About Reference

Online Reference Collection

Using the Reference Library

Site Map


Ask a Librarian

General Library Help

LEARN to Use the Library

Specific Database Assistance:

Tools

Easy Search

Government Information

Journal and Article Locator

LibGuides

Library Catalog

Online Research Resources (ORR)

RefWorks

Rolodex

WorldCat


Reference Library

Overview

The Reference Library is located in room 200 of the Main Library, and provides information and instructional services that support the research needs of the Illinois community and the public-at-large. The collection contains nearly 25,000 volumes and represents the largest collection of reference material in the Illinois library system. This collection covers all disciplines with a particular emphasis on the humanities and social sciences.


Ethnography Resources in the Reference Library

The Reference Library contains material specific to the University of Illinois. Call numbers beginning with "C" and shelved between 378.999-379 of the wall collection (the part of the collection displayed around the room's exterior walls) are items related to the University of Illinois. These include alumni directories and registers, financial reports, operational budget information, salary reports, histories, and lists of faculty publications from 1908-1979.

Additional information about the people and places associated with the University can be found in:

For more information about using the collection, consult this guide on getting around the reference room.


Reference Help

Students and the general public can get help in person at the Information desk which is located on the second floor of the Main Library. Users can also get help by telephone (217-333-2290) or by using the Ask a Librarian service, which allows questions to be posed by email, chat, or instant messaging. Please don't hesitate to use the Reference Library as a primary contact for information, research assistance, and for referrals across disciplines.