Databases for the European Union
- Access World News
This is a great resource for current events. In addition to indexing and providing full text for many local, regional, national, and international newspapers, you can find newswire stories, broadcast transcripts, and current issues of the New York Times, Newsweek, and more. Covers 1985 - 2008.
- ENDS Europe REPORT
Billing itself as "environmental intelligence for professionals," this database provides over 17,000 articles on the topic of environmental sustainability. It includes both news and analysis.
- International Bibliography of Social Sciences
Indexes an extensive number of articles, government reports, pamphlets, and books in various languages, though publications in English predominate. Most journals are indexed selectively. Arranged in five major sections. Includes author and title index.
- International Political Science Abstracts
Provides non-evaluative abstracts from political science journals Index from around the world. Abstracts are grouped according to broad tables topic and are accessible through a subject index. Most abstracts are in English though some are in French.
- Lexis Nexis Academic Universe
A comprehensive source for news, business, and legal information, with full text and abstracts. Includes foreign news sources, major U.S. newspapers, regional U.S. news services, radio and television transcripts, federal and state case law, medical, legislative and industry news, annual reports from Securities and Exchange Commission and many other sources. Newspapers are updated several times daily, and wire services hourly.
- MLA International Bibliography
The MLA (Modern Language Association) Bibliography indexes scholarly criticism in language, literature, folklore, and linguistics. Issues of linguistic and cultural policy, multilingualism and translation are covered with articles in numerous languages.
- PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service)
This is a bibliographic index with abstracts covering the full range of political, social, and public policy issues. Topics covered include economic, political, and social issues, business, finance, law, international trade and relations, public administration, government, political science, and any topics that are or might become the subject of legislation. The database covers selected journal articles, books, statistics, yearbooks, directories, conference proceedings, pamphlets, reports, government documents, and microfiche. More than 1,600 journals and over 8,000 monographs are indexed each year. Coverage includes documents published worldwide in any of six languages: English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish. The subject headings and abstracts are in English.
- OECD iLibrary
The Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development's Source. OECD provides a wide variety of economic information and statistical resources in the form of books, periodicals, statistical databases and even downloadable software. Furnishes statistics, papers, and selected special reports on the member countries of OECD; covers various aspects of economies including education, economy, infrastructure, and trade.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts.
1975-Present. This database provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy.