Bibliographies and Lists
These sites, in general to specific order, all try to provide general access to the vast array
of government information on the Internet. They vary in the approach they take and their
organization. The descriptions below may help you determine which is most appropriate for your
particular use.
-
SuDoc
List of Internet Titles
- A list of links to federal government publications online, by Superintendent of Documents
Classification, which organizes federal publications by issuing agency. SuDoc numbers have not been
assigned to links for which the associated web pages do not have SuDoc numbers or a comparable
print publication. Agency homepage, overview, or gateway-type web pages -- which in turn organize
other pages on the agency's website -- are listed first. Statistical databases are also
listed.
-
FDsys (formerly GPO
Access)
- Search for a broad range of U.S. government information. GPO Access includes the
Catalog of U.S.
Government Publications, which is a searchable index of government information in print as well
as electronic format.
-
USA.gov
- Federal government website that provides the public with easy, one-stop access to all online
U.S. Federal Government resources, including a search engine, directory by topic, and directory by
department. Maintained by the
General Services
Administration.
-
University of
Michigan Documents Center Main Page
- Includes links to federal, international, and local governmental agencies; also features links
for documents in the news, political science and statistics information, and guides for class
assignments.
-
Federal Agency Internet
Sites
- Maintained by LSU, based on the entries in the US Government Manual.
-
Federal
Information Sources
- From East Carolina University Government Documents Library. Includes Links to popular and
useful Government sites, in 10 broad categories -- including Science & Technology, Consumer
Information, and Educational Statistics.
-
Frequently Used Sites
Related to U.S. Government Information
- A project of the American Library Association's Government Documents Round Table's Federal
Documents Task Force. Covers all major sites by topic
-
Abbreviations and
Acronyms of the U.S. Government.
- This site from Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis lists abbreviations for
agencies commonly used by the federal government, with links to the Web site for each agency
listed.
-
GPO's
Finding Aid to Government Information: New Electronic Titles
- Publications titles arranged by agencies. Also contains a "What's New" section.
-
Guide
to Cartographic Products of the Federal Depository Library Program (PDF)
- This page, compiled by the State University of New York at Buffalo, lists the cartographic
products of the FDLP. It will be updated once a year, based on GPO's
List of Classes publications.
-
GovSpot
- A directory of
government information, including information arranged by subject and a section of frequently asked
questions.
-
Guide
to Online Resources on Intellectual Property Rights
- Find both basic and technical information on copyrights, patents, and trademarks
here.
-
Patent Information
- Compiled by the Grainger Engineering Library at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign,
this site explains where to access patent information on the Internet and how to research
patents.
-
Interactive
Tariff and Trade DataWeb
- Search this database from the U.S. International Trade Administration by industrial code,
country, or region. Registration is required to use the site.
Catalogs & Search Engines
-
Catalog of U.S.
Government Publications
- This on-line index from the U.S. Government Printing Office searches both print and on-line
publications back to 1994. For coverage back to 1976, use
OCLC's
FirstSearch, and choose "GPO" in the dropdown menu.
-
InfoMine for Government
Information
- INFOMINE is a unique Web resource featuring well organized access to important university level
research and educational tools on the Internet. A virtual library, INFOMINE is notable for its
collection of annotated and indexed links. The site is built by librarians and is maintained by the
University of California, Riverside.
-
SearchGov
- A commercial search engine that searches only government sites, and includes a list of links to
U.S. government agencies.
Consumer Resources
-
FCIC
National Contact Center
- This site from the Federal Citizen Information Center is in a Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)
format, guiding users to information about federal services and information. It also gives a phone
number to call if your question is not answered on the site.
-
Consumer.gov
- This site links to information for consumers from many federal agencies and is maintained by
the Federal Trade Commission. Some topics included are product recall notices, health information,
and consumer fraud.
Election Resources
-
Project Vote Smart
- Tracks the performance of over 13,000 political leaders. From the non-profit organization The
Center for National Independence in Politics.
-
Federal Voting Assistance
Program
- Includes a
Voting Assistance Guide
for each state.
-
The National
Mail Voter Registration Form
- The form enables you to register to vote from anywhere in the United States.
Historical and Archived Documents
-
National Security
Archive
- An independent non-governmental research institute and library located at The George Washington
University in Washington, D.C. The Archive collects and publishes declassified documents acquired
through the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA).
-
The Avalon
Project
- Provides access to important historical and foundational documents relevant to the fields of
Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government. Historical categories are pre-18th
Century, 18th Century, 19th Century, and 20th Century.
-
American Memory Project
- American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words,
sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American
experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the
collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people,
places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education
and lifelong learning.
-
Our Documents
- To help us think, talk and teach about the rights and responsibilities of citizens in our
democracy, we invite you to explore 100 milestone documents of American history. The Our Documents
initiative is a cooperative effort among National History Day, The National Archives and Records
Administration, and USA Freedom Corps.
Technical & Scientific Information
-
Fedworld
- From the National Technical Information Service (NTIS).
-
Scientific and Technical
Aerospace Reports
- NASA's Scientific and Technical Program Office publishes this index to its research and
technical reports.
-
NITRD
R&D Dashboard
- A portal for information about Federal research projects. The
public may use this tool to stay better informed as to how its investment in research and
development is being utilized. It also provides a unique window to the Federal research community,
allowing agencies to better understand the research and development efforts of their counterparts
in government.
-
Annual
Defense Reports
- The
Annual Defense Report, details how the Department of Defense built its capabilities and is
working to maintain them in the future. In addition to fulfilling a statutory requirement,
specifically U.S.C. Title 10, the Secretary of Defense's
Annual Defense Report is widely distributed and serves as a basic reference document for
those interested in national defense issues and programs.
-
Dept.
of Energy -
Information Bridge
- The
Information Bridge
provides the open source to full-text and bibliographic records of
Department of Energy (DOE) research and development reports in
physics, chemistry, materials, biology, environmental sciences, energy technologies, engineering,
computer and information science, renewable energy, and other topics
-
National
Service Center for Environmental Publications
- EPA's largest electronic documents site allows you to search view and print, including full
images of all original pages and full-text, from a collection of over 10,000 archival and current
documents. This collection may include documents that are no longer available in print form.
-
Office of
Environmental Protection - Information Products Bulletin
- The Information Products Bulletin (IPB) is a joint effort between the U.S. Environmental
Protection Agency (EPA) and the
Environmental Council of
the States (ECOS) to inform stakeholders and the public about upcoming
significant
information products.
-
PubMed
- PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, includes over 15 million citations for
biomedical articles back to the 1950's. These citations are from MEDLINE and additional life
science journals.
Government Forms and Services
-
USA Jobs
- The official job site of the United States government. This is a good source for Federal jobs
and employment information.
-
Government Asset Sales
- Information on the sale or auction of all manner of public assets and surplus from real
property and loans to planes, boats, cars, jewelry, and just about anything that any government,
Federal, state, local or international, will be offering for sale or auction to the general public
electronically.
-
FedForms
- provides "one-stop-shopping" for the Federal forms most used by the public.
Contact Us
Government Information Services, Access and Collections
450-F Main Library
1408 W. Gregory Dr.
Urbana, Illinois 61801
Phone: (217) 244-4621
E-mail GovInfo
Facebook
People
Mary Mallory, Coordinator, Government Information Services, Access and Collections, University
Library
Karen Hogenboom, Numeric and
Spatial Data Librarian, Scholarly Commons
Stephanie Martin, Graduate Assistant, Government Information