Global Studies Librarian
303 International Studies Building MC-402
910 South Fifth Street
Champaign, Illinois, 61820, USA
Mondays - 3:00-5:00 p.m. -Center for Global Studies, 910 South Fifth Street, Champaign, IL
Other times by appointment
Global Studies is a multi-disciplinary and interdisciplinary subject area that explores the concept of globalization and the interrelationships of peoples and states. For more help please contact us.
EIU Country Intelligence: Economic Intelligence Unit (EIU) Country Intelligence provides users with reports and analysis about political, business and economic issues by country, category and subject including risk ratings, licensing and trading information for the new economies, plus G-8 and regional forecasts. Users also have access to the Business Middle East online newsletter.
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe: Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe identifies full text publications for users wanting to search news, US and international law, company profiles and SEC filings, countries or public figures or a combination of these.
SourceOECD - Click the statistics tab at the top of the page for information on both developing and developed economies.
Statistical Universe: Statistical Universe identifies statistical information and reports. Users can search and browse summaries, abstracts, tables, PDFs and other editions of reports.
JSTOR: JSTOR identifies publications, research and content across disciplines.
OCED iLibrary: OCED iLibrary allows users to either search or brows for information in books, papers, statistics, fact books or glossaries on global studies topics.
American Bibliography of Slavic & Eastern European Studies: American Bibliography of Slavic & Eastern European Studies offers indexed journals, books, dissertations, online resources and selected government publications on East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union. Subject areas include anthropology, culture & the arts, economics, education, and geography. The literature was originally published in the U.S. and Canada from 1939-present.
eHRAF World Cultures: eHRAF World Cultures identifies information describing cultural practices worldwide.
CABI Global Health and CAB Abstracts: CABI Global Health and CAB Abstracts identifies scientific resources within the applied health sciences fields including biomedical life sciences, public health, health promotion, public health emergencies, epidemiology and biostatistics, environmental and occupational health, nutrition and food sciences, infectious diseases and parasitology, tropical and international health, diagnosis and therapy of disease and health systems.
Historical Abstracts: Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present in over 40 languages with publications starting in 1955. Historical Abstracts started a project in 2006 to extend coverage through the late 1800s.
Index Islamicus: Index Islamicus identifies publications in European languages covering all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world, including history, beliefs, societies, cultures, languages, and literature. Index Islamicus includes content published by Western orientalists, social scientists and Muslims from 1906 - present.
Oxford Islamic Studies Online: Oxford Islamic Studies Online identifies primary and secondary sources through searching or browsing on Islamic topics. Oxford Islamic Studies Online also provides timelines and learning resources.
Digital National Security Archive: Digital National Security Archive identifies declassified US government documents through searching or browsing.
Hein Online: Hein Online is a database of US law, regulations, foreign relations, international law, treaties and law reports from subscribed government and university library collections.
Military and Government Collection: Military and Government Collection identifies publications, research and content on military, security and governance issues worldwide from 1901 – present.
Linguistic and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA): LBAA identifies publications including books, book reviews, book chapters, journal articles, working papers and dissertations on all aspects of language studies such as phonetics, applied linguistics, learning disabilities and morphology.
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online): CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online) includes comprehensive information on international affairs and policy studies from sources such as books, journals, policy briefs, the working papers of university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences.
CSA Worldwide Political Science Abstracts: CSA Worldwide Political Science Abstracts identifies citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science, international relations, law, and public administration and policy from 1976 – present.
CQ Global Researcher: CQ Global Researcher includes topic reports on global affairs issues from international viewpoints that users can search or browse for in order to learn more about that topic and find additional related resources.
ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research): ICPSR identifies social science research data with in social and political science disciplines including criminal justice, public health, education, psychology and racial and ethnic minorities. Allows users to search or browse for information.
International Political Science Abstracts: International Political Science Abstracts identifies articles on political science issues such as government theory, political processes and national and area studies.
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Services): PAIS identifies articles, books, websites, statistics, yearbooks, directories, conference proceedings, pamphlets, reports, government documents, and microfiches on political, social, public policy issues from 1915 – present.
GEOBASE: GEOBASE is a database of research on geology, human and physical geography, environmental sciences, oceanography, geomechanics, alternative energy sources, pollution, waste management and nature conservation.
Web of Science: Web of Science includes Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Web of Science identifies articles, reviews, proceeding papers, editorial reviews, news items and many other content formats on subjects with in the sciences including but not limited to environmental sciences, engineering, food sciences, life sciences and geography.
CSA Sociological Abstracts: CSA Sociological Abstracts identifies abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers in sociology and in the social and behavioral sciences from 1963 – present.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS): IBSS provides comprehensive international coverage in 100 languages and countries identifying journal articles, books, reviews and selected chapters from 1951- present.
Social Sciences Citation Index: Social Sciences Citation Index includes journal articles and cited references in anthropology, political science, history, public health, industrial relations, social issues, information science, library science, social work, law, sociology, linguistics, substance abuse, philosophy, urban studies, psychology, women's studies, and psychiatry.
SocIndex: ScoIndex identifies full text publications, research and content on social issues worldwide from 1880 – present.
Women’s Studies International: Womans Studies International identifies articles, books, chapters, conference papers, gray literature and media on women's studies and feminism world wide from 1864 – present.
19 th Century British Library Newspapers: Newspapers dated in the 1800s from the British Library.
Access World News: Access World News offers news from around the world in English from 1977 – present. Sources include articles from Newspapers, newswires, transcripts, online news, blogs, journals, college and university newspapers, videos and newsletters.
AllAfrica Newspapers (English): African Newspapers in English.
APN Australian Newspapers: Australian Newspapers.
British Newspapers 1600 – 1900: British Newspapers from the 17 th, 18 th and 19 th centuries.
Early American Newspapers Newsbank Edition: A newsbank that allows users to pick an era of American history to search from the early colonial era of 1690 – 1729 through to the post-Vietnam era of 1976 – 1980.
Eastview Central and Regional Russian Newspapers: Newspapers from the Russian region.
Elsivier Science Medical Newspapers: Features newspapers that cover medical topics.
Ethnic NewsWatch: Ethnic News Watch includes full text publications for 200 newspapers and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press from 1959 – present.
ISI Emerging Markets IntelliNews Reports: ISI Emerging Markets provides information on emerging markets through financial news articles, company profiles, industry analysis, microeconomic statistics, financial statements, equity quotes and market-specific information.
Library PressDisplay: Library PressDisplay provides news articles from around the world that are searchable and browsable.
UIUC Newspaper Library Online Historical Newspaper Collection: Links to online archives of newspapers from around the World and the US, which mostly start in the 19 th or 20 th centuries.
World Newspaper Archive: Identifies articles from hundreds of Newspapers from around the United States and the World.
World Affairs Journal: Reports on important economic, philosophic and political affairs and events happening around the world.
Global Chronicle: The Global Chronicle is the section of the Chronicle of Higher Education that reports on global affairs.
National Geographic: Reports on news regarding astronomy, animal science, travel, geology and environmental sciences from around the world.
Foreign Policy Magazine: Reports on foreign policy and global affairs.
International Herald Tribune: Global edition of the New York Times. Reports on and global current events.
Biography Resource Center: Biography Resource Center identifies information about current public figures through browsing or searching.
Credo Reference: Credo Reference provides access to encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, quotations, bilingual dictionaries, a crossword solver and measurement conversions.
Gale Virtual Reference Library: Gale Virtual Reference Library identifies reference sources through browsing or searching in the areas of art, biography, business, education, environment, general reference, history, law, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, nation and world, religion, science and social science.
Oxford Digital Reference: Oxford Digital Reference provides access to 25 different subject encyclopedias on topics like global change, human rights, world exploration and social work.
If a circulating item is checked out and you would like to use it, ask a librarian for help finding copies in I-Share or obtaining a copy through inter-library loan.
This Encyclopedia provides 540 entries on global warming topics such as abrupt climate change, amazon deforestation, ecosystems, global monitoring, the little ice age, reefs, and sustainable development.
This Encyclopedia includes 300 articles on topics such as tsunamis, ocean pollution, mining regulation and permafrost melting. Categories covered in the encyclopedia include altered ecosystems, food and water supply, climate change, politics and global change, populations, biographies, institutions and policies and case studies.
The Encyclopedia Science contains entries from best-known GIScience scholars and scholarly experts from related GIScience disciplines.
This Encyclopedia is a four-volume set discussing the culture and history of South America, the Caribbean and Central America from its settlement through today. Volume one explores the early settlements of the Incas through the 1500s. Volume two explores the Spanish arrival and colonization through the 1820s. Volume three explores the 19 th and early 20 th century Latin American identity development. Volume four explores how Latin America claims its place in international politics, becomes influential worldwide and experiences globalization.
This Encyclopedia discusses the globalization of health care, chronicles important events and changes within global health and discusses global health topics such as: children’s health, global health in countries across the world, drugs and drug companies, organizations and associations and procedures and therapies.
This Encyclopedia is a four-volume set with 575 essays listed alphabetically ranging from 500 words to 3,000 words. Topics covered include but are no limited to: biological and energy resources, environment, geological processes and formations, laws and conventions, obtaining and using resources, agencies and programs, pollution and waste disposal, social, economic and political issues and plant and animal resources. Encyclopedia includes appendices.
This Encyclopedia discusses the ethnic groups in Europe that have migrated to Europe or within Europe. Section one covers regions in countries in Europe over the last centuries. Section two profiles 220 migrant groups from the 17 th century through today.
This Encyclopedia is a two-volume set that covers all the related areas of study connected to global justice internationally and interdisciplinary. This encyclopedia includes about 500 entrees that very in length from 300 to 5000 words. Entry length is based on their significance within global justice studies specifically.
This Encyclopedia covers the development, history and current state of some of the world’s most profitable industries. Entries discuss the impact of an industry economically and socially, its size, its work force, its development, how it is organized and the countries and companies within the industry, with rankings.
This Encyclopedia covers organizations, concepts and events associated with globalization. Topics such as anthropology, media, economics, communications, history, environment sociology, law, political economic development and politics are discussed in their relations to globalization. Several individual topics are also covered and section v.4 includes primary sources that are not listed as such in the table of contents. This encyclopedia is written for readers at the high school level and above.
This Encyclopedia is a two-volume set that traces the Buddhism history, how Buddhism blended with other religions, the Buddhist world-outlook, basic teachings and practices and the different Buddhist sects and schools. This encyclopedia also covers subjects such as Buddhist architecture, monastic orders, festivals and scriptures.
This Encyclopedia includes 300 alphabetical entries that look at the most dangerous terrorist organization and characters, their biggest motivations and the victims of terrorist attacks. Emphasis is given to modern terrorism, however historical examples are included. Appendices are also included.
The Oxford History of Islam is a four-volume set, which includes 300 illustrations and presents an extensive explanation of Islam. Chapters cover Islam from its beginnings through its development until the present. Subjects covered include the historical meeting of Christianity and Islam, Islam’s growth in Asia and Africa and religious challenges.
The Encyclopedia includes 250 cross-referenced entries on important organizations, military, diplomatic, economic and political vocabulary. This encyclopedia includes information on sub-fields such as foreign policy analysis, historical sociology, comparative politics, international political economy, strategic studies, ethics, military affairs, international history and international political theory.
The Encyclopedia covers all aspects of the religion and discusses the present philosophy of scholars among all three movements.
The Encyclopedia looks at the origins of how religion and politics have molded national and international policy, social outlooks, public dialogue and communal action and explains their effects over the past to centuries.
This encyclopedia contains entries for about 150 concepts and terms, 100 documents, 45 organizations and 46 people. Entries include options for finding further information about the topics discussed such as websites, documents, standards and further reading.
This encyclopedia includes 800 entries listed alphabetically discussing poverty and related global issues. About 150 entries cover organizations from small to large. Over 40 articles cover specific important individuals. Other articles analyze poverty causes and effects and their treatment and discuss its history. About 76 articles work to define and measure poverty. Articles are cross-referenced. Bibliographies and two appendixes are included.
The Encyclopedia is a two-volume set, which includes 550 topics and a reader’s guide. Topics include but are not limited to liberal market economy, regulation theory on a range of subjects, public investment, social constructivism and neoliberalism, decision-making, information governance, interpretive theory and policy analysis are covered.
This Encyclopedia is a two-volume set. The first volume covers political and economic aspects of globalization and security. Topics include but are not limited to: citizenship, development, finance, food security / fisheries, the nation-state, non-governmental organizations, terrorism and trade. The second volume covers social and cultural aspects of globalization and security. Topics in this volume include but are not limited to: consumerism, crime, culture, education, gender, global civil society, health security, inequality, religion and social movements.
This Encyclopedia is a three-volume set comprised of about 800 entries that range from 500 to 5,000 words per entry. The encyclopedia’s entries discuss the developing world’s “second world” and “third world” countries from 1945 through today. Regional studies are included, about 170 organizations are covered and about 134 individuals are covered. Some topics covered include caste systems, currency regimes, foreign direct investment and guerilla warfare. Bibliographies and guides to further reading and an index are included in each volume.
The Encyclopedia is a four-volume set discussing women’s concerns and global feminism theory and practice. Only volume one includes a list of articles organized into categories included in all volumes. Categories covered include but are not limited to: arts and literature, ecology and environment, education, reproduction, history of philosophy of feminism, violence and peace and women’s studies. Entries on individuals and specific nations are included within entries on topics.
If a circulating item is checked out and you would like to use it, ask a librarian for help finding copies in I-Share or obtaining a copy through inter-library loan.
This handbook is divided into two volumes written for undergraduate students, professional economists and dedicated non-student readers looking for theory and model summaries. This handbook provides coverage on a wide range of economic issues such as micro-, macro-, ethics, sports, AIDS, neuroeconomics and feminist economics. Chapters look at theory, applications, models and observational evidence.
This handbook includes information on new research subjects such as international and global concerns, organizations and networks, changes from socialist economics, institutional analysis and ancient world economic sociology.
This handbook provides an overview of India for Global Studies scholars.
This handbook provides an overview of the Koreas for Global Studies scholars.
This handbook provides an overview of China for Global Studies scholars.
This handbook provides an overview of Indonesia for Global Studies scholars.
This handbook includes chapters on globalization history and important theories and the factors that have caused changes in globalization. Negative effects and their response from international laws and organizations are also covered.
This handbook provides an overview of the Philippines for Global Studies scholars.
This handbook provides an overview of Vietnam for Global Studies scholars.
This handbook includes sections on theory and methodology, states and state formation, political regimes and transitions, political instability, mass political mobilization, processing political demands and governance.
This handbook is divided into three sections, which discuss influential 20 th century theoretical customs, new analysis practices and current issues in political and social theory. The handbook is written for undergraduate students, graduate students and researchers looking for an up-to-date account of recent social and political theory developments.
This handbook includes 46 chapters divided into 10 sections covering topics such as: the pluralist imagination, republican visions, civil society and the state, impartiality, the people, historical injustice and nationalism.
This handbook includes 44 chapters on topics such as practical discourse, ethics, approaches, the new liberalism and strategic studies.
This handbook includes 38 chapters on topics such as approaches to institutionalism and types of institutions such as electoral systems, territorial institutions, public bureaucracy and the welfare state.
This handbook is segmented into five parts: Northeast Asia, South Asia, Southeast Asia and cross regional issues. The handbook is written for students studying Asian security, Asian politics and international relations and aims to cover all major conflicts and security issues within the regions.
This handbook includes 40 chapters on topics such as theoretical frameworks, UN organs, relationships with other actors, international peace and security, human rights and development.
This handbook examines issues in European Studies that teaches readers about global governance. Chapters analyze discussions on global governance methodology, theory and observations. The handbook includes European studies scholars and international relations scholars in order to achieve an interdisciplinary record.
United Nations Statistics Division: Collects and analyzes data from around the world.
United Nations Children’s Fund (UNICEF): Works to make life better for children around the world.
United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP): Researches the environment and promotes “green” environmental practices.
UN Refugee Agency (UNHCR): Works to protect refugees and solve refugee problems around the world.
World Health Organization (WHO): A division of the UN providing leadership on global health matters.
World Food Programme: The largest humanitarian agency fighting world hunger worldwide.
World Security Network: An independent global action network for foreign and defense affairs.
Human Rights Watch: An independent organization dedicated to protecting human rights.
USAID: USAID provides foreign aid. The website provides information on its initiatives.
World Digital Library: A Library of Congress associated website, the World Digital Library provides documents about the world from around the world from 8000 BCE through the present.
Hathi Trust Digital Library: Provides books on a full range of historical eras, countries and disciplines.
World Bank: Collects knowledge to reduce poverty and support development.
International Monetary Fund: The IMF is mad cup of 187 countries. It works to assist economic cooperation, reduce poverty, promote growth and facilitate trade and economic stability.
European Commission Eurostat: The statistics division of the European Commission
Search for books and articles related to the subject of global studies and globalization. Consider using terms such as globalization, anti-globalization, international relations, and economics.
Article Locator: Looking for a specific article or journal? Do you have a citation? Try the article locator.
Online Journals and Databases: Looking for a specific database or journal? Would you like to browse databases and journals by subject? Try the Online Journals and Databases. Also, if you have a specific citation, enter it in the CitationLinker.