(Restricted to University of Illinois users.)
Magazine & Periodical Indexes:
Multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles.
- African American Newspapers: the 19th Century (Accessible Archives)
Identifies articles in major African-American newspapers published in the United States during the 19th century. Contains information about cultural life and history during the 1800s, including first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day. Also contains early biographies, vital statistics, essays and editorials, poetry and prose, and advertisements.
Provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. Collection includes papers from more than 35 states, features many rare and historically significant 19th-century titles.
Features more than 170 periodicals by and about African Americans. Includes academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations’ bulletins, annual reports, and other genres.
A full-text collection of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic and minority U.S. press from 1960 to present.
- International Index to Black Periodicals (ProQuest)
The only periodical database of current titles pertaining to black studies and culture available today. Contains over 150 scholarly and popular journals, newspapers and newsletters from the United States, Africa and the Caribbean with full text coverage for 40 of these titles. It also has the largest backfile of retrospective bibliographic citations for black periodicals from as early as 1902. Also includes The Marshall Index, a guide to black periodicals from 1940 to 1946.
Includes full-text backfiles of 25 black studies titles. These include the African American Review, Black Scholar, Callaloo, Fire!!!, Journal of African American History, Journal of Black Studies, Journal of Blacks in Higher Education, Journal of Negro Education, Phylon, Transition, and Women, Gender, and Families of Color.
Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003), Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), Chicago Defender (1910-1975), Cleveland Call & Post (1934-1991), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), Norfolk Journal and Guide (1921-2003), Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001), Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002).
Major collections in this module include the FBI Files on Martin Luther King Jr.; Centers of the Southern Struggle, FBI Files covering five of the most pivotal arenas of the civil rights struggle of the 1960s: Montgomery, Albany, St. Augustine, Selma, and Memphis; and records from the Kennedy, Johnson, and Nixon administrations, detailing the interaction between civil rights leaders and organizations and the highest levels of the federal government.
The NAACP was involved in several subjects that did not rise to the level of major campaigns but were still vital to the organization. This module reveals the wide scope of NAACP activism and interest. The files cover subjects and episodes such as civil rights complaints and legislation, the Klan, Birth of a Nation, the Walter White-W. E. B. Du Bois controversy of 1933-1934, communism and anticommunism during the years of the “red scare,” the congressional prosecution of Hollywood personalities, the prosecution of conscientious objectors during World War II, NAACP’s relations with African colonial liberation movements, NAACP fundraising and membership recruitment, urban riots, the War on Poverty, and the emergence of the Black Power Movement.
The files in this module chronicle the local heroes of the civil rights revolution via NAACP branches throughout the United States, from 1913-1972. The contributions of scores of local leaders—attorneys, community organizers, financial benefactors, students, mothers, school teachers, and other participants—are revealed in these records. Topics include investigations of lynchings; campaigns for voting rights and against employment discrimination, police brutality, federal slum clearance projects; and the fight against Jim Crow laws. Documents consist of correspondence between branch and national offices, reports to the secretary of branches, requests for legal assistance, minutes of branch meetings, financial reports, and the comprehensive annual activities reports of hundreds of local branches.
Encyclopedia, Handbooks, and Discs:
- African American Almanac (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
Provides a range of historical and current information on African American history, society and culture and includes coverage of Africa and the Black Diaspora. Has chronologies, texts of important documents, legislation, speeches, biographical profiles, essays, and more than 650 photographs, illustrations, maps and statistical charts.
“Heritage Quest has extracted all heads of households listed as ‘Black’ or ‘Mulatto,’ as well as those listed with African birth who were listed in the 1870 U.S. Federal Census Index … Includes 1,672,418 entries”
The CD features an array of oral performances in the form of speeches, sermons, stories, poems, and songs. The contents are organized in chronological order, beginning with the African oral epic Sunjata and ending with poetry by Amiri Baraka and jazz by John Coltrane.
This multimedia CD-ROM explores many primary source documents that guarantee rights to U.S. citizens. It offers a collection of resource documents that include Supreme Court cases, pictures, maps, historical texts, and video clips that established or affected civil rights.
- Contemporary Black Biography (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
Provides informative biographical profiles of the important and influential persons of African American and/or black heritage. Covers persons of various nationalities in a wide variety of fields, including architecture, art, business, dance, education, fashion, film, industry, journalism, law, literature, medicine, music, politics and government, publishing, religion, science and technology, social issues, sports, television, theater, and others.
Information on materials by and about African Americans, Africa and peoples of African ancestry. Includes catalog of the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture and citations from the Index to Black periodicals, 1989-.
Explores the history, culture and achievements of African people and their descendents around the world. Rich in music, dance, art and literature, African history and traditions come to life through articles, interviews, maps, timelines and songs.
- Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895: From the Colonial Period to the Age of Frederick Douglass (Oxford UP)
In nearly 700 entries, this set documents the full range of the African American experience during the period from the arrival of the first slave ship to the death of Frederick Douglass, and shows how all aspects of American culture, history, and national identity have been profoundly influenced by the experience of African Americans.
- Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present: From the Age of Segregation to the Twenty-first Century (Oxford UP)
Focusing on the making of African American society from the 1896 “separate but equal” ruling of Plessy v. Ferguson up to the contemporary period, this encyclopedia traces the transition from the Reconstruction Era to the age of Jim Crow, the Harlem Renaissance, the Great Migration, the Brown ruling that overturned Plessy, the Civil Rights Movement, and the ascendant influence of African-American culture on the American cultural landscape.
The central focus is on the experience of African-Americans throughout North and South America. Volume 6 is a selection of primary documents.
Contains articles on race, ethnicity, sociology, and other social sciences. Full text of civil rights speeches and other relevant documents is included.
A companion to the book, this CD-ROM makes more than 150,000 bibliography entries available for computer searching.
Contains records of 27,233 trans-Atlantic slave ship voyages made between 1595 and 1866. Format allows users to track information by time period and geographic region, and includes interactive maps that allow viewers to chart the trans-Atlantic connections. The accompanying data contains materials about people on board, owners and captains, ships’ characteristics, and the geographic trajectory of each voyage.
- African American Communities (Adam Matthew)
Focusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, St. Louis, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina this resource presents multiple aspects of the African American community through pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records, reports and in-depth oral histories, revealing the prevalent challenges of racism, discrimination and integration, and a unique African American culture and identity.
Covers the beginning of slavery in Colonial America through the post-Civil Rights era of the 1990s. Topics include African American religions, folklore, family structure, art, literature, and music. Resources include timelines, essays, document descriptions, pictures, captions, essays, maps, more than 200 documents, and 500 pictures.
Created from the Library Company’s acclaimed Afro-Americana Collection, this online resource provides researchers with more than 12,000 essential books, pamphlets, and broadsides, including many lesser-known imprints, in African American history, literature, and culture.
- African American Studies Center (Oxford)
Features the 3-volume Encyclopedia of African American History 1619-1895, the 3-volume Black Women in America encyclopedia, the 5-volume Africana encyclopedia of the African and African American experience, and selected articles from other reference works. Also includes bibliographies, timelines, maps, image collections, and key primary source documents.
- Black Abolitionist Papers (ProQuest)
Primary sources from African Americans actively involved in the movement to end slavery in the United States between 1830 and 1865.
- Black Drama (Alexander Street Press)
Black Drama to provides access to English-language plays written by black authors from North America, the Caribbean, and Africa between 1850 and the present. There is a concentration of materials from the Harlem Renaissance, modern African American authors, and 20th Century African playwrights.
- Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records and Personal Papers, Part 1 (ProQuest History Vault)
- Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Federal Government Records, Part 2 (ProQuest History Vault)
Consists of primary source documents from the personal papers of African Americans and records of civil rights organizations. Module one (Organizational records and personal papers) consists of 37 collections of organizational records and personal papers and contains records of civil rights organization and personal papers on African American life in the 20th century. The second module (Federal government records) is comprised of 36 collections from federal government agencies and contains records on the major milestones and events in the civil rights movement.
Combines several resources for research and teaching in Black Studies: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), historical black newspapers, and the Black Literature Index.
- Black Studies in Video (Alexander Street Press)
Features documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage surveying the evolution of black culture in the United States. Included are films covering history, politics, art and culture, family structure, social and economic pressures, and gender relations. Includes more than 200 videos.
- Black Thought and Culture (Alexander Street Press)
Black Thought and Culture is a single source for the published works of numerous historically important black leaders. Along with well-known works, the collection features approximately 5,000 pages of unique, fugitive, and never-before-published materials. When complete, Black Thought and Culture will provide approximately 100,000 pages of monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the black community from the earliest times to 1975.
- Papers of the NAACP (ProQuest History Vault)
Comprises six modules: Board of Directors, Annual Conferences, Major Speeches, and National Staff Files; Branch Department, Branch Files, and Youth Department Files; Special Subjects; The NAACP’s Major Campaigns: Education, Voting, Housing, Employment, Armed Forces; The NAACP’s Major Campaigns: Legal Department Files; and The NAACP’s Major Campaigns: Scottsboro, Anti-Lynching, Criminal Justice, Peonage, Labor, and Segregation and Discrimination Complaints and Responses.