The University of Illinois Archives' Student Life and Culture Archival Program (SLC Archives) specializes in the history of student life and culture at the University of Illinois from the university's founding in 1867 to the present. In addition, the SLC Archives holds one of the nation's most extensive collections of national fraternity and sorority materials
University of Illinois student materials in the SLC Archives include:
Student office records - such as Office of the Dean of Students, Greek Affairs, and Student Programs and Activities
Personal papers - including student diaries, scrapbooks, letters, and photographs
Publications - humor magazines, essays, organization newsletters
Student organization records - committee files, by-laws, photographs, scrapbooks, videos, publications from political, religious, social, cultural, and recreational groups on campus, 1867-2003.
Artifacts - student military uniforms, freshman beanies, letterman sweaters, Homecoming buttons, and dance programs.
To identify materials, consult the Archives' online database. You may search the database by subject or browse record series titles. The majority of student related materials are found in Record Group (RG) 41 (Student Affairs); RG 37 (Illini Union); and RG 26 (Alumni Association). To view the actual materials, you will need to come to the SLC Archives.
The SLC Archives is located at the Archives Research Center in the Horticulture Field Laboratory (HFL), 1707 S. Orchard, Urbana.
Directions: From campus, proceed south on Lincoln Avenue to the Florida/Lincoln intersection. Turn left and proceed to the next stop light (Orchard Street). The HFL is the large brick building on the southwest corner, fronted by a grassy lawn. Turn right onto Orchard and immediately turn right into the HFL drive. Metered parking is in front. The Archives reference room is through the front door and to your right in Room 105.
By foot: approximately a 20 minute walk from the Quad
By bus: take the Orchard Downs #8. The bus stops next to the HFL.
Hours: The Archives Research Center is open Monday-Tuesday and Thursday-Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. and 1:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. and Wednesdays: 10:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. and 1:00 to 5:00 p.m. For more information, please contact:
Archivist for Student Life and Culture
Phone: 217-333-7841 or email: firstname.lastname@example.org