About RRSS

Online Journals & Databases

Guides to Using the Library

Site Map


Ask a Librarian

General Library Help

LEARN to Use the Library

LibGuides

National Bibliographies Online

National Bibliographies Online


What is a national bibliography?

A national bibliography is a source that seeks to list the publications of a country during a time period. Publications can include monographs, serials, films, and other formats.

Thanks to online databases, access to national bibliographies has improved.  Some national libraries no longer offer print volumes of their bibliographies. Some still put their national bibliographies on CD, DVD, or microfilm.  Others use their online catalogs as their authoritative national bibliographic records.

This page identifies web pages that offer online access to national bibliographies, online catalogs of national holdings, or any other relevant information. Many of these resources were identified through the National Bibliographic Register from IFLA (International Federation of Library Associations and Institutions).

National bibliographies are listed alphabetically by country or region name for easy browsing. The links for each country or region's name takes you to the online national bibliography or national library catalog that serves as the national bibliography. University of Illinois print and microfiche holdings are also linked.

NOTE: If you are searching for bibliographies from Slavic and East European libraries, please note that the former Slavic & East European Library (now part of the International & Area Studies Library) created a page detailing their national bibliographies


National bibliographies online

Country

Online Access

Print

Microform

Other Format

Andorra

Andorran National Bibliography

n/a n/a n/a

Argentina 

Libros Argentina

 1982 - 1991

n/a n/a

Australia

Trove

1961 - 1981

1980 - 1995

n/a

Austria

Osterreichische Nationalbibliotek

1946 - 2002

n/a n/a

Belgium

Bibliographie de Belgique

1875 - 1997

n/a n/a

Belize

n/a

19601977

n/a n/a

Bermuda

Bermuda National Library

n/a n/a n/a

Bolivia

Biblioteca National

1962 - 19741975 - 2007

n/a n/a

Brazil

Fundacao Biblioteca Nacional

1980s (some missing)

n/a n/a

Bulgaria

Virtual Library of Bulgaria

1970 - 1988 (some missing)

n/a n/a

Canada

Canadian National Catalogue

1950 - 1991

1973 - 1985,
1991 - 1995

CD-ROM:
2003 - 2006

Catalonia Biblioteca de Catalunya n/a n/a n/a

China

Chinese Bibliographic Database

n/a n/a n/a

Colombia

Biblioteca National de Colombia

1951 - 1993

n/a n/a

Croatia

National & University Library in Zagreb

1989

n/a n/a

Cuba

Bibliographia Nacional

1900 - 1989

n/a n/a

Cyprus

Bulletin of the Cyprus Bibliography

n/a n/a n/a

Denmark

Danish Book-Weekly Record

1841 - 2004

n/a n/a

Finland

Finnica - National Bibliography of Finland

1544 - 19431967 - 1994

n/a n/a

France

Bibliographie Nationale Francaise

1920 - 19791975 - 1989
1990 - 2000

n/a n/a

Germany

Deutsche Nationalbibliographie

1945 - 1985 (periodical ed)
1945 - 1985 (five-year ed.)

n/a n/a

Hungary

Magyar Nemzeti Bibliografia

1951 - 19771977 - 2002

n/a n/a

Iceland

Icelandic National Bibiography

1974 - 2001

n/a n/a

Ireland

Record of Irish Publishing

1967 - 1986

n/a n/a

Israel

Qiryat Sefer

1924 - 2002

n/a n/a

Italy

Bibliografia Nazionale Italiana

1958 - 1993
1995 - 2008 (periodical ed.)
1993 - 2006 (monograph ed.)

n/a n/a

Japan

National Diet Library Search

n/a n/a n/a

Latvia

National Bibliography

n/a n/a n/a

Liechtenstein

Die Liechtensteinische Bibliographie

n/a n/a n/a

Lithuania

Nacionalinės bibliografijos duomenų bankas

n/a n/a n/a

Luxembourg

Bibliographie Nationale Luxembourgeoise

1947 - 2003

n/a n/a

Macedonia

COBISS

n/a n/a n/a

Malaysia

Malaysian National Bibliography

1967 - 1971

n/a n/a

Mauritius

National Union Catalog

1996 - 2001

n/a n/a

Mexico

Bibliografia Mexicana

1967 - 1982

n/a n/a

Netherlands

Dutch National Bibliography n/a n/a n/a

New Zealand

Publications New Zealand

n/a n/a n/a

Norway

Norwegian National Bibliography (NORBOK)

1941 - 2002

n/a n/a

Poland

Przewodnik bibliograficzny

1950 - 2008

n/a n/a
Quebec Bibliographie du Quebec 1968 - 1995 n/a n/a

Romania

Bibliografia Nationala

1956 - 1989

n/a n/a

Russia

(From the Slavic Reference Service)

n/a n/a n/a

Serbia

References Serbia

1950 - 1988

n/a n/a

Singapore

Singapore National Bibliography

1967

n/a n/a

Slovenia

Slovenska Bibliografua

1947 - 19771985 - 2010

n/a n/a

South Africa

South African National Bibliography

1959 - 1996

n/a n/a

Spain

Spanish Bibliography

1958 - 19941994 - 2006

n/a n/a

Sweden

Swedish National Bibliography

1953 - 1998

n/a n/a

Switzerland

Swiss Book

1942 - 2006

n/a n/a

Thailand

Thai National Bibliography

n/a n/a n/a

Uganda

National Bibliography

1987

n/a n/a

United Kingdom

British National Bibliography

1950 - 2007

n/a n/a

Venezuela

Catalogo Publico de la Biblioteca National de Venezuela

1942 - 1977 (some missing)

n/a n/a

Vietnam

National Directory

n/a n/a n/a