Check out these general guides for summer safety tips on a range of topics.
A Primer on Summer Safety from the Food and Drug Administration.
Ideas for a Healthier, Safer Summer
from the Center for Disease Control.
A Summer Survival Guide from the
Illinois Department of Public Health.
Mosquitoes
View maps of 2012 West Nile Virus cases by species provided by the United States Geological Survey.
Learn more about the disease and how to protect yourself with these tips from the Center for Disease Control.
Learn about mosquitoes and encephalitis from the Illinois Department of Public Health.
Ticks
Recognize a deer tick with this image from the Agricultural Research Service of the United States Department of Agriculture.
Learn to identify, control and remove ticks with this information from the Illinois Department of Public Health.
Other Insects
Learn to identify and control bees and wasps near your home with help from the Illinois Department of Public Health.
Insect Repellents
Learn how to use insect repellents safely with this page from the Environmental Protection Agency.
Savor the flavors of summer, but keep these food safety tips in mind for healthy summer eating.
The Food Safety and Inspection Service of the United States Department of Agriculture provides information on foodborne illnesses and safe barbecue habits.
The Fight Bac! campaign, working to "keep food safe from bacteria", is brought to you in part by the USDA. Including these Fight Bac! tips about summer food safety.
FoodSafety.gov is a gateway to government food safety information. This page on summer safety covers Summer and Vacations.
Stay active, but stay safe with these tips about summer recreation.
The Forest Service provides information about outdoor activities and fire safety.
Learn to recognize (and avoid!) poison ivy. Check out this factsheet from the Department of the Interior.
Swimming pool and spa safety from the Illinois Department of Public Health.
The Illinois Department of Public Health also provides this page on bathing beaches, including a list of Illinois beaches and beach closings.
While enjoying more outdoor activities, stay aware of the increased risk of animal bites and rabies.
Articles on sports safety from the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health.
Enjoy time in the sun without the damaging your skin. Be aware of the facts about skin damage and take precautions to enjoy the sun's rays safely.
Skin cancer statistics from the Center for Disease Control.
Sunwise publications from the Environmental Protection Agency.
Links to many articles on sun exposure from the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health.
Information about sunscreens from the Federal Drug Administration.
Heat can pose its own dangers, especially in older adults. Use the following guides to learn warning signs and preventative measures.
Information about heat stress from the Centers for Disease Control.
Information about extreme heat from the Center for Disease Control.
Heat illness coverage from the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health.
Hot weather information from the Illinois Department of Public Health
Summer is not all sunshine. Summer storms can be violent, so it is important to stay aware of weather warnings and proper precautions.
Fire safety during aggressive summer weather from the United States Fire Administration.
Tips for severe weather safety from the National Weather Service.
Storm Prediction Center from the National Weather Service.
Summer can be as hard on the environment as it is on us. Follow these tips for conserving energy and reducing toxins while enjoying your home and garden this season.
Summer Energy Saving Tips from the Department of Energy.
Put your yard to work by landscaping for energy efficiency.
The New Hampshire Office of Energy and Planning provides these tips on
energy
conservation.
Look at this site from the Minnesota government for information on
Growing a Healthy, No-waste Lawn and
Garden.
The University of Illinois Extension provides this information to read BEFORE you use pesticides.
This information on pesticides from the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health covers poison prevention, safe use of insect repellant and much more.