National Women's History Project
The National Women's History Project is an educational nonprofit organization. Our mission is to recognize and celebrate the diverse and historic accomplishments of women by providing information and educational materials and programs.
National Women's History Museum
NWHM is a nonpartisan, nonprofit educational organization dedicated to restoring the historic contributions of rich, diverse experiences of women to mainstream culture.
Timeline Special-Women in the United States
This website is through the New York Times and is a comprehensive source for electronic historical information.
Pathfinder for Women's History at National Archives and Records Administration
The women's history collection in the library of the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is small and concentrates on works that are relevant to NARA's record holdings. In fact, many of the works cite NARA record groups as sources (specifically the records of the Census Bureau, the Women's Bureau, the Children's Bureau, the Works Projects Administration, and the Freedman's Bureau).
Women's Bibliographic Resource List II
This list provides an supplement to the list of bibliographic resources available at Archives Library and Information Center in continuation of the Pathfinder for Women's History Research in the National Archives and Records Administration Library.
Reference At Your Desk-Women
The struggle for women to gain acceptance, recognition and veneration in society has been a long and lengthy process that has only begun to be appreciated in the last century. In celebration of the contributions of American women the Archives Library Information Center has provided a listing of historical websites relevant to women in the United States.
Discovering American Women's History Online
This database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States.
The Seneca Falls Convention July 19-20, 1848
The seed for the first Woman's Rights Convention was planted in 1840, when Elizabeth Cady Stanton met Lucretia Mott at the World Anti-Slavery Convention in London, the conference that refused to seat Mott and other women delegates from America because of their sex. Stanton, the young bride of an antislavery agent, and Mott, a Quaker preacher and veteran of reform, talked then of calling a convention to address the condition of women. Eight years later, it came about as a spontaneous event. Learn more about this first convention here.
Seneca Falls in 1848
From the National Park Service, the site provides information about Seneca Falls in 1848 and the Women's Rights National Historical Park in New York.
National American Woman Suffrage Association Collection, 1848-1921
The NAWSA Collection consists of 167 books, pamphlets and other artifacts documenting the suffrage campaign. They are a subset of the Library's larger collection donated by Carrie Chapman Catt, longtime president of the National American Woman Suffrage Association, in November of 1938. The collection includes works from the libraries of other members and officers of the organization including: Elizabeth Cady Stanton, Susan B. Anthony, Lucy Stone, Alice Stone Blackwell, Julia Ward Howe, Elizabeth Smith Miller, Mary A. Livermore.
One Hundred Years toward Suffrage: An Overview
This is a concise timeline that lists the major events in the development of women's suffrage.
This website from the Library of Congress offers a concise history of the women's movement towards suffrage. Included are links to other information.
Profile America Facts for Features: Women's History Month: March 2013
This webpage statistics and links to articles discussing new US Census information related to women. The articles explain background on the statistics as well as a link to the data.
Press Releases related to women.
Women in Congress
From the House website "This Web site, based on the book Women in Congress, 1917–2006, contains biographical profiles of former women Members of Congress, links to information about current women Members, essays on the institutional and national events that shaped successive generations of Congresswomen, and images of each woman Member, including rare photos."
National Women's History Month-Department of Defense
This website is a thorough compendia of information on women in the military services. Information covered includes personal experiences, links to other specific military websites and respective women members information, as well as articles, stories, and historical information.
Women's History Month-Department of Defense
Join the Department of Defense as it observes National Women's History Month and salutes the many contributions of American Women to our country. Includes links to other related electronic sites, personal experiences by women in the military services, and links to other women's history in the military sites.
Women Who Served
Although women were not allowed to participate in battle, they did serve in so-called "non-combat" missions. These missions often proved to be extremely dangerous. This site focuses on the Women's Auxiliary Ferrying Squadron, (WAFS/WASP).
This NASA site offers a great deal of information about women in NASA, as well as links to relevant issues for women working at NASA, events and outreach, careers, and NASA Girls.
Johnson Space Center Celebrates Women's History Month
Johnson Space Center's employees represent the diversity of our community. In the spirit of Women's History Month, JSC is highlighting the achievements of women at NASA.
Federal Women's Program
The long-term objective of the NASA FWP was to maximize opportunities for women and recognize their contributions to the NASA mission. To achieve this objective, five strategic goals were established to promote the career development, advancement, retention, and recruitment of women at NASA.
Women's History in Transportation
American women have played important roles in improving how we travel for more than 170 years. Find out how here!
First Ladies' Gallery
This web page lists the First Ladies in chronological order, and is complete with links to pages that list information on each of the First Ladies that America has had in Her past.
A Woman A Week
This site features a different woman from our history for each week. This is a great learning resource.
This site has biographies of women who contributed to our culture in many different ways. There are writers, educators,
scientists, heads of state, politicians, civil rights crusaders, artists, entertainers, and others.
Women's History Items List
This site is a bibliographic list of items, mainly letters, that are available electronically through the American Memory Project.
Places Where Women Made History
The itinerary highlights 74 historic properties in Massachusetts and New York that are listed in the National Register, America's official list of places important in our history and worthy of preservation. The itinerary includes interactive maps, descriptions of each place's significance in women's history, photographs, information on public accessibility, essays on women's achievements in American history, and links to other pertinent Web sites.
Women's Rights National Historical Park
Women's Rights National Historical Park commemorates the First Women's Rights Convention and the early leaders of the women's rights movement in the United States.
Scripting the Past: Exploring Women's History Through Film
In this lesson, students employ the screenwriter's craft to gain a fresh perspective on historical research, learning how filmmakers combine scholarship and imagination to bring historical figures to life and how the demands of cinematic storytelling can shape our view of the past.