studies Center. Includes the Marshall Index, which covers 1940-1946. Indexes publications from 1902-present.
- African-American Newspapers and Periodicals: A National Bibliography by James P. Danky, editor. Call Number: Q. 015.73035 Af83. Publication Date: 1998. Arranged alphabetically by title, with a geographic index, as well as an index of editors and a subject index. Known locations are indicated.
- Check List of Negro Newspapers in the United States, 1827-1946 by Warren Brown. Call Number: 071 B81C. Publication Date: 1946. Expanded by Vima Raskin Potter in A Reference Guide to Afro-American Publications and Editors, 1827-1946 with place and year of publication, and an index to editors.
- Bibliographic Checklist of African American Newspapers by Barbara K. Henritze. Call Number: Q. 016.0713 H395B. Publication Date: 1995. Arranged by state and city, shows known locations for individual newspapers.
- “The Black Press in Illinois,” Journal of the Illinois State Historical Society, vol. 68, no. 4: pp. 344-52. Publication Date: September, 1975. Arranged by city of publication. Does not indicate where, if anywhere, the newspapers are held.
- Extant Collections of Early Black Newspapers: A Research Guide to the Black Press, 1880-1915, with an Index to the Boston Guardian, 1902-1904 by Georgetta Merritt Campbell. Call Number: 016.0713 C141E. Publication Date: 1981. Arranged alphabetically by state and city of publication, with holdings information.
- Index to Periodical Articles by and about Negroes: Publication Date: 1950-1972. Continued by: Index to periodical articles by and about Blacks (see below).
- Index to Periodical Articles by and about Blacks: Publication Date: 1973-1983. Continues: Index to Periodical Articles by and about Negroes (see above). Continued by: Index to Black Periodicals.
- Index to Black Periodicals: Publication Date: 1984-1999. Continues: Index to Periodical Articles by and about Blacks (see above). Continued by: G.K. Hall Index to Black Periodicals (see below). Also available in a searchable version as part of Black Studies on Disc in the History, Philosophy, and Newspaper Library.
- G.K. Hall Index to Black Periodicals: Publication Date: 2000-2004. Continues: Index to Black Periodicals (see above).
- Index to Black Newspapers: Publication Date: 1977-1986. Continued by: Black Newspapers Index (see below).
- Black Newspapers Index: Publication Date: 1987-2007. Continues: Index to Black Newspapers (see above).
- Analytical Guide and Indexes to the Crisis: Publication Date: 1910-1960. Although Crisis has been digitized, this index remains a useful research tool.
- Blacks in Selected Newspapers, Censuses and Other Sources: An Index to Names and Subjects by James de T. Abajian. Publication Date: 1977.
- Blacks in Selected Newspapers, Censuses and Other Sources: An Index to Names and Subjects: Supplement by James de T. Abajian. Publication Date: 1985-