space
INHS LIBRARY
bison We've migrated! VISIT OUR NEW HOME
About the Library
INHS Library News
Library Services
Info for INHS Staff
space
ONLINE CATALOGS
UIUC Library
I-Share (ILCSO)
Other Libraries
space
JOURNAL RESOURCES
Full Text E-Journals
Article Databases
INHS Journals
INHS Library Databases
space
INTERLIBRARY LOAN
Loan Requests
WorldCat Database
INHS Copy Service
space
E-RESOURCES
UIUC References
Electronic Maps
Electronic Books
INHS Resources
Search Engines
UIUC Dept Libraries
space

HOW TO

Renew Materials
Find articles
Find books
Find dissertations
Interlibrary loan
Research Guides
Instruction Guides
space
space

Search UIUC Library
Search WWW
powered by powered by google

Ecological Restoration
An annotated guide to resources

space
space
Printer-friendly version

 

Introduction | Subject Headings | General Databases |
Specialized Databases | Maps | Web Resources | Books | Journals


INTRODUCTION

Ecological restoration is an intentional activity that initiates or accelerates the recovery of an ecosystem with respect to its health, integrity and sustainability. Frequently, the ecosystem that requires restoration has been degraded, damaged, transformed or entirely destroyed as the direct or indirect result of human activities. In some cases, these impacts to ecosystems have been caused or aggravated by natural agencies such as wildfire, floods, storms, or volcanic eruption, to the point at which the ecosystem cannot recover its predisturbance state or its historic developmental trajectory. -Society for Ecological Restoration

Ecological restoration is the process of assisting the recovery of an ecosystem that has been degraded, damaged, or destroyed. -The Society for Ecolological Restoration International, Science and Policy Working Group, 2002

Ecological restoration is the process of returning polluted or otherwise disturbed ecosystems to a close approximation of their condition prior to contamination. Restoration is a broad term that encompasses a number of interrelated activities, including the reconstruction of antecedent physical conditions, chemical adjustment of the soil and water, and biological manipulation which includes the reintroduction of native flora and fauna. -United States Environmental Protection Agency


SUBJECT HEADINGS

Applied ecology Ecosystem services
Biocultural restoration Environmental restoration
Dynamic ecosystems Landscape management
Ecological genetics Reforestation
Ecological response Rehabilitation ecology
Ecosystem dynamics Restoration constraints
Ecosystem management Restoration ecology
Ecosystem recovery Restoration failure
Ecosystem repair [and healing] Restoration success


GENERAL DATABASES

Current Contents
Provides access to tables of contents and indexes journal articles, reviews, meeting abstracts, and editorials for over 7,500 international journals in several disciplines including (but not limited to) agriculture, life sciences, physical and earth sciences, engineering and technology, social behavioral sciences, arts and humanities and clinical medicine. Covers the three most recent years.

InfoTrac (Expanded Academic Index)
Information on a wide variety of topics such as astronomy, religion, law, history, psychology, humanities, current events, sociology, communications, women's issues and the general sciences. Indexes 2000 scholarly and popular interdisciplinary journals, national news magazines, and the last 6 months of the New York Times. About half the entries include full text. Covers 1996-present, with access to the backfile (1980-1995).

Academic Search Elite
This multi-disciplinary database offers full text for nearly 2,050 scholarly journals, including nearly 1,500 peer-reviewed titles. Covering virtually every area of academic study, Academic Search Elite offers full text information dating as far back as 1985. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost. Includes publications from social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, etc.


SPECIALIZED DATABASES

AGRICOLA
Bibliographic records of journal articles and book chapters (90%), monographs, series, maps and other materials (10%) acquired by the National Agricultural Library. Covers 1970 to present.

BIOSIS
Indexes and abstracts articles published in more than 6,500 scientific research journals in the life sciences, including (but not limited to) biology, botany, microbiology, biochemistry, medicine, and zoology. Covers 1969 to present.

CAB Abstracts
Provides access to research on agriculture, veterinary and animal
science, nutrition, soil science, land/water management, forestry, natural and environmental resources, leisure, recreation and tourism, rural development, and some aspects of human health. It contains references from over 16,000 scholarly, professional, and commercial journals, and a limited number of book chapters, theses, proceedings and technical reports. Publications represent the world’s literature in both language and geographical coverage, and most of the full-length articles have summaries in English. Covers 1972 to present.

Ecology Abstracts
Focuses on how organisms of all kinds - microbes, plants, and animals - interact with their environments and with other organisms. Includes relevant papers on evolutionarybiology, economics, and systems analysis as they relate to ecosystems or the environment. Coverage ranges from habitats to food chains, from erosion to land reclamation, from detailed information on resource and ecosystems management to modeling studies on the impact of climate, water resources, soil, and man or growing environmental problems such as depletion, erosion, and pollution. About 350 journal titles are selectively indexed. Covers 1982 to present; updated monthly. Note: Ecology Abstracts is a subfile of the Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management database.

Environmental Impact Statements
The federal government issues hundreds of environmental impact statements each year and this one resource provides detailed abstracts of all of those statements, also indexing them for easy reference. EIS extracts the key issues from complex government-released environmental impact statements, converting massive documents into concise, readable abstracts. Each entry includes a clear description of the project, sections on positive impact and negative consequences, and legal mandates.

Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management
Multidisciplinary database providing abstracts and citations for the environmental sciences and pollution management from over 4,000 scientific journals and thousands of other sources including conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications. Major subjects covered include agricultural biotechnology, air quality, aquatic pollution, bacteriology, ecology, energy resources, environmental biotechnology, environmental engineering, environmental impact statements (U.S.), hazardous waste, industrial hygiene, microbiology related to industrial & environmental issues, pollution (land, air, water, noise, solid waste, and radioactive), risk assessment, safety science, toxicology & toxic emissions, water pollution, waste management, and water resource issues. Covers 1981 to present, updated monthly.

Water Resources Abstracts
Provides summaries of the world's technical and scientific literature on water-related topics covering the characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use and management of water resources. Abstracts are drawn from journals, books, conference proceedings, and technical reports in the physical and life sciences, as well as from engineering, legal and government publications. About 1000 journal titles are selectively indexed.

Web of Science (Science Citation Index)
Indexes over 8,000 journals and provides complete bibliographic data, full length author abstracts, and cited references. Web of Science is made up of three separate databases: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. The Science Citation Index Expanded indexes 5,700 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines. Contains searchable, full-length, English-language author abstracts for approximately 70% of the articles in the database. Subject coverage includes (but not limited to): biology, biotechnology, plant sciences and zoology. Coverage from 1982 to present, updated weekly.

Wildlife and Ecology Studies Worldwide
Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide is the world’s largest index to literature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians - over 599,430 bibliographic records, many include abstracts. The databases in this exclusive collection offer a global perspective and together form the ultimate resource on wildlife information. NISC’s unique composite records feature ensures access to all the citations without duplication. All aspects of wildlife and wildlife management are covered in this comprehensive volume. Approximately 18,000 records are added per year. Extensive keyword indexing permits flexible subject searching, and taxonomic and geographic identifiers are especially helpful. The geographic identifiers include global and broad regional levels as well as specific localities. You can search by species in a province, state, county, or even a community, park, lake, or stream.

Zoological Record
Indexes over 6,500 international research journals as well as books, newsletters, selected dissertations, review annuals, and conference proceedings in the field of zoology. Coverage includes behavior, ecology, evolution, morphology, systematics, and more. Online version covers 1978 to present (updated quarterly); print covers 1864-1994.


MAPS


WEB RESOURCES

California Ecological Restoration Projects Inventory (CERPI)

Combined private/non-profit/government effort to establish a database containing information on restoration projects in California. This information will further the practice and science of restoration and assist agencies and practitioners during restoration planning and implementation. CERPI is a program of Natural Resource Projects Inventory (NRPI) which also includes Watershed Projects Inventory (WPI) and Noxious Weeds Projects Inventory.

Ecological Restoration Institute

"The ERI is a pioneer in conducting research and disseminating information about restoration treatment outcomes, strategies, and techniques in the Southwest. We seek to provide the best available knowledge about restoration to a wide variety of audiences, from academic researchers to professional land managers to members of the public. Our work focuses on both ecological and sociopolitical issues, and falls into three general categories: 1) research, 2) education, and 3) outreach, conducted through events, publications, and assistance with treatment implementation."

Ecological Society of America

Includes links to a wide range of ecology related sites.

EPA River Corridor and Wetland Restoration

Defines what restoration is, why it's done, who does it, and where to learn more about it.

Illinois Restoration Projects

This link comes from the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's web site, where they have listed each state and its wetland restoration projects.

INHS Prairies Research Guide

An annotated guide to prairie resources.

INHS Publications on Ecological Restoration

Enter "ecological restoration" in the search box to retrieve all INHS documents related to the topic.

Native Plant Information Network

The mission of the Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center is to educate people about the environmental necessity, economic value, and natural beauty of native plants. The Native Plant Information Network's goal is to distribute a diverse array of scientifically accurate native plant materials and resources to help make this possible.

Restoration (INHS Annual Report 1998-1999)

Discusses restoration of the Midewin National Tallgrass Prairie (formerly the Joliet Army Arsenal), the Savanna Army Depot, and the floodplain forests in the Cache River drainage in southern Illinois.

Restoration ecology (INHS Annual Report 1999-2000)

Introduction to INHS involvement in restoration ecology in Illinois, including brief descriptions of restoration efforts related to prairies/savannas and watersheds. Also includes a list of INHS restoration ecology projects.

Society for Ecological Restoration International

Non-profit organization actively engaged in ecologically-sensitive repair and management of ecosystems through an unusually broad array of experience, knowledge sets and cultural perspectives. They are scientists, planners, administrators, ecological consultants, first peoples, landscape architects, philosophers, teachers, engineers, natural areas managers, writers, growers, community activists, and volunteers, among others. The Society does not itself engage in restoration projects; its mission is: "to promote ecological restoration as a means of sustaining the diversity of life on Earth and reestablishing an ecologically healthy relationship between nature and culture." To that end, the Society serves the growing field of Ecological Restoration through facilitating dialogue among restorationists; encouraging research; promoting awareness of and public support for restoration and restorative management; contributing to public policy discussions; recognizing those who have made outstanding contributions to the field of restoration; and, of course, promoting ecological restoration around the globe.

U.S. E.P.A. - Principles for the ecological restoration of aquatic resources

Lists and describes the guiding principles for restoration of aquatic resources.

Wildlife Society - Working Restoration Group

Works to facilitate communication and the exchange of information among members of the Society interested in restoring wildlife populations and degraded habitats, enhances knowledge and technical capabilities of wildlife professionals in the area of restoration, increases public awareness and appreciation of the technical capabilities of restoring wildlife populations and degraded habitats, develops implementable ecosystem management principles enabling community-wide recovery, and identifies effective monitoring and evaluation programs to determine successes and failures of restoration techniques.

World Resources Institute (WRI)

Environmental think tank that goes beyond research to find practical ways to protect the earth and improve people's lives.

Wetland restoration at the Middle Fork River Forest Preserve (INHS 1996)

Describes how Survey researchers, in cooperation with the Champaign County Forest Preserve District, the Grand Prairie Friends, and The Nature Conservancy, have worked to restore a kettle marsh along the Middle Fork of the Vermilion River.


BOOKS

Assembly Rules and Restoration Ecology: bridging the gap between theory and practice / editors, Vicky M. Temperton, et al. (2004)
Location: Natural History -- Call number: 333.7153 As73

Assessment of created wetland performance in Illinois / Allen E. Plocher and Jeffrey W. Matthews. (2004)
Location: Natural History -- Call Number: 333.91816 P72a

A case for wetland restoration / Donald L. Hey, Nancy S. Philippi. (1999)
Location: Natural History -- Call Number: 333.918153 H511c

Damaged ecosystems and restoration / editor, B.C. Rana. (1998)
Location: Natural History; City Planning -- Call Number: 363.7 D18

Ecological Engineering and Ecosystem Restoration i William J. Mitsch, Sven Erik Jorgensen. (2004)
Location: Natural History -- Call number: 628 M697e

Forest Restoration in Landscapes: beyond planting trees / editors, Stephanies Mansourian, Daniel Vallauri, Nigel Dudley. (2005)
Location: ACES -- Call number: 333.75153 F761

Foudnations of Restoration Ecology / editors, Donald A. Falk, Margaret A. Palmer, and Joy B. Zedler; foreward by Richard J. Hobbs. (2006)
Location: Natural History -- Call number 577 F825

Great Lakes [electronic resource] : a comprehensive strategy and monitoring system are needed to achieve restoration goals : testimony before the Subcommittee on Water Resources and Environment, Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure, House of Representatives / statement of John B. Stephenson. (2004)
Location: Government Documents Online Collection -- URL: http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS49701

Habitat creation and repair / Oliver L. Gilbert and Penny Anderson. (1998)
Location: Natural History -- Call Number: 639.92 G375h

Handbook of ecological restoration / edited by Martin R. Perrow and Anthony J. Davy. (2002)
Location: Natural History -- Call Number: 333.95153 H19

Inventory of Ecological Restoration Projects within the MAIA Region : an Internet-accessible database of ecosystem restoration projects in the Mid-Atlantic Integrated Assessment Region / in development by US Environmental Protection Agency, Office of Research and Development and Office of Water. [includes map] (2001)
Location: Main Stacks Govt. Documents -- Call Number: DOC.EP 2.2:EC 7/8

Land restoration and reclamation : principles and practice / James A. Harris, Paul Birch and John P. Palmer. (1996)
Location: Natural History -- Call Number: 333.7153 H242L

Landscape restoration handbook / Donald Harker ... [et al.]. (1999)
Location: City Planning Reference [non-circulating] Call Number: 574.50288 L2391999

Nature by design : people, natural process, and ecological restoration / Eric Higgs. (2003)
Location: Natural History -- Call Number: 333.7153 H536n

Rehabilitation of rivers : principles and implementation / edited by Louise C. de Waal, Andrew R.G. Large, and P. Max Wade. (1998)
Location: Natural History -- Call Number: 577.64 r266

Repairing damaged wildlands : a process-oriented, landscape-scale approach / Steven G. Whisenant. (1999)
Location: Natural History -- Call Number: 333.7153 W578r

Restoration Ecology: the new frontier / editors, Jelte van Andel and James Aronson. (2006)
Location: Natural History -- Call number: 333.7153 R3132

Restoration of Boreal and Temperate Forests / editors, John A. Stanturf and Palle Madsen. (2005)
Location: Natural History -- Call number: 634.956 R313

Restoring diversity : strategies for reintroduction of endangered plants / edited by Donald A. Falk, Constance I. Millar, Margaret Olwell ; foreword by Reed F. Noss. (1996)
Location: Natural History -- Call Number: 581.529 R313

Risk management research plan for ecosystem restoration in watersheds [microform] / by Eric E. Jorgensen, Chris Geron, Guy W. Sewell. (1997)
Location: Govt Documents Microforms [non-circulating]
Call Number: MFICHEDOC. EP1.23/6:600/R-97/078

The sunflower forest : ecological restoration and the new communion with nature / William R. Jordan III. (2003)
Location: Natural History -- Call Number: 333.95153 J767s

Transdisciplinary Challenges in Landscape Ecology and Restoration Ecology: an anthology with forewords by E. Laszlo and M. Antrop and epilogue by E. Allen / Zev Naveh. (2007)
Location: Biology -- Call number: 577 N229t

Watershed restoration : principles and practices / edited by Jack E. Williams, Christopher A. Wood, Michael P. Dombeck. (1997)
Location: Natural History -- Call Number: 333.73153 W316

Wetland restoration, flood pulsing, and disturbance dynamics / Beth Middleton. (1999)
Location: Natural History -- Call Number: 333.918153 M584w

Wildlife restoration : techniques for habitat analysis and animal monitoring / Michael L. Morrison ; foreword by Paul R. Krausman. (2002)
Location: Natural History -- Call Number: 333.954153 M834w


JOURNALS

Aquatic Conservation: Marine and Freshwater Ecosystems
Location: Natural History -- Call Number: 333.9521605 AQ

International journal dedicated to publishing original papers that relate specifically to freshwater, brackish or marine habitats and encouraging work that spans these ecosystems.

Ecological Applications
Location: Natural History -- Call Number: 574.505 ECOL

Publication of the Ecological Society of America. Contains ecological research and discussion papers that have specific relevance to environmental management and policy.

Ecological Restoration
Location: Online / Natural History / City Planning -- Call Number: 333.7305 RE1

Owned by the University of Wisconsin Arboretum and edited by personnel of the Arboretum who are also members of SER. Made available to SER members by special arrangement with the Arboretum. Published quarterly -- subscription now includes both print and online versions -- and covers a broad range of topics, including progress reports on current restoration projects, topical and regional reviews of restoration activities, philosophical discourses on environmental ethics, descriptions of new restoration techniques, reviews of conferences and books, op-ed pieces, and letters from readers. A few of the more technical articles are peer-reviewed. Otherwise, manuscripts are meticulously reviewed by Ecological Restoration's editor Dave Egan, for a crisp and literate journalistic style. [includes many links for invasive species]

Ecological Engineering
Location: Online

"The journal is meant for ecologists who, because of their research interests or occupation, are involved in designing, monitoring, or constructing ecosystems. It is meant to serve as a bridge between ecologists and engineers, as ecotechnology is not wholly defined by either field. The journal will be read and contributed to by applied ecologists, environmental scientists and managers and regulators, natural resource specialists (e.g. foresters, fish and wildlife specialists), environmental and civil engineers, agroecologists, and landscape planners and designers. The journal is also for engineers who, as a result of training and/or experience in biological and/or ecological sciences, are involved in designing and building ecosystems. The journal is of particular interest to practising environmental managers due to its multidisciplinary approach to practical problems and opportunities. Specific topics covered in the journal include: ecotechnology; synthetic ecology; bioengineering; sustainable agroecology; habitat reconstruction; restoration ecology; ecosystem conservation; ecosystem rehabilitation; stream and river restoration; wetland restoration and construction; reclamation ecology; non-renewable resource conservation."

Environmental Management
Location: Online / Law / Main Stacks / Map & Geography -- Call Number: 301.305 ENM

"...publishes research and opinions concerning the use and conservation of natural resources, the protection of habitats and the control of hazards. Its field is applied ecology in the widest sense, without regard to the disciplinary boundaries created by modern academic study. Contributions are drawn from biology, botany, climatology, ecology, ecological economics, environmental engineering, fisheries, environmental law, management science, forest sciences, geography, geology, information science, law politics, public affairs, zoology. Hence, the journal serves to improve cross-disciplinary communication, and to make ideas and results from any one field available to environmental practitioners from other backgrounds."

Forest Ecology and Management
Location: Online / ACES -- Call Number: 634.9405 FO

"...publishes scientific articles concerned with forest management and conservation, and in particular the application of biological, ecological and social knowledge to the management of man-made and natural forests. The scope of the journal includes all forest ecosystems of the world. A refereeing process ensures the quality and international interest of the manuscripts accepted for publication. The journal aims to encourage communication between scientists in disparate fields who share a common interest in ecology and natural resource management, and to bridge the gap between research workers and forest managers in the field to the benefit of both."

Human Ecology
Location: Online / Education / Main Stacks -- Call Number: 301.305 HU

"An Interdisciplinary Journal publishes papers concerned with the complex and varied systems of interaction between people and their environment. Contributions examine the roles of social, cultural, and psychological factors in the maintenance or disruption of ecosystems and investigate the effects of population density on health, social organization, and environmental quality. Articles also address adaptive problems in urban environments and the interrelationship between technological and environmental changes."

Issues in Ecology
Location: Online / Natural History -- Call Number: 577 IS7

"Designed to report, in language understandable by non-scientists, the consensus of a panel of scientific experts on issues relevant to the environment. Issues in Ecology is supported by the Pew Scholars in Conservation Biology Program and the Ecological Society of America. All reports undergo peer review and must be approved by the editorial board before publication." Issues in Ecology is an official publication of the Ecological Society of America, the nation's leading professional society of ecologists.

Journal of Applied Ecology
Location: Online / Biology / Natural History -- Call Number: 574.505 JO

"One of the world's leading journals in its field, The Journal of Applied Ecology publishes original papers that apply ecological concepts, theories and methods to the management of biological resources in their widest sense, or that use applied ecological problems to test and develop ecological theory. The focus includes conservation biology and biodiversity; global change; pollution biology; wildlife and habitat management; land use and management (e.g. forestry and agriculture); fisheries and aquaculture; restoration ecology; and the applied ecology of nuisance species. The journal publishes standard papers, essay reviews, forum articles, and advances in applied ecological techniques, also providing a mechanism for rapid publication in very special cases. The journal is published six times a year."

Journal of Aquatic Ecosystem Stress and Recovery [formerly Journal of Aquatic Ecosystem Health. As of 2004, incorporated into `Hydrobiologia']
Location: Online

"The Journal of Aquatic Ecosystem Stress and Recovery encourages submission of original studies which address the measurement, analysis, interpretation, and significance of natural and anthropogenic stressors on components of freshwater, estuarine, and marine systems."

Journal of Chemical Ecology
Location: Online / Biology -- Call Number: 574.19205 JOCE

"Devoted to promoting an ecological understanding of the origin, function, and significance of natural chemicals that mediate interactions within and between organisms."

Journal of Ecosystems and Management
Location: Online

"The British Columbia Journal of Ecosystems and Management (JEM) is a peer-reviewed electronic journal published by FORREX-Forest Research Extension Partnership (the "Partnership"). JEM provides an innovative on-line forum for publishing information that supports and improves the sustainable management of the province's ecosystems. Aimed at practitioners, professionals, researchers, agencies, decision makers, and natural resource users, JEM harnesses the potential of electronic information technology to extend scientific results, successful management applications, socio-economic analyses, scholarly opinions, and operational and indigenous knowledge."

Journal of Environmental Quality
Location: Online / ACES / Main -- Call Number: Q. 630.5 JOE

Covers various aspects of anthropogenic impacts on the environment, including terrestrial, atmospheric, and aquatic systems. Emphasis is given to the understanding of underlying processes rather than to monitoring. Technical reports published in JEQ are grouped by subject matter. These subject areas are periodically reviewed by the JEQ editorial board and are subject to change. The subject matter areas include heavy metals in the environment, plant and environment interactions, organic compounds in the environment, surface water quality, ground water quality, ecosystem restoration, vadose zone transport processes and water quality, waste management, atmospheric pollutants and trace gases, landscape and watershed processes, wetlands and aquatic processes, biodegradation and bioremediation, and ecological risk assessment.

Land Degradation and Development
Location: Online

An international journal which seeks to promote rational study of the recognition, monitoring, control and rehabilitation of degradation in terrestrial environments. The journal focuses on what land degradation is, what causes land degradation, the impacts of land degradation, the scale of land degradation, the history, current status or future trends of land degradation, avoidance, mitigation and control of land degradation, remedial actions to rehabilitate or restore degraded land, sustainable land management.

Landscape Ecology
Location: Online / City Planning -- Call Number: 333.7205 LA

Seeks new and innovative papers that improve our understanding of the relationship between pattern and processes, and their consequences. Encourages papers that deal with the effects of biogeography, global change, or social and economic factors altering land-use, feedbacks with ecosystem processes, and the consequences of these changes. Particularly interested in papers on the application of landscape ecology to nature conservation, environmental management, landscape planning, and landscape restoration that address research questions.

Native Plants Journal
Location: Online / Natural History -- Call Number: 635.9517305 NA

Cooperative effort of the USDA Forest Service and the University of Idaho, with assistance from the USDA Agricultural Research Service and the Natural Resources Conservation Service. Goal is to provide technical and practical information on the growing and planting of North American (Canada, US, and Mexico) native plants for restoration, conservation, reforestation, landscaping, roadsides, and so on.

Natural Areas Journal
Location: Natural History -- Call Number: 333.731605 NA

Provides a forum for communication among persons involved in the identification, preservation, protection, and management of natural areas and elements of natural diversity.

New Forests
Location: Online / ACES -- Call Number: 634.95605 NE

Publishes original papers on the fundamental and applied aspects of afforestation and reforestation for a broad international audience of scientists and practitioners. Journal articles concern the reproduction of trees and forests originating from seed, planted seedlings or coppice for the purposes of resource protection, timber production, and agro-forestry. Natural and artificial methods of regeneration and all stand structures from even-aged to uneven-aged are considered. Topics include general silviculture, plant physiology, genetics, biotechnology, ecology, economics, protection, and management of all stages in the process of afforestation and reforestation.

Plant Ecology (formerly Vegetatio)
Location: Online / Biology -- Call Number: 581.1505 VE1

Publishes original scientific papers dealing with the ecology of vascular plants and bryophytes in terrestrial, aquatic and wetland ecosystems. Papers reporting on descriptive, historical, and experimental studies of any aspect of plant population, physiological, community, ecosystem and landscape ecology as well as on theoretical ecology are within the scope of the journal.

Population Ecology
Location: Online / Natural History -- Call Number: 591.5 R311

Publishes original research articles and reviews on various aspects of population ecology, from the individual to the community level. Among the specific fields included are population dynamics and distribution, evolutionary ecology, ecological genetics, theoretical models, conservation biology, agroecosystem studies, and bioresource management.

Restoration Ecology
Location: Online / Natural History -- Call Number: 333.715305 RE

Fosters the exchange of ideas among the many disciplines involved in the process of ecological restoration. Addressing global concerns and communicating them to the international scientific community, the journal is at the forefront of a vital new direction in science and ecology. Original papers describe experimental, observational, and theoretical studies on terrestrial, marine, and freshwater systems, and are considered without taxonomic bias. The primary emphasis is on ecological and biological restoration, and also publishes papers on soils, water, air, and hydrologic functions. Edited by a distinguished panel, the journal continues to be a major conduit for research scientists to publish their findings in the fight to not only halt ecological damage, but also to ultimately reverse it.

Science of the Total Environment
Location: Online / Engineering -- Call Number: 614.705 SC

Primarily an international medium for the publication of research into those changes in the environment caused by man's activities. Specifically, it is concerned with the changes in the natural level and distribution of chemical elements and compounds which may affect the well-being of the living world, and ultimately harm man himself. Emphasis is given to applied environmental chemistry and environmental health. The subjects covered include: application of techniques and methods of chemistry and biochemistry to environmental problems;all aspects of the contamination or pollution of air, water, soil and the human food chain; human and ecosystem health effects, when abnormalities in the level and distribution of chemical elements and compounds are prominent; the use of interdisciplinary methods in studies of the environment; natural and human-induced environmental changes at the global, regional and local levels;and the assessment, management and communication of risk.

Trends in Ecology and Evolution
Location: Online / Natural History -- Call Number: Q. 574.505 TR

Contains reviews, commentaries, discussions and letters in all areas of ecology and evolutionary science, including new developments and ideas across the full range of ecology and evolutionary biology - from the pure to the applied, and from molecular to global.

Water Research
Location: Online / Engineering -- Call Number: 614.7705 WA

Publishes refereed, original research papers on all aspects of the science and technology of water quality and its management worldwide, including environmental restoration, soil and groundwater remediation.

Water Resources Management
Location: Online

An international, multidisciplinary forum for the presentation of original contributions and the exchange of knowledge and experience on the management of water resources.

Wetlands Ecology and Management
Location: Online / Natural History -- Call Number: 574.52632505 We

International journal that publishes original articles in the field of wetlands ecology, the science of the structure and functioning of wetlands for their transformation, utilization, preservation and management on a sustainable basis. The journal covers both pure and applied science dealing with biological, physical and chemical aspects of freshwater, brackish and marine coastal wetlands.

Last Updated: 08/13/07 kam



University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Library Gateway Homepage
Send Questions and Comments to: INHS Librarian.
Illinois Natural History Survey