Microform collections on world cultures, reading, curriculum materials, reports and documents in education and psychology, tests, and more are available in the Education and Social Science Library. These collections include unique materials not available in book or journal formats. Detailed information concerning the content of each of these microform collections is provided in this guide. Almost all of ESSL's microform materials are on fiche (flat 4" x 6" sheets) rather than film (which comes in rolls).
Location of Microfiche Reader/Printers:
Most microfiche can be checked out for four weeks (HRAF microforms do not circulate). A file box near the microfiche printers is provided for patrons who wish to store microfiche which they intend to use on a regular basis. When removing microfiche from the cabinets for use, please mark the place with a removal slip to facilitate the refiling process for staff. (Removal slips are kept on top of the fiche cabinets).
|
MFICHE
(Room 112) |
American Primers . University Publications of America. Bethesda, MD. 1990. Collection of 844 titles covering a "variety of introductory reading materials," including primers, readers, spelling books, alphabet books, teaching manuals, non-instructional juveniles, and a small number of miscellaneous items all aimed at children. Multiple editions of some texts are included to illustrate changes in design, attitudes, and publishers. Time periods are divided into the following categories: Colonial (1639-1782), Early National (1783-1837), Pre-Civil War (1838-1865), Early Modern (1866-1920), and Modern (1921-1943). An index to the collection is located on top of the microfiche cabinets in Room 112. |
|
MFICHE
(Room 112) |
Early children's literature: The Birmingham Central Library Collection to 1830 . Emmett Publishing. Haslemere, Surrey, England. 1995. Includes early juvenile fiction, fairy tales, chapbooks, periodicals, and non-fiction works. Items in this collection date from 1530 to 1830, and represent 1,200 volumes by over 740 authors. A guide to the collection (MFICHE011.62B537eguide) is available in the School Collection reference area. |
|
MFICHE
(Room 112) |
El Savador: the Making of U.S. Policy, 1977-1984 . The National Security Archive (U.S.). Alexandria, VA. 1989. Focuses on U.S. policy towards El Salvador and events in El Salvador from January 1977-May 1984. A small number of documents created after June 1984 that discuss events of the earlier period and are considered essential to the collection are also included. The National Security Archive sought previously unpublished materials, so most documents in the collection are not readily available elsewhere. A guide and index to the collection, may be found under the same call number in Room 112. |
|
Uncataloged (Room 112 and corridor near fiche printers) |
ERIC Microfiche Collection . Educational Resources Information Center. Washington, D.C. Monthly. 1966-2003. This collection consists of unpublished and fugitive materials including more than 300,000 research studies, program descriptions and evaluations, conference proceedings, curriculum materials, bibliographies and other documents. Although the materials relate primarily to education, information on related areas such as social work, nursing, counseling, and child development may also be found. The microfiche are indexed in the ERIC database. Most ERIC documents issued since 1993 are available online through the ERIC database. In 2004, ERIC ceased creating microfiche, moving to an online-only model for new documents. |
|
Uncataloged (Room 112) |
Human Relations Area Files (HRAF) . Human Relations Area Files, Inc. New Haven, CT. [1949- .] Microfiche files 1984-1993. The HRAF Archive is a unique source of information on the cultures of the world. The Archive currently (1997) contains over 900,000 pages of indexed information, from more than 7,000 sources, on approximately 350 different cultural, ethnic, religious, and national groups around the world. The Library's collection consists primarily of the paper edition of the Archive. The files and accompanying reference guides are located in Room 112. For more information, please inquire at the reference desk. From 1984 until 1992, HRAF was issued only in microfiche. Beginning in 1993 an electronic format was adopted. Many HRAF documents can now be accessed online through the eHRAF database; see this guide for more information. |
|
MFICHE
(Room 112) |
The Iran-Contra Affair: The Making of a Scandal, 1983-1988 . The National Security Archive (U.S.). Alexandria, VA. Ir1 1990. Contains more than 4,000 documents from 1983 through 1988 on the political, military, and paramilitary operations during the Iran-Contra affair. Principal documents involve those papers examined during official investigations, such as the Tower Commission and the Senate Select Committee on Intelligence. In addition, governmental and non-governmental documents compiled independently by the National Security Archive are included. The documents have been reproduced on microfiche and are organized by document number. A 2-volume guide and index is shelved in the reserves collection under the same number. |
|
Uncataloged (Room 112) |
Journal Supplement Abstract Service (JSAS). American Psychological Association. Washington, D.C. 1971-1982. This collection of materials in psychology includes technical reports, invited addresses, bibliographies, literature reviews, well-designed studies with negative results, reports on major research in progress, proceedings of meetings of regional psychological associations and other psychology-related material not available through conventional publishing channels. Arrangement is by sequentially-assigned abstract numbers. Abstracts of items in the collection appear in the semiannual Social and Behavioral Sciences Documents (016.15p9591), formerly Psychological Documents (016.15P959, index tables), and The Catalog of Selected Documents in Psychology (150.5CAT, index tables). Social and Behavioral Science Documents is arranged by manuscript number within broad subject categories. |
|
Uncataloged (Curriculum Collection) |
Kraus Curriculum Development Library . Kraus. White Plains, NY. Annual. 1978-2005. This is a collection of curriculum guides from numerous sources in the United States. To search the collection, use the Kraus Curriculum Development Library database. Items added since 2001 are available in full text online; earlier items are available in fiche. The collection includes curriculum guides and documents which cover educational requirements, programs, and teaching practices for grades K-12, early childhood education, and adult basic education throughout the United States and Canada. |
|
MFICHE
(Room 112) |
Tests in Microfiche . Educational Testing Service. Princeton, New Jersey. Annual. 1975-. This collection consists of unpublished tests which are not generally included in standard reference sources. The Annotated Index (371.26T282INDEX, located on index tables under the title Tests in Microfiche) indexes these tests by title, subject, and author. Microfiche copies of the tests are filed by a number assigned to each test. |
|
MFICHE
(Room 112) |
William S. Gray Research Collection in Reading . Alvina Treut Burrows Institute. Manhasset, N.Y. 1884-1985. This collection provides full-text microfiche copies of literature relating to research in reading, including research documents from journals, books, research reports, monographs and dissertations. Over 12,000 reports are included. The Library has reports from 1884-1980 and 1984-1985. A guide to the collection (MFICHE375.4284W67guide) is available next to fiche cabinet in Room 112. Author and subject indexes are available on 4" x 6" cards filed in cabinets in Room 112. |