Subjects

Databases

UIUC Library

English as an International Language Guide

 

:: Call Numbers | Databases | Reference Works | Historical Works | TOEFL Preparation | Web Resources | Journals  ::

Print Version [PDF]

The University of Illinois contains many useful resources to facilitate academic study and research in the teaching and learning of English as a second, foreign, or international language. These resources are primarily located in either the Education and Social Science Library (ESSL) or the Literatures & Languages Library. The Curriculum Collection in ESSL maintains a small number of textbooks and classroom resources to aid the beginning English learner, particularly those in the elementary or secondary grades. These materials are located under the call numbers 428.24, 428.34, or 428.64, preceded by the prefixes TEXT or CURR. If you need assistance locating these materials, please visit the reference desk or Ask-A-Librarian.

In addition, the Department of Linguistics maintains a specialized library facility. The TESL Library, located in Room 3046 of the Foreign Languages Building, is an excellent source of information on English language education. It houses a collection of books, select current journals, and equipment. More information about the TESL Library can be found at its website.

 


 

Call Numbers

If you would like to browse the shelves of a library for materials on this topic, the call number ranges which will yield the best results arethe 420s and 428s. Again, the Education and Social Science Library and the Literatures & Languages Library are the most appropriate facilities. However, the Undergraduate and Communications Libraries may house some materials. In addition, older materials are often located in the Main Library Bookstacks (Main Stacks) on the Library's second floor. The following is a breakdown of the linguistics and English language call number range.

422-423             Etymology and dictionaries of standard English

425                   Grammar of standard English

427                   Historical and geographic variations, modern non-geographic variations

428                   Standard English usage (Prescriptive Linguistics/Applied Linguistics)

428.24              Structural approach to learning English for non-native English speakers

428.34              Audio-lingual approach to learning English for non-native English speakers

428.64              English readers for those whose native language is different

 


 

Databases

In addition to the numerous general and social science-related databases, the following resources provide citations to articles and other items on English as an international language:

 


 

Current Reference Works and Other Books (Since 1990)

General Resources

PE1128.A2 A534 2001
Analysing English in a Global Context: A Reader. (2001).
Literatures and Languages Library

PE2751 .P46 1994
The Cultural Politics of English as an International Language. (1994).
Literatures and Languages Library

420.7t223t1c
Directory of Professional Preparation Programs in TESOL in the United States: 2002-2004. (2002).
Education Library (Reference)

Q.403 En19 2006
The Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics. (2006).
Main Reference Room

PE2751 .E57 1997
Englishes Around the World. (1997).
Literatures and Languages Library

428.0071f925
From Testing to Assessment: English as an International Language. (1994).
Education Library

PE1074.7 .T78 2008
International English: A Guide to Varieties of Standard English. (2008).
Literatures and Languages Library

PE2751 .O83 1992
The Other Tongue: English Across Cultures. (1992).
Literatures and Languages Library

427 M459o
The Oxford Guide to World English. (2002).
Main Reference Room

PE1128.A2 .S73 1993
State of the Art TESOL Essays. (1993).
Undergrad Reserves

420.7t182
Tasks for Independent Language Learning. (1996).
Education Library

428.007t223
Teaching and Learning English Worldwide. (1990).
Education Library

 

Resources for Learning

428Ax78d
Do's and Taboos of Using English Around the World. (1995).
Undergrad Library

423 Ox232003
The Oxford-Duden Pictorial English Dictionary. (2003).
Main Stacks

427 J417w
World Englishes: A Resource Book for Students. (2003).
Literatures and Languages Library

 

Resources for Teaching

PE1128.A2 L54 1996
Functional English Grammar: An Introduction for Second Language Teachers. (1996).
Literatures and Languages Library

Online
Handbook on Research on Teaching the English Language Arts . (2003).
Education Library (Reference)

418 H191
Handbook of Research in Second Language Teaching and Learning (2005).
Education Library (Reserves)

420.712Id22
Ideas for the Working Classroom: Classroom Practices in Teaching English. Volume 27, (1993).
Education Library

428.007Sh73I
Interactive Techniques for the ESL Classroom. (1991).
Education Library

420.7Sn61m
More Than a Native Speaker: An Introduction for Volunteers Teaching Abroad. 1996.
Education Library

 


 

Historical Works (Prior to 1990)

General Resources

PE2751 .K3 1990
The Alchemy of English: The Spread, Functions, and Models of Non-Native Englishes . (1990).
Literatures and Languages Library

PE2751 D57 1987
Discourse Across Cultures: Strategies in World Englishes. (1987).
Literatures and Languages Library

PE1700 .E5 1982
English as a World Language. (1982).
Literatures and Languages Library

PE1128.A2 E485 1985
English in the World: Teaching and Learning the Language and Literatures. (1985).
Literatures and Languages Library

PE1073 .R4 1983
Readings in English as an International Language. (1983).
Literatures and Languages Library

428.007L125t
Teaching English Across Cultures. (1988).
Education Library

 

Resources for Teaching

420.7c87r1980
Readings on English as a Second Language: For Teachers and Teacher Trainees. (1980).
Education Library (Reserves)

PE1128.A2 S864 1980
Teaching English as an International Language: From Practice to Principle. (1980).
Literatures and Languages Library

 

Resources for Learning

425 C62R
A Reference Grammar for Students of English. (1975).
Education Library

 

Other Resources for Learning English

Department of Linguistics
The Department of Linguistics offers a number of resources and facilities related to second language learning and research.  This information is found at their website.

 


 

TOEFL Preparation Materials

In addition to TESL Library and its facilities mentioned above, the Office of International Student Affairs may provide some support to those preparing for the Test of English as a Foreign Language, or TOEFL. Although it does not offer direct assistance with the exam, the office allows students to meet other international students, answers general questions and concerns, provides counseling and advising services, workshops, seminars, and orientation activities, and maintains an OISA newsgroup. Its website provides helpful information, links to useful web resources, and explains English language learning opportunities at UIUC.

Students can pick up a copy of the TOEFL Bulletin in the Testing Office in the Turner Student Services Building (610 East John Street, Champaign). The Bulletin provides registration information and information on how to receive free test preparation materials. The TOEFL homepage is online at http://www.toefl.org/index.html. The site is searchable and is divided into three sections:

The following section is divided into books and audiovisual resources for preparing for the Test of English as a Foreign Language. They introduce the exam and explain its format, content and questions.

 

Books for TOEFL Preparation

428.0076 G261c 2002
Cambridge Preparation for the TOEFL Test. 3r ed., (2002).
Undergraduate Library (Career Cluster)

428.0076M433e
Essential Words for the TOEFL. (1993).
Undergraduate Library (Career Cluster)

428.0076Z61T1995
TOEFL Supercourse. 3rd ed., (1995).
Undergraduate Library

420.76M81T1991
TOEFL, Test of English as a Foreign Language. 5th ed., (1991).
Undergraduate Library (Career Cluster)

420.76T5711996
TOEFL Test of Written English Guide. 4th ed., (1996).
Education Library

 

Sound and Video Recordings for TOEFL Preparation

428.24076 SH2B2003
Practice Exercises for the TOEFL Test. 5th ed., (2003). Book and Listening CD.
Undergraduate Library (Career Cluster)

428.0076 C84
Cracking the TOEFL. (1998 and 1999). CD and CD-ROM.
Undergraduate Library (Career Cluster)

CASS428.076L6971999
How to Prepare for the TOEFL Test of English as a Foreign Language. 9th ed., (1999). Two CDs.
Undergraduate Library (Career Center)

 


 

Web Sites

Most of these sites offer general information as well as pages for both English teachers and students of the language. Therefore, teachers and learners are encouraged to visit each of the sites. Nonetheless, the Web sites are arranged into categories indicating their primary focus. The sites contain insight into English-language topics, activities for learning the language, general interest reading in English, teaching tools such as lesson plans, related links to additional sites, and much more.

For English Learners

For English Teachers

For Both Teachers and Learners

 


 

Selected Journals

418An782
Annual review of applied linguistics.1980-present.
Literatures and Languages Library

418.005Ap
Applied linguistics. 1980- present.
Literatures and Languages Library

428.05Es1
English for Specific Purposes 1980-present.
Continues ESP Journal (428.05Es).
Main Stacks

820.9En368
English in Africa 1974-present.
Main Stacks

820.5Ena
English Journal. 1912-present.
Last 3 years in Education Library
Volumes older than five years available in the Main Stacks.

Doc.1A1.17
English Teaching Forum (Formerly Forum)
2000-date: Online Availability Only
1984-1999: Main Stacks

420.5Eng
English Today: The International Review of the English Language. 1985-present.
Last 5 years in Literatures and Languages Library
Volumes older than five years available in the Main Stacks.

427.905En
English World-wide: A Journal of Varieties of English. 1980-present.
Last 5 years in Literatures and Languages Library
Volumes older than five years available in the Main Stacks.

428.007 Es742
Essential Teacher. 2003- present.<
Oak Street [request only]

418.005In
International Journal of Applied Linguistics. 1980- present.
Main Stacks

418.005Is
Issues in Applied Linguistics. 1996-present.
Literatures and Languages Library

401.9305La
Language Acquisition. 1990-present.
Last 5 years in Education Library.
Volumes older than five years available in the Main Stacks.

405LAL
Language Learning. 1948-present.
Oak St [request only]

407 L26943
Language Testing. 1948-present.
Oak St [request only]

407.072Se24
Second Language Research. 1985-present.
Literatures and Languages Library
Volumes older than five years available in the Main Stacks.

410.5 STU
Studies in Second Language Acquisition. 1977-present.
Literatures and Languages Library
Volumes older than five years available in the Main Stacks.

420.7t284
TESL Canada Journal. 1984-present.
Literatures and Languages Library
Volumes older than five years available in the Main Stacks.

428.007t284
TESOL Journal. 1992-2003.
Last 3 years in Education Library

F. 428.07 T2842
TESOL Matters. 1991-1999.
Main Stacks

420.705 TE
TESOL Quarterly . 1976-present.
Last 10 years in Education Library.
Volumes older than ten years available in the Main Stacks.

428.07W8931
World Englishes. 1985-2007.
Main Stacks