Tribal Governments
Tribal Government Listing
- From State and local governments on the net: an alphabetical listing of tribal government web
pages, organizations, and links.
-
Decennial Census: American Indian and Alaska Native
- This is decennial census publications and accompanying links on tribal governments from the
1990, 2000, and 2010 census.
Agencies / Organizations
Senate Committee on Indian Affairs
- This link includes membership information, legislation, and live broadcasts of hearings.
-
American Indian/Alaska Native Center, US Department of Health and Human
S
ervices
- Publications, grants, programs, policy, and state and local contacts for Native
Americans.
-
Resource Guides
-
Guide to Sources
on Native Americans
- From the Social Science, Health, and Education Library, University of Illinois. Provides
searching tips, abstracts for useful guides, indexes, and directories, and statistical and online
resources.
-
-
Native Americans: Recommended
Books and Resources
- Includes a listing of fiction, non-fiction, professional resources, and web links related to
Native Americans.
-
Digital Librarian - American Indian Studies
- This is a variety of alphabetically arranged resources for and about Native
Americans.
-
Virtual
Shelflist: HE20.300:
- This page is a list of electronic government documents from the Department of Human and Health
Services, and contains information important to Native Americans.
-
Native American Studies Collections, UC Berkeley
- This site offers links to electronic information maintained by the University of California at
Berkeley. Contained here are links to bibliographic directories, handbooks, law information,
statistic and Census data, federal documents, Californian documents, and Internet
resources.
-
Canadian Government Native/Aboriginal Affairs Web
Sites
- Purdue University offers information about Canada's government and its many agencies dealing
with Indian affairs, which reflects Canada's historic and contemporary relationship with its
indigenous inhabitants.
Services
Government Funding for Tribal Libraries
- Below are links to government funding sources for North American Indian tribal libraries.
Population
American Indian and Alaska Native
Programs
- Includes information on American Indian and Alaska Native geography programs.
-
Facts on the American Indian and Alaskan Native Population
- Contained here are numerous links to information and facts about Native Americans and Alaska
Natives.
http://www.census.gov/pubinfo/www/aminhot1.html
-
American Indian and Alaska Native Population Information
- This census site offers information on projections, estimates, and characteristics by tribe and
language.
History and Culture
Smithsonian National Museum of the American Indian
- Contained here are a number of resources and information from exhibits, photos, documents, and
a great list of recommended readings.
-
Navajo Code Talker Site:
- This is a great website that offers in-depth information on the Navajo code talkers from World
War II. Historical information, code glossaries, medals, articles, photos, awards, and
biographical information on the code talkers is listed here.
-
National Library of Medicine "If
Only You Knew" Exhibit
- This site from the National Library of Medicine features information, photos, links, and
biographical information on the history of the health of Native Americans.
Law
American Indian Law Review
- American Indian Law Review from the University of Oklahoma
-
University of Colorado - Native
American Treaties and Information
- This is government information offered through the University of Colorado at Boulder's
website. They offer some electronic versions of treaties, links to information and resources,
and a list of print resources. Many of these print resources can be found in the UIUC library
system.
-
Kapplers Indian Affairs Laws and Treaties:
I1.107:
-
Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties, compiled and edited by Charles J. Kappler, is an
historically significant, seven volume compilation of U.S. treaties, laws and executive orders
pertaining to Native American Indian tribes.
-
American Indians: Legal and Regulatory
Resources
- The Purdue University Library has many publications containing laws and regulations relevant to
American Indians. This guide will discuss federal laws, regulations, and court cases.
-
Miscellaneous Statistics and Topical Pages
-
Business: Survey of Business Owners
- The US Census Bureau provides this economic and business information.
-
EPA American Indian Environmental
Issues:
- The American Indian Environmental Office (AIEO) coordinates the Agency-wide effort to
strengthen public health and environmental protection in Indian Country, with a special emphasis on
building Tribal capacity to administer their own environmental programs. AIEO oversees development
and implementation of the Agency's Indian Policy and strives to ensure that all EPA Headquarters
and Regional Offices implement their parts of the Agency's Indian Program in a manner consistent
with Administration policy to work with Tribes on a government-to-government basis and EPA's trust
responsibility to protect Tribal health and environments.
-
The Indigenous Women's Network, our future our
responsibility: statement by Winona LaDuke
- Winona LaDuke is Co-Chair of the Indigenous Women's Network, Program Director of the
Environmental Program at the Seventh Generation Fund, and this is the speech she gave at the United
Nations Fourth world Conference on Women in Beijing, China, on August 31 1995. She addresses the
challenges faced by women, as well as the fundamental rights women have.
Contact Us
Government Information Services, Access and Collections
450-F Main Library
1408 W. Gregory Dr.
Urbana, Illinois 61801
Phone: (217) 244-4621
E-mail GovInfo
Facebook
People
Mary Mallory, Coordinator, Government Information Services, Access and Collections, University
Library
Karen Hogenboom, Numeric and
Spatial Data Librarian, Scholarly Commons
Stephanie Martin, Graduate Assistant, Government Information