About RRSS

Online Journals & Databases

Guides to Using the Library

Site Map


Ask a Librarian

General Library Help

LEARN to Use the Library


History, Philosophy, & Newspaper Library

Essential Links

History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library

Illinois Library Newspaper Database

Illinois Newspaper Project

Overview

The History, Philosophy, and Newspaper Library (HPNL) is full of material related to the University of Illinois. Back issues of the Daily Illini and other college dailies can provide perspective on issues of interest to college students both locally and around the country. Impressive holdings of local newspapers like the News-Gazette give a sense of the broader community's response to University activities. The History, Philosophy, and Newspaper Library holds all of the daily newspapers for major cities in Illinois, and many of these papers devote considerable coverage to the University. Many other Illinois papers can be located using the Illinois newspaper Project website. Various specialized collections of underground or "alternative" papers provide interesting context to movements and events on campus. The physical collection of the History, Philosophy, and Newspaper Library collection is supplemented by access to online newspaper-related resources, such as Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe, EbscoHost Newspaper Source, and Global Newsbank, that provide citations and/or and full-text access to millions of recent newspaper articles.

History, Philosophy and Newspapers Library offers a variety of services to assist EUI students doing historical research. For example, the library offers help in formulating research strategies, and in discovering and interpreting sources. The new digital viewer-scanners provide access to many archival collections on microfilm. The library is also spearheading ongoing newspaper digitization projects, which feature the campus newspaper as well as the local Urbana Daily Courier. Stop by today to make an appointment with a librarian.

 

Ethnography Resources in the History, Philosophy, and Newspaper Library

The History, Philosophy, and Newspaper Library is full of material that touches on the University of Illinois. Back issues of the Daily Illini and other college dailies can provide prospective on issues of concern to college students both locally and around the country. Impressive holdings of local newspapers like the News-Gazette can give a sense of the broader community's response to things going on at the university. The History, Philosophy, and Newspaper Library holds all of the daily newspapers for major cities in Illinois, and many of these papers devote considerable coverage to the university. Many other Illinois papers can be located using the Illinois Newspaper Project website. Various specialized collections of underground or "alternative" papers can also provide interesting context to movements and events on campus.

HPNL offers a variety of services to assist EUI students in doing historical research. For example, they offer help in formulating research strategies and in discovering and interpreting sources. Using the new digital viewer-scanners opens up many archival collections on microfilm. They are also spearheading ongoing newspaper digitization projects, which feature not only the campus newspaper, but the local Urbana Daily Courier as well, which can offer a different perspective on campus events. Stop by today to make an appointment with a librarian.

Please contact a librarian in the History, Philosophy, and Newspaper Library in room 246 Library, call 333-1509, or visit HPNL Ask a Librarian for assistance with any of your research needs.