UIUC Gaming Initiative - Guide to Researching Video Games
Video Games
Topic Overview
The twenty-first century has shown a continued increase in scholarship about electronic games.
Social scientists tend to explore the effects games have on individuals and groups, while
humanities scholars analyze the meanings of particular games and their cultural context. In this
new and evolving field, scholars are also beginning to look at games as a unique medium of
communication as well as a possible means of education.
Terminology commonly associated with this topic includes:
- Video games
- Electronic games
- Computer games
- Video games & children
- Computer games
- Internet games
- Video games & children
Top
Background Sources
There are numerous sources appropriate for your research in the Undergraduate Library's
Reference Collection. Those listed below provide excellent starting points for your research. If
you need help identifying other sources,
Ask a Librarian.
Suggested reference sources:
-
Encyclopedia of Children, Adolescents, and the Media (Communications Library) Q.
302.2308303 En194. Contains interdisciplinary discussions of video games, television, and the
Internet and their effects on young people.
-
Issues and Controversies on File.973.05 IS. Provides a rich assortment of
introductory articles on social issues like gaming.
-
CQ Researcher
Online access. Provides original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news
(print copy in Undergraduate periodicals).
Top
Statistical Information
Statistical information can be found in many sources, both print and online. Given the necessary
time for a book to come to press the most recent information is likely to be found online. Note, as
well, statistical sources cited in background and reference sources you consult. See if you can
locate more recent versions of these.
Online statistical resources:
-
Statistical Universe
(Lexis-Nexis) - Provides government statistics, business, trade, and research
information, and private and international statistical information. U.S. government statistics go
back to 1973 and private and state sources go back to 1980.
Top
Finding Articles
Articles are a valuable resource in any research paper or project. Articles (as opposed to
books) generally possess characteristics listed below.
Characteristics
- Shorter length
- Currency of information
- Focus on a specific aspect of a topic
Suggested keywords for this topic:
- Video games
- Electronic games
- Computer games
- Gaming
- Internet games
Check the subject headings/descriptors for individual articles in your searches and repeat your
search using these terms. Please note, subject headings are not consistent across databases
Recommended Article Databases:
General Interest Databases (cover a variety of subjects/topics)
Discipline Specific Databases (focus on a specific discipline or collection of related
disciplines)
-
Lexis Nexis Academic
- Identifies articles from newspapers, journals, and reference books.
-
ComAbstracts
- Identifies articles in communications including broadcasting, journalism, mass media, and
public relations.
-
Communication abstracts
- Identifies publications in communications including international literature in film
studies, the role of technology in human communications, crisis communication and public
opinions.
-
Alternative Press Index
- Identifies full text articles from newspapers, magazines and journals from the alternative
and independent press.
Top
Finding Books
Books are another valuable resource in any research paper or project. Books (as opposed to
articles) generally possess the characteristics listed below.
Characteristics
- Longer in length
- Good sources of background and historical information
- Often contain footnotes and lengthy bibliographies
Suggested subject headings for this topic:
- Video games
- Video games and children
- Video games--history
- Video games--psychological aspects
- Video games--social aspects
- Video games--United States
- Electronic games
- Computer games
- Internet games
Book Catalogs:
Top
Recommended Internet Sites
The following Internet sites have been reviewed and recommended by the Undergraduate Library as
credible academic resources for this topic.
Resources
Top