Array Funk ACES Library Extension Resources
Resource Guide to the Food Sciences

DATABASES


The following databases, available through the UIUC Library Gateway, index valuable food science resources.

AGRICOLA, from WebSPIRS
"AGRIS provides worldwide bibliographic coverage of agricultural science and technology literature. Covers the many aspects of agriculture, including agronomy, animal husbandry, aquatic sciences and fisheries, forestry, horticulture, and human nutrition from over 135 participating countries."

Arts & Humanities Citation Index, from Web of Science
"A multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. Archaeology, Linguistics, Architecture, Literary Reviews, Art, Literature, Asian Studies, Music, Classics, Philosophy, Dance, Poetry, Folklore, Radio, Television, & Film, History, Religion, Language, Theater."

Biological Abstracts (BIOSIS), from WebSPIRS
"Covers every discipline in the life sciences, including the fields of biochemistry, biology, botany, cell biology, medicine, microbiology, molecular biology, physiology and zoology."

CAB Abstracts, from WebSPIRS
"CAB ABSTRACTS covers the subject of agriculture in the broadest sense. It includes: agronomy, biotechnology, crop protection, dairy science, economics, environmental degradation and remediation, forestry, genetics, herbicides, irrigation, leisure, recreation and tourism, microbiology, nutrition, parasitology, rural development, veterinary medicine, and much more."


Food Science and Technology Abstracts (FSTA), from WebSPIRS
"FSTA covers all areas of food science, food technology, and human nutrition, including basic food science, biotechnology, toxicology, packaging, and engineering."

Human Nutrition, from WebSPIRS
"Contains references to the world's literature on nutrition specific to humans. Topics covered include food allergies and nutrition; food production; agriculture and meat industries; chemistry of food additives; nutritional evaluation of food products; and the effects of nutrition on human health."

PubMed
"Pub Med covers biomedical research and the clinical and life sciences"

Science Citation Index Expanded, from Web of Science
"A multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the sciences. Some of the disciplines covered include: agriculture, neuroscience, astronomy, oncology, biochemistry, pediatrics, biology, pharmacology, materials science, surgery, mathematics, veterinary science, medicine, and zoology."

Social Sciences Citation Index, from Web of Science
"A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the social sciences. Anthropology, History, Public Health, Industrial Relations, Social Issues, Information Science & Library Science, Social Work, Law, Sociology, Linguistics, Substance Abuse, Philosophy, Urban Studies, Psychology, Women's Studies, Psychiatry."


Warning: mysql_free_result(): supplied argument is not a valid MySQL result resource in /www/agx/finders/foods/databases.php on line 146