DATABASES
Below is a listing of some of the most prominent and well documented databases in the field. For more resources please visit our LIBGUIDE.
- Denotes that the resource is free and open access. To view links not followed by this open lock symbol on campus access or net id and password are required.
ATLA Religion Database:
Major index to journal articles, book reviews, and essay collections in the field of religion.
Encyclopedia of Islam:
The Encyclopedia of Islam has long been the definitive publication covering the whole scope of Islamic religion, life, and culture.
Historical Abstracts:
Indexes historical articles on historical topics from 1450 to the present. In addition to including the key historical journals from virtually every major country, Historical Abstracts includes a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities that are of special interest to researchers and students of history.
Index Islamicus:
Indexes periodicals and articles in the field of Islam are indexed completely. Other journals are indexed only for articles on Islamic subjects
Oxford Islamic Studies Online:
Contains Full Text Oxford Islamic Studies Online brings together the best current scholarship in the field to foster a more accurate and informed understanding of the Islamic world. Encompassing over 5,000 A-Z reference entries, chapters from scholarly and introductory works, Qur'anic materials, primary sources, images, maps, and timelines.
RAMBI: Index of articles on Jewish studies:
Indexes scholarly articles covering Jewish studies and Israel. The writings may be in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages and mostly reflect the holdings of the Jewish National and University Library in Jerusalem.
Anthropology Plus
Identifies print materials in anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research areas. Indexes entries at least two pages long in almost 900 journals and monographic series held in Harvard University's Tozzer Library, including articles, reports, commentaries and obituaries. Coverage is from the late 19th century to the present.
AnthroSource
Identifies articles from American Anthropological Association publications including journals, newsletters and bulletins.
Archives Direct
Is a suite of collections sourced from the national Archives, KEW - the UK government's official archive. Search the "Confidential Print: Middle East" tab for a wealth of resources pertaining to the regions. Materials cover such events as the Egyptian reforms of Muhammad Ali Pasha in the nineteenth century, the Middle East Conference of 1921, the Mandates for Palestine and Mesopotamia and the Suez Crisis in 1956, to the partition of Palestine, post-Suez Western foreign policy and the Arab-Israeli conflict.
Art Full Text
Offers full text plus abstracts and indexing of an international array of peer-selected publications. Areas covered include advertising art, antiques, archaeology, architecture and architectural history, computers in art, crafts, decorative arts, fashion design, folk art, graphic arts, industrial design, Interior design, landscape architecture, motion pictures, museology, non-Western art, painting, photography, pottery, sculpture, television, textiles, video.
CRL Official Gazettes Database 
An official gazette is the legal newspaper of a country, or of an administrative part of a country, which publishes the text of new laws, decrees, regulations, treaties, legal notices, and court decisions. The laws published in official gazettes are primary law in the official source; publication in the gazette, in many cases, initiates jurisdiction. The text published is the authoritative version, and commonly, the only published version.
Biblical Archaeologist 
Perspectives on the Ancient World from Mesopotamia to the Mediterranean.
Iraqi Academic Scientific Journals
IASJ is one platform where all scholarly journals published by the Iraqi universities and research institutions are indexed and discovered. All journals in IASJ are peer-reviewed and open access.
Periodicals Archive Online 
Welcome to the information site for Periodicals Archive Online, an archive of hundreds of digitised journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences.
Persian Language Databases at RISEST 
Through RICeST researchers (faculty members, students of different fields, etc.) can access, Persian and non-Persian information databases.
Project MUSE 
Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community.
Proquest Digital Dissertations
Provides subject, title, and author access to almost all American dissertations accepted at an accredited institution since 1861.
Social Sciences Citation Index
Identifies journal articles and cited references in all social science disciplines. Social Science Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database covering journal literature of the social sciences.
Web of Science
Provides access to the Science citation index expanded from 1900 to the present, Social sciences citation index from 1956 to the present, and Arts & humanities citation index from 1975 to the present.
